We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #89 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a great time at your hotel, except for the check in. The room was clean, the staff friendly and always willing to help you in any way. We needed a downstairs room, because our daughter is handicap and can't walk upstairs. We requested and were promised a downstairs room, upon making our reservations. When we arrived we were told there was not a downstairs room available until the next day. Upon asking for a pillow and a blanket, so my daughter and I could sleep on the couch, while my husband took the room (due to lateness in day, we were locked into reservation) another desk clerk found us a room on the bottom floor. We will be back and we did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet N Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    158
    113
    83
    108
See reviews for
275
136
39
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The staff was excellent. When we were there my daughter had the flu the cleaning staff striped the whole room and sanitized it for me.
Front desk staff was great with any of my needs. Wonderful staff would recommend to friends and I would stay again.

Thank you
Heather Lesniak from Toronto Canada

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlesniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nice for what you pay. Is not a deluxe hotel, but very convenient to drive anywhere. Hot breakfast is a plus, but needs a bit more variety if you are staying more than 3 days. Ir gets old of eating the same day after day.

Room Tip: Nice for the price. Eggs from breakfast got tiring. Tv in room a bit old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes9104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a great hotel for the location and price. It is so close to Busch Gardens and they have a shuttle if you want to take it. It includes a full breakfast eggs, bacon etc. The staff was very helpful and the pool was nice and big. The room was a fine size. It could use alittle updating but it was fine

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mb301_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLEARWATER
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Made the trip to Tampa Florida for a visit. The intention was to stay over for a couple of days that included New Years Eve. We picked the Clarion Hotel. The decision turned out to be a good one. The room was clean, the service was excellent and the breakfast was superb. Plenty of room for breakfast with a view of the heated pool - which a couple of thrill seekers dared to try. It was a little chilly for this Pennsylvania boy - turned Florida wimp when it comes to cold ( cool) temps. Had a great time and it a hop-skip and jump to Busch Gardens. The only complaint --more attention should be spent to vacuum the carpet in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great location if your main visit is Busch Gardens. Good restaurants around and that's about it. Breakfast is advertised, but it sucks. At least it's free though haha. The place is dirty, the rooms in particular. Would benefit from some major upgrades as far as carpeting, furniture, appliances and bedding. The beds were uncomfortable, the carpet DIRTY and stained, bed sheets were stained as well. TV sucked. It's like going back to the 80's or 90's. I was very, very disgusted and disappointed. I guess that's what you get for not researching very well. For the money I paid, I am certain I could have found something way better... Bottom line: DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrekked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a great hotel for the value. My daughter loves staying here so I book the Clarion every time I come for a visit. It's very family friendly, clean, and the staff has always been very friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: Chose one right by the pool so you can just cut across the main lobby. It's worth it if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oswald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
4.2 mi away
Ramada Temple Terrace/Tampa North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
8.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#65 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2701 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Tampa
Clarion Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing