We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #89 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Venice Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will come again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend and was so glad we chose this hotel! Huge property very clean and very hospitable! The staff was welcoming the rooms were fresh and clean and the pool was ginormous ! Perfect for the kids and me!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rima N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    158
    113
    83
    108
See reviews for
274
136
39
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Palm Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent Valentines Day and came home yesterday. We like this hotel and loved the staff. They were very friendly and quite accomodating. The Clarion is very central and near to everything. We had a good time. They have a heated pool and even a great kiddie pool area as well. The price was great. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room near to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelbolt36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florahome
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited there the weekend of the 15th to go to the hard rock for some gambling. Reservations were easy to get. the room was clean and the staff very friendly. I killed two small roaches on the nightstand and my wife killed one. Other than that we liked the place.

Room Tip: rooms were adequate. Killed three small roaches in the room while were there. The breakfast was ok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williamam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Front Desk Staff very nice
have stayed there plenty of times within the last 2 years
Great location for theme parks and other activity, good breakfast buffet but need to add cheese and waffles
Cleanness of the room ok bed comfort not the best and not the worst. Value price is ok
will saty again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center on Fowler Avenue in Tampa is a study in contrasts. There are some great things about it and some which aren't. Overall though, it is a solid value for those traveling on a budget.

I stayed for 3 nights at the Clarion last week. It is located near a hospital where my dad had been admitted unexpectedly, had an exceptionally reasonable rate ($59-$69 per night during my stay) and most importantly had rooms available on short notice in Florida's winter tourist season.

Like many of the other reviewers, I found the resort-style lobby of the hotel to be quite grand, particularly for an inexpensive hotel. I was also pleased by the friendly desk clerk (Ms. Lopez) who welcomed me graciously to the Clarion. Great first impression.

I grew up in Tampa and remember "way back when" in the days that the Clarion was the Holiday Inn University (so named due to its location near the University of South Florida). It has a typical layout of a Holiday Inn of the 1970s, with exterior corridors. I got a room facing the courtyard--where the swimming pools are located. The pools and courtyard areas are incredible for any hotel and I enjoyed having a room in this part of the hotel.

The room itself was well-worn. The furniture was nicked and dinged and the bedspread was frayed. It had an older-style tube TV and the paint was peeling a bit in certain areas of the room. As to housekeeping, while my room was reasonably clean, quite frankly housekeeping could have done a better job. I noticed dust behind the dresser, for instance.

However, the Clarion got it right where it mattered most. It was comfortable and the linens and towels were quite clean. The bathroom was just fine--no problems with the plumbing whatsoever. The room did smell a bit like chlorine because of its location next to the pool--which is to be expected. My room contained a refrigerator and microwave, and the TV had a decent selection of channels.

Unlike many two star hotels, this place does have a couple of great extras. There is a TGI Friday's on site in one of the hotel buildings. I enjoyed having dinner and a couple of drinks there on one night of my stay.

The Clarion also offers a complimentary full breakfast "cafeteria style" in a breakfast room off of the lobby, which was another plus. The kitchen staff was very nice and the food (eggs, sausage, hash browns, fruit, bacon, coffee, and juice) beats the heck out of the lame "continental" breakfasts of plain bagels, cereal, and waffle maker that many similarly-priced places offer.

The location is convenient, even though Fowler Avenue is an older, humdrum commercial strip of buildings which saw its heyday when Jimmy Carter was President. Having said that, the hotel is across the street from the aging University Mall, which also dates from the 1970s but does still have a Macy's and a Sears (where I shopped) among other offerings. There's a decent supermarket across the street from the hotel and the location is near the University and Busch Gardens. The Clarion is also not terribly far from the airport, I-275 and I-75, and the Amtrak station. In short, it made for a good "base camp" for me.

I challenge those who have panned this place on TripAdvisor to find any hotel in the Tampa area that provides all of this for a similar rate. The area Hampton Inn, La Quinta, and others are charging $80+ more per night at this time of year.

In fact, I plan to return at the end of this week, enjoy the pool and the other amenities offered here, and deal with the somewhat worn-but-comfortable room. I think there is a lot of value to be found at this Clarion and believe that other travelers not seeking luxury digs will enjoy it and the savings which can be had by staying here.

Room Tip: Get a room poolside by all means. Due to the design of the hotel it means the difference between a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noskaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The rooms were dirty and smelly and full of bugs (cockroaches). There were stains on the sheets and other guest's trash behind the furniture. The plumbing was terrible; tubs and sink didn't drain and had a "sewer" smell. The breakfast was free for a reason. Avoid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeldaDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The evening clerk, a young black woman from Long Island, meade me feel like I was coming home when I returned every evening. The included was excellent.
I did miss that the public television network was not available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cramcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
4.2 mi away
Ramada Temple Terrace/Tampa North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
8.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#66 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2701 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Tampa
Clarion Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing