We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“While much needs updating here, the good far outweighs the bad.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #86 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Burlington VT
Level Contributor
151 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“While much needs updating here, the good far outweighs the bad.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were in Tampa with friends on a budget. Reading some of the reviews here, we took the time to check the rooms before committing. We stayed and were not sorry. You get a lot for your buck here. This hotel obviously needs some updates; the furniture is old and stained, as are the rugs and some of the furnishings. The only real issue we found was some mold in one bathroom. Yet, when you look beyond the cosmetic, this is a really nice hotel that may just need a new set of clothes. The staff was courteous to us, despite our initial concerns. The pool was nice and inviting. Fridays was next door and we had a good evening meal there. The rooms and linens were clean. The beds were comfortable, the a/c worked well, the fridge and tv worked. The breakfast was cooked and served to you, fresh and delicious. My friend said it was the best breakfast he'd ever had in a hotel. For $60 each, we had a pleasant stay, and would recommend it to others. If not for the mold one of us had, this would be a 5 star, because of great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first. Your nose knows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    147
    105
    75
    104
See reviews for
265
126
35
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here one night with a school group. The hotel is actually a motel, with doors that open to the outside. The rooms are your basic "Motel 6" layout, and quality.

First, the good:
Breakfast was excellent, with enough room for a major group (which we had), and the food was on time, hot, and tasty. I give them two thumbs up for breakfast. In fact, breakfast was the only reason this hotel did not rate a "poor" in my rating.

The pool area was very nice. Unfortunately, we couldn't use it, as we were with a school group.

We were in room 2023, which is on the corner, right around from the ice machine and soda machines on the second floor. We could not hear any noise from them, however. In fact, the room was remarkably quiet.

Now the bad:
The bedding is very thin, but surprisingly comfortable. I did not care for their pillows, but I should know by now to take my own.

The room was decently clean, but we got the feeling we needed to check for bugs and 'stains'. In fact, the teenagers I was with brought out a blacklight to look the room over. They found nothing, thankfully. Unfortunately, one of the other chaperones on the trip did have bugs on their bed, and took pictures.

Our room was "musty" when we arrived, and I immediately turned on the A/C to high. After dinner, when we returned, it was barely noticeable.

Two of the outlets were broken in our room (the coverings), and the cable tv outlet covering was broken.

The coffee pot was not working right! This is a major problem!!! It was one of those little 3-cup drip makers, and once I'd filled it with water and coffee, and set it to run, it just filled up the filter basket with water, then then the filter basket swung open, and the whole thing dumped over, spilling hot coffee all over the vanity area. It was a mess, and to make it worse, I didn't get any coffee!

I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the pool area, rather than the parking lot. It will be a little safer, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tfuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Clarion hotel, the rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Some updating of equipment could improve rating (tv, coffee maker, etc) The Pool was awesome, clean and perfect for the kids. coveniently located minutes from Bush gardens park, it was a great stay overall.

Special Thanks to the crew, great customer service, front desk (Jennifer) and everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fonziesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valparaiso
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had a room for Saturday reserved. Arrived early to check-in, only to find the Front Desk Agent being rude on the telephone with a guest. After waiting several hours to check-in, to Room 2100, I should've walked out, but was tired from being on a cruise. The room was an absolute mess, outdated amenities, the bed was so uncomfortable, and the bedding needs to be thrown away! The comforter looked like it was a curtain at one time. They need to update the facility, and get new mattresses. I hope and pray I did not encounter any bugs of any type, because it sure looked like a haven for bugs. And when we checked out this morning at 4 a.m., the trash that we encountered on the steps and by the doorway was horrible.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel was great!!! the rooms were very clean and comfortable yes the t.v's were old school but the image was clear and they had alot of good channels even espn!!! and I agree with the comments below me.I don't go on vactaion to watch t.v so if your going to complain about the t.v's go home! there is a fridays connected to the hotel wich was really nice.Check in was was very fast and the staff was very nice.They also had a free hot breakfast wich was amazing eggs,sausage,grits,potatos,muffins,oj,coffee the works!...The only reason I didnt give a perfect score was because the rooms were a bit stuffy and I woke up with a bit of a stuffy nose but no big deal.Anyway Ill definetly come back...Who ever gives this place a bad review is crazy!!! there just expecting a luxurious place for 60 bucks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny2889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We just returned from a great vacation at the Clarion. The location, amenities and friendly staff made this trip very memorable.
The free hot breakfast buffet was great and my kids ate more than they normally do at home!
The pool and kids water play area were both fantastic! The pool is huge and there are lots of chairs and tables sourrounding it.
The fridge and microwave in the room was very handy for quick cheap lunches.
The rooms were not fancy but they were kept clean and worked for us. The bathroom could use an update.
There are lots of restaurants and attractions close by,
It was a great stay and we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gottabekd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in April 2013, before moving on to Miami to catch a cruise. What a wonderful, relaxing spot! Yes it is an older motel ... but come on people you're not paying for the Ritz! It's cheap with a free breakfast that you would pay $10-$12 for at a restaurant. Yes. it's an older style TV - but if you're wanting to watch TV all day, stay home! The shuttle to Busch Gardens only runs once a day at 10am and they will pick you up at 5pm ... several nice places to eat close by - TGI Fridays, Denny's, and others (Avoid the Buffet place next door!) - Get a room by the pool if you can - staff is super friendly

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
8.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#63 of 161 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa North - Busch Gardens
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2701 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Tampa
Clarion Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing