We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Hotel for Gasparilla!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Ranked #21 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for Gasparilla!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice for Gasparilla. It's an EXCELLENT choice if you can't afford outrageous prices for a hotel in downtown during Gasparilla. The number 6 bus line stops less than 1/4 mile from the hotel and it was very easy to ride it into downtown. Ybor is less than 3 miles away. The breakfast was amazing for a complimentary breakfast. The hotel is clean, safe, and in excellent condition. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sew4207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    254
    71
    22
    24
See reviews for
210
280
41
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, WI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Agree with the good reviews of this motel. New, clean, quiet, usual motel breakfast.
Both USA and WSJ papers are extra touch.

Only limitation is that there are no nearby restaurants, only fast food outlets. Motel is in a
downscale neighborhood, which is probably the reason. They promote Ybor City, which is
about 3 miles away. Ybor is an entertainment venue, which OK only if you are looking for
noisy night life. Out of luck if you just want a Perkins or Applebees.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riverside123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed 3 nights, the first in a king room and the 2nd 2 nights in a 2 queen bed room. The rooms were identical except for the beds, and room details have been described elsewhere. There is a fitness room with recumbent bike, treadmill, elliptical and weight set, good quality but not in particularly good repair. The fitness room included large TV and ice water. The pool area was lovely but the very loud rock music discouraged me from relaxing in it or by it. 24 hour coffee, good breakfast including rotating hot entree; excellent friendly staff who tried to answer all questions. Overall a very positive experience.

Room Tip: Suggest first floor of building away from freeway. Even on the 2nd floor of the building away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pktva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We arrived in Tampa on the Day after Chrismas and spent our first night at the Quality Inn before going on to St. Pete Beach. I had been ill and was still not feeling well when we arrived. We were checked in quickly and I went to bed. The room was very very clean and the bed very comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast the next morning as well. The only negative about this hotel is its location. It sits right up against the interstate on ramp and is a little hard to get to and not in walking distance of anything. That being said it is a very nice hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dic1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We liked this hotel so much from our April 2011 trip that we stayed here again for 3 days leading up to New Year's while going to Busch Gardens and Clearwater Beach. This is a great hotel - nice rooms, flat screen tv, frig, douvet covers and good breakfast, heated pool and helpful staff.

We stayed in the 2nd building this stay. The rooms have been remodeled recently with high-quality furnishings. the only concern was that even though the outside entrance doors had key card slots, they were not locked at night. Based on the neighborhood, I would have preferred they be locked.

Breakfact is very good. 2 waffle makers, buscuits & gravy, fresh fruit, boiled eggs, yogurt, pasteries and cereals. Plus good coffee and 3 kinds of juices. The breakfast area is also large.

The internet was a little slow at 1mbps, but its free! We will be staying here again on our next trip to Tampa in April 2012.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel while in town for the Outback Bowl. We wanted something fairly close to both Ybor City and the stadium, and this fit the bill. Our room was less than $60 a night, and was very clean, with granite counter top in the bathroom and a granite shower stall. We had a king room, which had a fairly large refrigerator, and a coffee maker, but no microwave. We were on the second floor in the main building and did not hear a sound all night. (we do travel with a small fan to drown out sound, though). There are two buildings - one where you check in and another on the other side of the pool, by I-4. We were in the main building, which I would think would be quiter. Rooms were very clean and staff was friendly. There is a large breakfast area. Breakfast was OK. Make your own waffles, cereal, pastries, bagels, biscuits and gravy along with juice and coffee. There is a computer in the lobby for guests. Since it is only two stories, we used the stairs (although there in an elevator). The stairwell could have been cleaner, but it wasn't too bad. Rooms were spotless though. This is an interior corrider hotel. The neighborhood was not the best looking - however, the hotel is fenced and we felt very secure. There are several fast food places less than a mile away - however, there is nothing that can be walked to. (because of the way the highways are). Ther is a Sweetbay grocery store close by also. Raymond James stadium is less than 15 minutes away and it took us less than 10 minutes to get to Ybor City from the hotel. We were very pleased and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

This Quality Inn was the last night on my journey south for the winter, traveling with my constant canine companion. This was a "free" stay with my points, and so I reserved a king suite which I would not normally do. This is a beautifully maintained property, the outdoor pool area is particularly nice with quality furniture and umbrella tables; it adjoins bathrooms and the exercise area which is very convenient and thoughtfully designed. The lobby area is spacious, comfortable, very clean and nicely decorated. The area around the hotel property was also well cared for and pleasant for walking my dog. The staff is absolutely top notch, I had a few small issues which were either taken care of immediately, or I was offered to have them rectified immediately. With family in Tampa, it was nice to be able to get some take-out food and have supper in the lobby breakfast area, rather than having to dine in my room. The neighborhood is a tiny bit run down, but at no time did I feel unsafe while staying there, walking my dog along the sidewalks, was not at all concerned about safety. The property is very easy to find, very easy on and off the interstate, plenty of well lit parking, breakfast was standard fare, but hot and tasty. The few issues that should have been taken care of were:
1. a request for a room very close to the entrance (due to a disability, not convenience) was not honored. 2. the suite had not been thoroughly cleaned prior to my arrival; my dog found many food crumbs in the carpeting and 3. there was an issue with the phone line that was a minor annoyance. All in all though, a very pleasant stay in a mostly clean hotel with really excellent staffing (and good staff always makes a big difference in any hotel) and I will definitely stay again next fall heading south.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the side away from Interstate 4; much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auntie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Harbor Hotel
#70 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Address: 4955 E 18th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-2407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#17 Family Hotel in Tampa
#32 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites, a Tampa hotel near Ford Amphitheatre at Florida State Fairgrounds. Conveniently located in the heart of Tampa's business district, the brand new Quality Inn & Suites is minutes away from the Seminole Hard Rock Casino, Ford Amphitheatre at Florida State Fairgrounds and the Port of Tampa. This Tampa, FL hotel is also close to popular attractions and venues like Ybor City, St. Pete Times Forum, the Tampa Convention Center, Raymond James Stadium and Busch Gardens theme park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City Hotel Tampa
Quality Inn Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing