We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Rates, Very Friendly Staff & Clean Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
College Station, Texas
1 review
“Excellent Rates, Very Friendly Staff & Clean Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

I'm extremely happy with my first stay at La Quinta Inn and Suites. Staff was very courteous, willing to help. Room was clean and spacious. There are two small restaurants within walking distance.
Will choose this place again!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GNR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    202
    72
    29
    18
See reviews for
265
97
35
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
newjersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Great location; Reasonably priced; very clean room--a little more space than most; good continental breakfast. Staff was courteous, pleasant and eager to please. Only complaint was the noisy a/c.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sambucca45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We were not impressed with this La Quinta. There's another one very close to this location that usually averages about $20/night cheaper. We've now stayed at both and I can tell you to save your money and stay at the other one. Neither location is fancy, but I expected the more expensive one to be better. It wasn't.

Negatives: The handrail in the shower was broken. The drain was not working properly in the shower and when I tried to open the tub stopper a little more, it came out and there was a huge glob of hair on the end of it. There were also ants in the bathroom. The final thing is that the cabinets and doors in the room needed a fresh coat of paint. The paint had worn off in spots and it looked shabby.

Positives: The one thing about this La Quinta that's better than the cheaper one is that the bed is more comfortable. That's the only reason I gave the room 2 stars rather than just 1.

Luckily, we were only using this hotel as a place to sleep at night and we didn't spend any substantial period of time in it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EDMER0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Very nice hotel with a great staff. Great location as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I booked the LaQuinta Inn USF (near Busch Gardens) using Hotwire.com. I needed three rooms for a quick visit to Busch Gardens for Howl-O-Scream. Unfortunately, Hotwire lists this hotel as a 3 star hotel (like a Holiday Inn, Radisson or Doubletree), and this hotel is FAR from that quality.

What the hotel does provide is a clean room with a waffle, toast and cereal breakfast in the morning. The staff was fantastic, and the location was great. But, there is no restaurant on property or within walking distance.

Would I stay here again, yes. But, I would expect the hotel to be accurately depicted as a 2 star hotel like all other sites (including this one) say it is - instead of a 3 star hotel that Hotwire claimed it was.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InTheSky74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

This hotel is just a few minutes drive from Busch Gardens. Ideal for a couple of nights at the start/end of your holiday.
The rooms are large and very clean and comfortable. There are not too many staff around but the ones that are are very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is located on a busy road with not too much entertainment, restaurants etc right on the doorstep. A 15-20 min walk up the road will get you to the Coppertop Pub which is well worth a visit. Apart from that you will probably have to jump in the car.

Good value short stay hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spikeymires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

This was our first time staying at a La Quinta, and I was traveling with my husband and 6 teenagers. The price was so competitive that I did not expect much. I was very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were quite large, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms with granite tops, and everything was very clean.
Breakfasts each morning were very good, we even used their breakfast room to order pizza one night and eat there.
Staff was also very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mab6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
0.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Address: 3701 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#34 Family Hotel in Tampa
#40 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The beautiful La Quinta Inn & Suites U.S.F. is newly renovated and located behind Busch Gardens, adjacent to the University of South Florida (host hotel for most USF Sundome functions). There is always plenty to do here: Hard Rock Nightclub at Seminole Casino, Nightlife in Ybor City, Museum of Science and Industry, Florida Aquarium, Adventure Island, Lowry Park Zoo, Florida State Fairgrounds. Don't forget professional sporting events (baseball, football, and hockey). Walk to a variety of great restaurants, or hit the malls (International, University, West Shore). Guests at the La Quinta Inn & Suites U.S.F. are treated with a Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning. Enjoy the heated pool and Jacuzzi and 24-hour fitness center. Rooms are spacious and come with free high-speed Internet access and more. We are in north Tampa between I-75 and I-275, just minutes from the area's renowned Hospitals (Veterans, Cancer Center, Shriner's). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Usf (Near Busch Gardens)
La Quinta Inn & Suites Usf (Near Busch Gardens) Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Tampa
Tampa La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing