We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awsome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #90 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Awsome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel was great!!! the rooms were very clean and comfortable yes the t.v's were old school but the image was clear and they had alot of good channels even espn!!! and I agree with the comments below me.I don't go on vactaion to watch t.v so if your going to complain about the t.v's go home! there is a fridays connected to the hotel wich was really nice.Check in was was very fast and the staff was very nice.They also had a free hot breakfast wich was amazing eggs,sausage,grits,potatos,muffins,oj,coffee the works!...The only reason I didnt give a perfect score was because the rooms were a bit stuffy and I woke up with a bit of a stuffy nose but no big deal.Anyway Ill definetly come back...Who ever gives this place a bad review is crazy!!! there just expecting a luxurious place for 60 bucks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny2889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    142
    102
    74
    102
See reviews for
257
120
33
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We just returned from a great vacation at the Clarion. The location, amenities and friendly staff made this trip very memorable.
The free hot breakfast buffet was great and my kids ate more than they normally do at home!
The pool and kids water play area were both fantastic! The pool is huge and there are lots of chairs and tables sourrounding it.
The fridge and microwave in the room was very handy for quick cheap lunches.
The rooms were not fancy but they were kept clean and worked for us. The bathroom could use an update.
There are lots of restaurants and attractions close by,
It was a great stay and we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gottabekd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in April 2013, before moving on to Miami to catch a cruise. What a wonderful, relaxing spot! Yes it is an older motel ... but come on people you're not paying for the Ritz! It's cheap with a free breakfast that you would pay $10-$12 for at a restaurant. Yes. it's an older style TV - but if you're wanting to watch TV all day, stay home! The shuttle to Busch Gardens only runs once a day at 10am and they will pick you up at 5pm ... several nice places to eat close by - TGI Fridays, Denny's, and others (Avoid the Buffet place next door!) - Get a room by the pool if you can - staff is super friendly

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hibbing, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

With no reservations made we stopped at the clarion hotel tampa and we were so pleased with the hotel. We found the pool area so relaxing and the kids had a wonderful time in the childrens' area, it was wonderful. The rooms are not new and fancy but they were clean and very comfortable. All employees were so friendly, they seemed to enjoy working at the Clarion. I would return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Poolside lower level was very nice, easy access to the pools and hotel area for breakfast in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a little older hotel that has been refurbished and is in overall nice condition. The courtyard and pool area are beautiful. The rooms are fairly average, but clean and comfortable. The hotel staff, while very busy the night we stayed, were very friendly. Our only issue was the wireless internet was down all night.
Breakfast was eggs, sausage, grits, potatoes, breads and cereals. Everything tasted good and there was plenty of food. The eating area could use a little more seating but was clean and not overcrowded.
If we're back in the area we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We didn't see any elevators so you either need to request a ground floor room or plan on doing s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

As a business traveler, I will not stay at this facility again. As other reviewers have commented, this is a relic out of the 70's. Look at the pictures. The bed was horrible and I could feel the bedframe when I laid down. No alarm clock. One of the big features is the free breakfasts but it caters to cafeteria type patrons with no variety. I did not indulge on the food. Best feature was the free wireless internet. First tube TV I have seen in a long time in a hotel. Luckily I only had to stay 1 night. Time to modernize.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearcat382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

DO NOT EVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL! This was the most horrific place we have ever stayed. Please take time to look at the '62 traveler photos.' Ironic that I did not post those, but witnessed each and every thing in the pictures. They gave us our fist night for free and then moved us to new rooms that were not any better. We all slept with clothes on the entire time there and NEVER once took off our shoes to walk on the carpet, shower, etc. Holes in the wall, stains on the bedding, curtains, couch and chair. No working electric in our first room. All the lamps had cords but nothing could be plugged in. When we called, they said they would not come down to fix it, so the first night we had no lighting except for the bathroom light and the tv. The toilets constantly plugged up and the shower would not drain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indy5420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tampa
8.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#65 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Near Busch Gardens/usf
9.5 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#96 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
8.8 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Tampa - Airport West
19.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#63 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2701 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Tampa
Clarion Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing