We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Quinta needs to change the carpet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Ranked #41 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
ny
Level Contributor
202 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“La Quinta needs to change the carpet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

Family of 5 stayed at the La Quinta Inn in Tampa after being at Busch Gardens all day. Very close to amusement park. Free continental breakfast (make your own waffles) was good. Room was sizable and comfortable. My only problem was that upon checking in, noticed a sign that said that the hotel was pet-friendly. I don't really like staying at a hotel that allows pets. The walls in the room were a little banged up (needing paint) and the carpeting throughout the room had a lot of stains. Possible pet accidents? Otherwise clean, quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    195
    69
    29
    17
See reviews for
254
94
34
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
moviechick65
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

I have been going to this hotel for 4 years to attend the Busch Gardens Halloween event, Howl O Scream. In the past is was really good and I looked forward to going. This year, The room was not as clean, I asked for a room with a refrigerator and didn't get it, the breakfast as made miserable by a big mouth hotel employee with an attitude. The pool guy kicked us out of the jaccuzi and pool because he needed to clean it... I won't go back. I'll try the Wingate next year. Stay away!

  • Liked — Leavimg early
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank moviechick65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

I stayed here for 3 nights Oct 2007. The hotel is quite new and was VERY clean and the room is quite spacious. I had 2 queen beds and because of the layout of the room, the bathroom feels large also -- really nice in a hotel room! The shower pressure was great!

I worked in my room and had the Do Not Disturb sign on all day - so no maid service. Late afternoon, they left a bag with clean towels, more coffee, soap, etc. etc. on my door -- I thought it was a really nice touch.

My only complaint was that it can be a bit noisy -- you can hear your neighbor's toilet flush or shower etc. It seemed louder than most other hotels --- but I am not a very heavy sleeper.

Breakfast was basic, but I had no complaints. Muffins, good coffee, fruit, cereal, etc. They also have a waffle maker (I didn't use this) but many people seemed to enjoy that.
They also have 24 hrs a day coffee in the lobby --- I loved it!

Would recommend to a friend.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank NellanSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

I stayed at this hotel after reading all the good reviews. The reviews were pretty much right on. The room was very clean and the beds were comfy. The rates do include free breakfast. This consisted of waffles, biscuits and gravy, fruit, bagels, muffins, and cereal. We paid around $100 which i guess is average. This hotel is perfect is you're going to Busch Gardens as it's located right behind it. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gatorgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

We stayed here one night prior to Moffitt Hospital. It was very convenient, right across the street.
The room was large and clean, the bedding was excellent.
They offered free broadband internet for your laptop.
They have a free breakfast with make it yourself waffles, cereal and milk, chocolate donuts, toast, apple juice and coffee.
We will probably stay there again.
It was a non smoking ADA room on the first floor.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The long walk to the room from the front door (The back door was kept locked)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cusyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando,fl
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2006

We live in Orlando and decided to go to Busch Gardens and the beach before the kids headed back to school. We walked in and asked for one night-a king room was available which we took.
The room was on the 2nd floor. The room itself was very nice, a King bed, a pullout couch, coffee table, desk with high speed connection, tv on dresser, nightstands with alarm clock. The furniture was comfortable and clean. The bathroom had plenty of room and was very clean. We only stayed one night, but had plenty of towels, blankets and pillows.
To get into the building you had to use your key-this was a nice security measure. Although we came back to the room late, we did walk around-the pool and spa area was very nice, and even had a little garden area with a gazebo and bench. The free continental breakfast was great-yummy waffles that you make yourself, yogurt, bagels, muffins, toast, cereal, bananas, coffee and juice. Lots of maps and information on the area in the lobby. The only problem I saw was that there was only one fairly small elevator, so it sometimes made for a long wait since there are 4 floors. The staff was also friendly.
This hotel is very close to everything, including restaurants, stores and Busch Gardens (all within 5 minute drive). We would definitely stay there again if looking for something for just a couple of nights.

  • Liked — the value
  • Disliked — elevator
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kfamvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, NJ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2006

We stayed here 5 nights for college visit and SkatePark of Tampa trip. This was the 2nd year. We had a room on the 2nd floor last time, this time was the first floor. The ceiling was leaking in the bathroom (2x), but fixed quickly when requested. Doors slam closed (not all guests think of others and hold doors to close quietly) which is quite loud when all is quiet in the a.m.

Breakfast in morning (coffee, muffins, toast, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, waffles, fruit, juice) is a plus to get you started.

Located in a "good" spot, although you need a car to get anywhere. Busch Gardens is walkable, but I wouldn't advise it - too far. MANY places to eat, Lowry Park Zoo, MOSI, nearby - Clearwater Beach not too far. All in all a great trip - will look to stay here again next trip.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TZMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
0.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa N - Busch Gardens Area
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Address: 3701 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#34 Family Hotel in Tampa
#40 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The beautiful La Quinta Inn & Suites U.S.F. is newly renovated and located behind Busch Gardens, adjacent to the University of South Florida (host hotel for most USF Sundome functions). There is always plenty to do here: Hard Rock Nightclub at Seminole Casino, Nightlife in Ybor City, Museum of Science and Industry, Florida Aquarium, Adventure Island, Lowry Park Zoo, Florida State Fairgrounds. Don't forget professional sporting events (baseball, football, and hockey). Walk to a variety of great restaurants, or hit the malls (International, University, West Shore). Guests at the La Quinta Inn & Suites U.S.F. are treated with a Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning. Enjoy the heated pool and Jacuzzi and 24-hour fitness center. Rooms are spacious and come with free high-speed Internet access and more. We are in north Tampa between I-75 and I-275, just minutes from the area's renowned Hospitals (Veterans, Cancer Center, Shriner's). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LaQuinta, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Usf (Near Busch Gardens)
La Quinta Inn & Suites Usf (Near Busch Gardens) Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Tampa
Tampa La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing