We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice atmosphere, food mediocre”
Review of Thai Thani

Thai Thani
Ranked #440 of 2,418 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Thai Thani invites you to experience the bold flavors of Thailand while dining in our warm and relaxing environment. The peaceful surroundings of imported antiques and statues, hand-carved tables and tropical plants, create a most relaxing and romantic atmosphere for your dining pleasure. At the heart of Thai Cuisine are the diverse herbs, spices and flavoring which provide the dazzling array of delicious and exotic tastes which make Thai cuisine so unique. Thai cuisine is meant to stimulate and excite the five taste senses: sweet, sour, hot, salty and neutral. Whether you are a long time enthusiast or new to this incredibly rich cuisine, our culinary creations are sure to delight. Come to Thai Thani and savor the taste and aroma of authentic Thai cuisine while dining in an atmosphere and decor that will transport you to the rich and wonderful culture that is Thailand!
trieste
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere, food mediocre”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

food average...nothing to get excited about. the atmosphere is very nice, we had a beautifully carved wooden table that was worth the visit, just admiring it. tom yung (sp?) soup was mediocre, same for the adamane (sp?) seafood curry. the food was fresh but the chef isn't capable of putting together the ingredients to make you say "this is Thai!!!" no one at our table was impressed...we were in 7.
wouldn't go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    68
    24
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We used to be regulars, having dined at least 7-8 times over the past 1-1.5 years. The last time we were there a few months ago, the food was way overspiced to the point of being inedible. We just shrugged it off and thought they were having an off night. We decided to try again tonight with some friends...one word-- TERRIBLE...everything from the service to the food, to the attitude has gone to the toilet. Our server was very slow. The first plates he brought out were so spicy, we couldn't touch them, even though we usually order our food spicy. In fact, the server hadn't even asked us what spice level we wanted. We sent 3 dishes back, only to get it the second time with way too much soy sauce, making it taste bitter. The fried rice plate was also a lot smaller, with almost no rice, looking more like an onion salad.

Our drinks were never refilled. When we complained to the manager, who only came after being called 2-3 times, he first offered a free dessert for the trouble, which we declined, and said he'd give a discount.

The check was brought out, and saw that he had taken a measly $5 off the check.
To add insult, when we called him again, repeating our complaints and the fact that we barely touched the food, he asked why we didn't send it back the second time. This man needs a lesson in common sense, to say nothing of customer service.

He made another adjustment after some back and forth, we just paid the check, and left for the last time.

There are other better thai places in Tampa, don't go here....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesiTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So DIRTY!!!!!!! Nasty dirty.”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Four of us ate here before a concert at the Forum. There were only a few other tables, one person at the bar and the food took FOREVER! It was good though. Our server was very cool, knew the menu, made great recommendations and was very personable. The bartender was so incredibly slow. We ordered drinks to go and although we all ordered the same drink, he made each one individually! We ended up missing the first two acts of the concert because of this! The absolute part about Thai Thani though was the filth! It is so dirty. The women's restroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. Paper towels were strewn over the floor. Toilets weren't flushed. Urine on the seats. Some stalls were out of toilet paper. The sinks were all soaking wet. The vents had about five inches of dust caked on them and then there were pieces of dust hanging and blowing from the vents. I was afraid a big piece was going to fall on my head. Ceiling tiles had water stains. There was cob webs in the corners of the ceiling. Honestly, the gas station bathroom is cleaner. Thank goodness I didn't use the bathroom before I ate because I think I'd have walked out. After seeing the bathroom I can only imagine what the kitchen looks like. I have no desire to go back to this restaurant. Ever!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank josiedg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dining before Segway tour”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Right in Channelside Mall near Segway meetup point. Nice Thai decor and food was pretty good. Service a bit slow.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natashax4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good quality food, odd location”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This was about the only place open in the Tampa Channelside area late one evening, and at first it was confusing to find the entrance. It's upstairs in a courtyard that also has a Hooters, a Spanish tapas place, and some other bars. The surroundings in Thai Thani are pleasant and comfortable. The food was great. We shared summer rolls and I had the basic Pad Thai with shrimp and chicken. I had asked for it Thai Hot (the server steered me away from Firehouse), but it wasn't very hot--but it was really tasty. My son enjoyed his beef with garlic and ginger. I definitely recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Tacopete5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thai Thani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing