We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly Excellent Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Ranked #23 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed August 29, 2014

On our recent road trip through Florida and Georgia this was the one hotel I had the least expectations from and in hindsight it was the best place we stayed that trip for comfort and value.

Our room was quiet, very clean and very comfortable. The location was perfect for visiting friends and exploring Tampa.

On the opposite side of the freeway from this hotel and to the left down a block is a famous Cuban restaurant called Brocato's.. It is well worth your visit if you want to find some of the "old Florida" charm and eat somewhere the locals eat at. Breakfast is fantastic!

Do not have any reservations about staying at this hotel at all.. We had a perfect stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby G, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Thank you for staying with us on your recent stay here in Tampa, Florida. It is always a pleasure to here a guest say that we surpassed there expectations. We hope on your next visit we don't agin. Please come see us again real soon. On behalf of the entire team thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 875 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

As long haul professional drivers, we have stayed at numerous hotels across America. This is our 1st time to Tampa Fl, and after reading the many excellent reviews we decided to stay at the Quality Inn & Suites 18th Ave, Tampa. We can praise this hotel and the staff enough, our room was outstanding as far as cleanliness, and had all amenities you would require. We've stayed at a lot of hotels that charged far more money for much less. The pool area is fabulous, cleaned daily, and impressed that all the lounge chairs are padded. Also there are mist machines to keep you cool when lounging. Lobby always has fresh coffee, and is bright and cheerful. We can't say enough about how fabulous this hotel is, and would recommend it to anyone, who appreciates value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Wanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby G, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Thank you so much for the high regards. It is because of guest like your self that we were Choice Hotels Gold Award winning property. On behalf of our GM and entire staff thank you for the review once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

we were in town for the "Summer of Rum" festival at the Cuban Club in Ybor City and we could not have picked a better place to stay. the staff was EXTRA accommodating and we would like to give an extra thank you to Jerry, our shuttle bus driver for making sure we got to our destination and back with efficient and courteous service. we loved our room and how clean everything was.. We will be back for the festival and to stay another 3 days with you :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wednesday M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby G, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. i will be sure to let our staff know how much of an impact they made on your experience. We are always pleased to be your second home when you're at the area. Once again on behalf of our entire team thank you for the grate review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Well first of all let me say this is an old "motel". Everything is in need of up-dating. The room was ok, pretty much what you expected from seeing the outside. Definitely could have been cleaned a little better, but nothing gross. Check in was easy enough and the man who checked us in was nice. We arrived late at night so I couldn't get a good look around the area, but it was situated in a weird spot. They did have a continental breakfast, but we had to leave early the next morning so we didn't have the chance to sit and eat, but we did grab a muffin and coffee which was average stuff you get at a cheaper end hotel. By the way, I paid $75 + tax for the night, for a standard room with two double beds. For the area and the age and condition of the hotel (motel) I would say that is just too much...not worth it. Should be more around $50-60. But if it's all you can get at the last moment, it's not too bad, I've seen worse!! (Just be aware of what you will be getting)

Room Tip: You'll want a room as close to the lobby as possible since it's quite a walk if you are want...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby G, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Our team is constantly updating and upgrading our property. I apologize that you did not see any of this. On behalf of our entire team we apologize for your missatisfaction and thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The room was comfortable and well equipped. They have free parking which is always great! The breakfast had a good selection and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was very useful having guest laundry on site! The location was good for the city and busch gardens!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AlBex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby G, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for the great review. Location and customer service play large roles in what our guests look for when choosing our property. On behal of the entire team here at Quality Inn & Suites thank you and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I booked this hotel after reading all the great reviews. We arrived after a long drive from Ohio at around midnight on a Friday. The overall appearance of the hotel is very nice. But there were a lot of shady looking people (what I would call thugs) hanging around in the parking lots. The area did not feel safe, maybe it is different during the day but at night you definitely don't want to be walking around outside. There were also a lot of parties going on in the hotel and it was very loud. We checked in and got our room keys and just before entering the room I heard people inside our room. A lot of people. Went back to the front desk and they said there was a computer glitch and our room had been double booked. They were very apologetic and offered to upgrade us to a suite, but by that point I just wanted to get out of there because of the area and feeling unsafe leaving our car parked there every night for an entire week. I was able to get a full refund. Unfortunately we never made it into a room to see if all the good reviews about the rooms were true. So if location and safety are important to you, I recommend staying away from this hotel and part of town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank jennck35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby G, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

On behalf of our entire team here at the Quality Inn & Suites I want to apologize for the experience you had at our property. I also would like to shed some light on the events that weekend during your visit. Our hotel is very well known as you stated through Trip Advisor and on that particular night you arrived we were completely booked up. Not only sold out but we were hosting two very large family reunions. Looks can be very deceiving and the persons standing outside of the hotel in our parking lots and BBQ areas were family members that were catching up and awaiting other family members that were lost or arriving late. Yes our meeting room was in use not for a party but as a welcoming center and eating area for arriving family members. I am truly sorry that you misinterpreted what you had seen. Our property is not only safe but well lit and we also as added bonus keep security on premises to ensure our guests feel even safer. As for your room assignment we are truly sorry for the computer mishap. But we did offer you a large suite at no additional cost for the error. I do hope that you would try us again and we invite you to do so. We are very thankful for the review and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I thank both managers Bobby G and Neema for allowing me to be a guest at their hotel at such a short notice. Coming all the way from Clearwater down to tampa, the check in to this hotel was smooth, hassle free, and I was able to rest in the matter of minutes. Everything has been on point, the room to the service, and I'm overall satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nfolisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby G, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for the great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. We would like to invite you back anytime. Once again on behalf of our entire team thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City

Address: 4955 E 18th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-2407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#17 Family Hotel in Tampa
#32 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $75 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites, a Tampa hotel near Ford Amphitheatre at Florida State Fairgrounds. Conveniently located in the heart of Tampa's business district, the brand new Quality Inn & Suites is minutes away from the Seminole Hard Rock Casino, Ford Amphitheatre at Florida State Fairgrounds and the Port of Tampa. This Tampa, FL hotel is also close to popular attractions and venues like Ybor City, St. Pete Times Forum, the Tampa Convention Center, Raymond James Stadium and Busch Gardens theme park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City Hotel Tampa
Quality Inn And Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Quality Inn Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing