We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed for Bush gardens tampa” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #87 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stayed for Bush gardens tampa”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay that was cheap- well, it was cheap, but def old and run down. Stains on carpets in rooms, bathroom was falling apart. Lobby was nice- pretty typical to draw you in, then you get to room and rem that you paid for what you got. Pool is ok- they look like they try to take care of it, but still old, and broken tiles everywhere that they patch- old pirate ship that looks like they grabbed from side of road and rigged it so it worked in their kiddy pool- with that said, kids didnt know any different, and had fun playing in pool area. If your uptight with a dirty room or old room or a little smelly-musty room, then stay away! If your ok with getting what you pay for, and have low expectations, then go ahead and stay here-it served its purpose. We had fun at bush gardens, and at least didnt break the bank with our hotel stay. We used the extra money we saved to eat out so it worked out perfect.

Room Tip: i dont think this matters- they tell you the rooms are a remod, but that must have been years ago...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    155
    111
    83
    106
See reviews for
272
134
38
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Rooms are very good, clean. but the hall way and stairs are very dirty. Free break fast served fresh and hot. Overall experience is very good. Kids are enjoyed the pool and play ground.I was sceptical of booking because of the low price. I read good reviews from Tripadvisor and booked. Beautiful pool, friendly staff, rooms were average, very good breakfast, close to Busch Gardens. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Back to back

This is the second time I stay at this hotel which us near to Busch Gardens. Price went up very little which is cool, but the following needs attention. The rooms are in need of painting, rug replacement and the furniture looks a bit banged up. The lighting in the bathroom was not working. The mattresses are not comfortable at all. Breakfast Buffet served in the morning is very nice but the portions are very small. Handling large crowds in the morning is not their strong point and the dinning room is not kept clean during the breakfast rush.

Overall if they do these upgrades and maintain the prices low, the Clarion Hotel will be rated a family 5 star hotel!!

Room Tip: Inspect the rooms before your accept it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fserra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are dated as is the hotel but overall the property is clean, which is pretty much what most of us want. Rooms are small-ish but comfortable. The staff wishes to please and will do what they can to accommodate your needs. Location is central to many things. Expect friendly, clean and affordable.... That's what you'll get.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dannerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was sceptical of booking because of the low price. I read good reviews from Tripadvisor and booked. Beautiful pool, friendly staff, rooms were average, very good breakfast, close to Busch Gardens. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Nice pool, having a room facing the pool was an advantage when traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcclurkans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is great. The staff were very helpful and nice. There is good pool area where you can enjoy your coffee in the morning. The breakfast was OK. My room was clean, yeah a bit old but you get what you paid for. There is T.G.I Friday right next door where you can grab something to eat, a bit far if you are without a car and you want to explore downtown, but still there is a bus next block that goes there ~30/40min. Good place for its budget and area.

Room Tip: I really liked the one on 1st floor near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cvetiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRIGHTSVILLE
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I am sorry but this was not one of our favorite places to stay. The rooms were very dated with old furniture in poor shape and very stained and dirty. Palmetto bugs ran rampant thru our room . As we checked out after our stay we took all of our baggage outside and shook things out before we packed it back into car.
Staff was friendly and did give us back a modest portion of cost of room. Choice motels even gave us additional points which will help us in future if we decide to stay at a choice motel again.
Pool area was nice but very crowded which is to be expected.so we stayed much of our vacation by the pool or away from the room.
The surrounding area is wonderful with plenty of restaurants in area and a great deli (Jasons) across the street.
We just hated the room.

Room Tip: i would suggest a different motel for cleanliness
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAELHWrightsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
4.2 mi away
Ramada Temple Terrace/Tampa North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
8.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#64 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Near Busch Gardens/usf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2701 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Tampa
Clarion Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing