We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent price/quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Ranked #58 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Wemmel, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent price/quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days for a business travel. The location was perfect; close to airport/close to client and close to International Plaza Mall. We often used the shuttle; excellent service. Had a nice view from bedroom window. Staff was VERY helpfull and made us feel home instantly. room and lobby/breakfast area was very clean. Maybe not best location when traveling for leisure but for a business trip it was perfect!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    179
    75
    25
    23
See reviews for
143
126
27
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta Beach
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

After a couple of weeks in Ft. Myers Beach, we needed a hotel for one night before flying out of Tampa to head home. Our room was very comfortable, the front desk staff was friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast was wonderful, with omelets, bacon, and pancakes. We asked for a late checkout, since our flight didn't leave until late afternoon, and were accomodated with no problem. We had researched the hotel in advance and knew it was fairly isolated, so ate before we arrived, but there were take-out menus under our door when we arrived from restaurants offering free delivery. There was a coffee maker in the room.

This hotel was an easy 5 minute drive to the airport - and its location on the causeway can't be beat for views of the water! A great place to stay:)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water, rather than the parking lot. Much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTrina0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUEBLO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is so far away from anything it is a Joke. I knew the Minute our shuttle driver had dropped us off this was a bad place. Then the Front Desk people are so very Rude will not even call you a Taxi or give you any sort of Information. No ATM on site. Food Horrible in the Morning. Room OK but Stay some where else if you are going on A Cruise. They claim they have Free Transportaion to Cruise Lines this Is Not True. Do not believe them and then when They Lie they act like it Is your Fault .. Never Again at this Holiday Inn.. Stay away Be warned..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eboiowamcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear eboiowamcross,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. I am sorry you found the level of service you received less than satisfactory and regret our hotel did not live up your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here one night before a cruise leaving from Port of Tampa. I booked their "cruise package" that provides a shuttle service to and from the airport, to and from the port, parking, and a suite. The amount I paid for the room is what I would have paid for shuttle service for my family of 5.

We arrived at TPA and I called the hotel for shuttle pick up when we arrived in baggage claim. He arrived within 15 minutes. The hotel is only minutes from the airport and in a beautiful location although secluded. Bahama Breeze is next door, but there is nothing else in walking distance.

When we checked in, the front desk person asked us when we'd like the shuttle to take us to the ship. With another family with us, I was happy to see that the hotel made sure there was enough space to accommodate all of us and others at the hotel with 2 shuttle vans waiting on time for us. Other hotels I've stayed at before a cruise has only had one van and half the hotel going to the port. You usually have to wait all morning in line for the van to go back and forth.

The room was small, but comfortable with 2 double beds and a sofa bed. We had a nice view, looking out at the bridge. We were able to see dolphin in the intercoastal waters right out of our window. My kids attempted to use the pool but it was too cold as it was not heated and no hot tub. Breakfast was included in the morning was good. I was surprised at the amount of choices available. My kids liked the pancake machine.

Thank you for a nice stay.

Room Tip: our ground floor room was noisy in the morning being close to the breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gasie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrills Ford, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the friendliness of the staff. The free hot breakfast was great! There was quite a variety to choose from and the seating area offered wonderful views of the bay. We took our breakfast outside next to the pool to enjoy the great weather and views. The best part of staying here is the Bahama Breeze is right next door - within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great location-Great view- nice rooms but the showers need to be redone. 5 min from Tampa airport-Overlooking the Bay but the showers are cruddy. can never understand why a top notch place doesn't do just a little more to be excellent

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I complained about a problem I experienced at this property and was told the Manager would return my call but he never did. Customer service also advised the Manager would make a reimbursement and he never did. Not customer driven to even return several phone calls. Do not believe I will stay at this property again while in the Tampa area even though it is the least expensive hotel in the chain. Maybe they are low priced as they don not provide customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Jay C,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Tampa, FL.
Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.1 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#111 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#70 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#34 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Address: 3025 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island is located 2 miles from Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle service from 5 AM - 12 Midnight. Centrally located on the shores of Tampa Bay we are only minutes from Tampa International Airport, Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Westshore Business District and other area attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island features 88 guest rooms with interior corridors. We also provide a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar, 24-hour lobby coffee bar, free Internet access in every room, and free local and 1-800 telephone calls. Our guest rooms all include: two-line speaker telephones with data ports and voice mail, generous desk space with ergonomic chair, 25 inch satellite TV with free HBO, ESPN, CNN, and the Weather Channel. For your dining pleasure, the Bahama Breeze is located right next door. Our hotel also offers complimentary parking as well as a 24-hour exercise room and heated waterfront outdoor pool. Meeting facilities are also available. We warmly welcome Priority Club guests with express check-in and express check-out. Whether your travel is business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island will be your smart stay of choice. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing