We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good Hotel near the Stadium” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium
Ranked #126 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Very good Hotel near the Stadium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

At first time i was a little disconcerted cause the reviews but at the end we stayed on the hotel 26 to 27 and the stay was great. the front desk people were very nice and helpful. If you want to go to a concert near the Raymond James stadium trust me this is your hotel !!!, the nearest of the zone and walking distance. The only bad thing is that breakfast ends at 9:30 when it should end at least at 10 or 11 am,and they don't have a restaurant to have lunch or dinner, but there are a few places to eat at walking distance.If i go to Tampa again for sure ill stay there again.

Room Tip: If ur planing to go for a few days request one with refrigerator cause our didn't have it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina S, Manager at Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Gina Santiago
General Manager
Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    40
    50
    46
    87
See reviews for
71
62
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We booked this at the last minute to attend a concert at the Tampa Bay Times Forum.
We got the best rate booking with AAA, but was told that this hotel was not AAA approved. With a 4 hour drive, we wanted a hotel where we could eat prior to the concert. We made this decision based on the information that they had a restaurant. At check in, were told they did not have not had one for over a year. At this point we checked to see if we had other options, as we were so unhappy with the appearance of the motel. This is a 1-2 star motel at best!! Furniture was in poor condition, the bathroom needed major work, carpet and bedding was in okay condition.
A brand new Holiday Inn Express was next door, but booked due to Sunday football game.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina S, Manager at Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that your stay at Comfort Inn Tampa Stadium did not exceed your expectations. Your feedback is appreciated and will be considered when making future improvements at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tampa hotels

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I usually stay at Comfort Inns because they are dependably clean and comfortable. This one is not. It is old and run-down. I have stayed in Super 8 motels that were in better shape. I suppose because it is close to the stadium they rent the rooms but this should not be a Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that your stay at Comfort Inn Tampa Stadium did not exceed your expectations. Your feedback is appreciated and will be considered when making future improvements at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I ended up staying four weeks. I found the people most helpful, gracious, and friendly. I also appreciated that they had a weekly rate that rivaled other hotels, and it included breakfast! I've already told the GM that I'll be coming back for breakfast after I move to an apartment! The hotel is also conveniently located near the airport, stadiums, several restaurants, and several places that offer services for business travelers. The cleaning staff were quick to clean my room and provide me with soap, towels, etc., when I needed them. There were also people who kept the parking lot clean and the grounds maintained.

Room Tip: I liked the first floor because I could open that door and walk out into the parking lot and be at m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HidayatJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your outstanding and detailed review. Our team prides itself on the comfort and satisfaction of all our guests, and we are pleased to hear about your stay and the length of it! Each department on our property prides themselves on their efficiency and a nod from guests are always highly regarded.

We hope that you have comfortably found a new apartment since the time of this review, and expect to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

It seems other reviewers really set their standards too high for the modest price they are paying. My husband and I stayed here a brief night earlier this month. It was a simple place to shower and sleep before heading to the airport for our flight back to Atlanta. Out-dated, but accommodating. The only issue we had was a pair of children that seemed to be everywhere from our check-in at the property, business center when we printed boarding passes, etc. I brought this up to the staff and was given a follow up by the manager that the incident would be dealt with accordingly and it was.

The location is good since it's near the RJ Stadium, Int'l airport, and malls. The response from management was very 5* for the 3* accommodations. Would consider coming back during a layover or if my husband wanted to view a game.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John-and-Linda17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

On November 15, 2013 my wife and I checked in to the Comfort Inn Airport at RJ Stadium (FL724) in Tampa, FL. First of all let me say that the pictures presented when booking the hotel were a bit deceiving! At approximately 1:15 am while my wife and I were sound asleep, we heard a loud thump and realized that it was someone trying to get into our room. The most disturbing part was that the person had a key to the room. Luckily we had our security latch on the door so the person could not get all the way in. I told the person that they had the wrong room, but this situation could have been a lot worse if I was driving my own personal vehicle (if you know what I mean). Anyway, I waited about 5 to 10 minutes to see if the front desk would call me, but they didn't so I called them and the desk attendant told me that it was a mix up and that she would handle it.......???????
About 7:30am after staying up the rest of the morning I went to the front desk to speak with the Manager and was told that the manager was not there and I explained the situation to the person at the desk and she assured me that the manager would call me. At approximately 10:30am the morning of the 16th the Manager called me, and I again explained the situation to her and she told me that she was investigating the incident and stated that for my inconvenience she would give me a night for free. I told her that what she offered was an insult and that I would be speaking to someone else when I got back home and then she proceeded to tell me that she would give me both nights free and that was all that she could do. Her whole phone etiquette during our conversation seemed to be uninterested and disconcerted.
Well over the course of the remaining day and the next morning my room was entered 3 more times! After speaking with the manager, my wife and I left the room for some much needed relief and we left the do not disturb sign on the door. When we returned the sign was gone and our room had been entered and cleaned like housekeeping had been there. Already frustrated we decided not to make a big deal of it. Around 2:30pm we were lying in bed taking a nap when all of a sudden the door flies open again with the security latch catching it. I jumped out of bed and ran to the door and looked out and there were two carts sitting there; one that was full of what appeared to be dirty towels, and the other something else. There was no one manning the carts so I figured they walked away so that we wouldn’t see who they were. Again I contacted the front desk and got the usual unconcerned apology. The last and final straw was the morning of November the 17th about 8:30am with us still in the bed (which I was completely uncovered) without any acknowledgement beforehand (no knocking, this is housekeeping or nothing) housekeeping just burst in the door again with the security latch on and a chair posted under the handle of the door………..just laughed and closed the door back. This time we didn’t even get an apology from the front desk.
This entire stay was horrific and very demoralizing. Oh and I didn’t mention that the Wi-Fi registered the entire time as out of range. Most of my travel whether business or leisure always lands me in a Choice Privileges Hotel, but this by far was the worst stay ever!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrInspired1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I just stayed here this past week. The room was terrible. It ranked right next to the worst place I have ever stayed in. When I first walked in the light switch turned the clock on and off, not the lights. I found a power strip hooked into the outlet for the lights. They had two lights and the clock hooked into the power strip. The noise both inside and outside the room was frustrating. The dorm size refrigerator ran all night with a hum. The hotel next door had it's Air Conditioning units humming away for most of the night. Inside the room they sounded like a leave blower in the parking lot. They should have been shielded by the Comfort Inn to cut out the sound. The TV channels were inconsistent, some clear, some fuzzy. The wireless internet did not work. When I flushed the toilet about half of the #!!! stayed in the toilet. I had to hold the handle down for the duration of the flush to flush it completely. I then noticed the bottom of the toilet was caulked around the base. No way this should be. When I went to take a shower and adjust the temperature the water was coming out the spout and shower head. I tried pulling the button on the spout to stop it from coming out the shower until the temp was adjusted, but the button was stuck in the half way position. So, took a shower at half pressure. The light fixtures that were suppose to have three way bulbs had simple sixty watt bulbs. I should have left the room, but was just too tired to move. It was clean, but the lack of maintenance was atrocious. Also, the security gates off the side road it faces were suppose to be closed at night. They were open at 4:30 AM when I left, so I don't think they were ever closed. I left so early because of the noise of the hotel AC units next door and room refrigerator made it impossible to sleep. I preferred to stay at the airport early than spend any more time in this room.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay there anyways, make sure you have a room on the left side of the front buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tampa
3.2 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Tampa - Airport West
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#95 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel
13.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#63 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
10.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Tampa / Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium

Property: Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium
Address: 4732 N Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614-6509 (Formerly Comfort Inn Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport At Rj Stadium Hotel Tampa
Comfort Inn Tampa
Tampa Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing