We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Served The Purpose Well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #89 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Served The Purpose Well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

First off, this property offers a military discount. thank you for recognizing and appreciating my service. The price was more than fair. The room was fine and the bed comfortable. Although crowded, the night was quiet. I did not take advantage of the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    158
    113
    83
    108
See reviews for
275
136
39
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed overnight after an evening at Skippers Smokehouse. Rooms need to be deep cleaned but bed is comfy and bathroom/shower good with plenty of hot water. Breakfast is convenient and acceptable quality. Request poolside rooms as I believe this will put you on the interior of the hotel rather than facing the outside

Room Tip: poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The pool was really nice for our other children to use while we visited USF. The hotel staff was very accomidating and pleasent. The breakfest buffet was good, I was hoping for waffels but the muffins and homefries were tastey. The hotel rooms were clean and there were plenty of towels. Whne we checked in , other families were checking in as well and I was concerned that the rooms may be noisy, but that was not an issue. The landscaping Jaround the property was lush and in good condition. The price was right and I would definitley stay here again.

Room Tip: second floor was nice and seemed more view of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here, thankfully only ONE night, while attending a business meeting in the area.

The staff are friendly, and the breakfast spread was nice, but that's about it.

My room was on the second floor. There is no elevator. Finding the staircase was challenging, and it was narrow and dark. Hauling my suitcase up and down two flights of stairs was not ideal.
Don't expect a bellman.

The tile in the room was cracked (see photo), the baseboards and grout in the bathroom were covered with mold (see photo), and the bathroom door paint was scraped (see photo). In addition, the shower rod was hung higher on both ends, so that the curtain would not stay closed on either end, it automatically slid to the middle, so all during my shower there was an irritating cool breeze.

Good internet service, nice folks at breakfast, but other than that, for $15 or $20 more, you could find something a little nicer on down the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaMom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Appreciated the friendly greeting when we arrived and loved the extra money off for being a hospital patient during the month of October. Good Breakfast, usually friendly staff, and great prices. REALLY appreciate the discount for being a Shriners patient. : ) Like the rooms but they need more deep cleaning. Pool is AWESOME and heated. It is a kid friendly place. Great location for us!

Room Tip: We always like being pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeehj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toano, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I am a Choice Hotel Privileges member - currently Gold Status, in past Diamond and Platinum status (the latter 40 stay nights a year). I had stayed at this hotel in the past, with mixed results, but as this was 1 night, and it is close to Busch Gardens, my destination, I chose it. Big mistake. The hotel has gone downhill big time. Needs paint, carpets stained, huge cracks in grout in bath, etc. The entire look is shabby. When I called it a night and tried to sleep, no luck. Intoxicated yahoos on the breezeway were well into a party. Front desk was no help at all. So I got dressed, packed up, and left for a nearby Sleep Inn, quiet, clean and nice. Ate the points I was assessed for the room. On checking out, I advised the front desk clerk why I was leaving, and stated I would likely never return. The reply? "Uh, whatever". I had a Clarion room booked for the following night in Orlando, but even though it was too late to cancel without losing my points, I also ate those points and booked into a Marriott. I am finished with Clarion. But then, uh, whatever, they don't care do they? By the way, do you have kids? Signs are taped to the front window of the hotel and in the pool area that Tampa police have the right to request people leave the premises or face arrest for trespassing. Hmm, think that might be because non guest troublemakers have been a problem there? I do. Posted by a retired naval officer who travels on leisure trips for 20 to 50 hotel nights a year.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay that was cheap- well, it was cheap, but def old and run down. Stains on carpets in rooms, bathroom was falling apart. Lobby was nice- pretty typical to draw you in, then you get to room and rem that you paid for what you got. Pool is ok- they look like they try to take care of it, but still old, and broken tiles everywhere that they patch- old pirate ship that looks like they grabbed from side of road and rigged it so it worked in their kiddy pool- with that said, kids didnt know any different, and had fun playing in pool area. If your uptight with a dirty room or old room or a little smelly-musty room, then stay away! If your ok with getting what you pay for, and have low expectations, then go ahead and stay here-it served its purpose. We had fun at bush gardens, and at least didnt break the bank with our hotel stay. We used the extra money we saved to eat out so it worked out perfect.

Room Tip: i dont think this matters- they tell you the rooms are a remod, but that must have been years ago...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
4.2 mi away
Ramada Temple Terrace/Tampa North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
8.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#67 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2701 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Tampa
Clarion Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing