We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel on the Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Ranked #65 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel on the Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Despite having record low temperatures in Tampa during our visit, we found this to be a warm and welcoming hotel. In fact, during our stay the heater in our room stopped working and Maintenance came by to replace it within minutes.

The pros were the friendliness of the staff, the quick access to the highways, the beaches and downtown Tampa, and proximity to the airport. The cons were that nothing is walking distance except one restaurant and a small convenience store. There was a nice complimentary breakfast.

The only dings we would give the hotel were that the vending machines were empty for days, and the front desk should have been staffed with more than one person when the hotel was full. Otherwise it was quiet and comfortable with a nice view of the Bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraBtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    173
    74
    25
    22
See reviews for
138
121
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We arrived later than expected at Tampa airport but were soon on our way in the shuttle sent by the hotel. Christmas cookies and smiles at Reception, and a nice double room. The nearest restaurant/bar, the Bahama Breeze, was only a few yards away, adjacent to the hotel. A great atmosphere and such speedy waitresses! Comfortable night and a reasonable buffet breakfast. If it had not been so foggy, we would have sat outside, even though it was December, and watched the pelicans. Shuttle took us back to the airport to pick up our rental car - no hitches anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanofarc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CINCINNATI
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked this hotel prior to cruise to Cozumel. All transfers were included from airport to the cruise terminal. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were a little early to check in and they went above and beyond to get us in our rooms quickly as possible. A little secluded and not too much around to do without transportation and dependent upon the shuttle. Restaurants are beside the property. The pool is a little small, but well maintained. I think it was a great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SNAPPERMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Level Contributor
143 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The place seem like a old and carpet was old and need to be replaced. Its a good location, with Bahama breeze next door and on the bay area. But the rooms need upgraded bad and bed was not comfortable. Being on the end wifi was very slow and would drop off line.

Room Tip: Will not stay here again, not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Al944,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My family stayed at holiday inn express before our cruise. As soon as we got into our room we noticed there was a huge hole in the wall and the water sprinkler was hanging off the wall. We called the front desk to complain and they only took 10.00 off of our bill. Cold air was coming through the hole and they did nothing to fix it and said all their rooms were booked. I proceeded to go to the workout room and none of the machines were working. Both treadmills were broken and the stationary bike was unstable and was about to break. The front desk had no idea that none of the equipment was broken. My family was suppose to stay there the night after our cruise but we canceled our reservations... It was such a awful experience. Besides taking 10.00 off they did nothing else and we are even holiday inn priority members.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawson147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Lawson147,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Rewards member. We appreciate your loyalty and wish to thank you for your feedback. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay and I regret we fell short of your expectations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We ended up here by accident, as another hotel had mixed up our reservations and re-routed us here. It was a bit more of a drive than we anticipated but was a lovely surprise. It was clean, spacious, and included a delicious breakfast. We were right on the water, overlooking a pretty view of a Tampa waterway. Cookies at the front desk were a nice touch, too. We would return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purplecelticsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wemmel, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days for a business travel. The location was perfect; close to airport/close to client and close to International Plaza Mall. We often used the shuttle; excellent service. Had a nice view from bedroom window. Staff was VERY helpfull and made us feel home instantly. room and lobby/breakfast area was very clean. Maybe not best location when traveling for leisure but for a business trip it was perfect!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.5 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#61 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#110 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#31 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Address: 3025 N Rocky Point Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-5802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island is located 2 miles from Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle service from 5 AM - 12 Midnight. Centrally located on the shores of Tampa Bay we are only minutes from Tampa International Airport, Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Westshore Business District and other area attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island features 88 guest rooms with interior corridors. We also provide a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar, 24-hour lobby coffee bar, free Internet access in every room, and free local and 1-800 telephone calls. Our guest rooms all include: two-line speaker telephones with data ports and voice mail, generous desk space with ergonomic chair, 25 inch satellite TV with free HBO, ESPN, CNN, and the Weather Channel. For your dining pleasure, the Bahama Breeze is located right next door. Our hotel also offers complimentary parking as well as a 24-hour exercise room and heated waterfront outdoor pool. Meeting facilities are also available. We warmly welcome Priority Club guests with express check-in and express check-out. Whether your travel is business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island will be your smart stay of choice. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing