We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Struggling Hampton” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Struggling Hampton”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We chose this Hampton because of its location and bases on a prior stay here about 8 years ago. While nothing went terribly wrong, this was not a typical Hampton experience for us.

The hotel was under-staffed and the front desk clerk was clearly stressed - but thankfully not rude. We were upgraded to a suite, so that was an appreciated bonus. However, our request for extra pillows went unfilled.

The room had very worn furniture, including a chair that barely had any cover left. There were a variety of other nuisances - blinds that wouldn't fully close, stiff and loose bathroom fixtures, and un-vacuumed halls. There are renovations underway, so if you stay here request a renovated room.

In the future, we will probably seek other Hampton (or similar chain) options.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TripTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We value your loyalty to our hotel and our brand. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we currently undergo some growing pains. Your comments about the maintenance concerns, while not excusable, come at a perfect time. We'll keep this in mind as go through our renovations and will address the poor service levels you experienced. We hope you'll come back and let us know what you think of our changes.

Best Regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    242
    75
    33
    21
See reviews for
502
210
38
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

For this trip, I was going to be at the hotel for a long duration. The first part of the trip was for business and the second half was personal as we may relocate to Tampa. After a long day of travel, I was very surprised about the evening Manager's Reception. My thought was that there would be snack, finger food items. I was very surprised to find enough food for a meal and wine too. What makes this evening reception extra special is Nikole! She was a very welcome comfort for travelers. She was attentive to everyone. She takes care for you like family. Nikole was also attending the front desk on the weekend evenings. She was still great to the customers, taking care of their needs. Mary, at the front desk, was very accommodating. She was very helpful with all my request. Also, at the weekday breakfast, Pam was very kind and helpful. The breakfast offers something for everyone. If you leave hungry, it is your own fault. The hotel is in a nice, quiet area. The grounds are very nice. My room was also very nice. I asked for a room with a microwave and a refrigerator, which both came in handy for this long trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators and vending for best comfort at any hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a really bad experience at a small locally owned motel in Sanibel. I was looking for a motel that was mold-free, and I found it here. Everything was clean and fresh smelling. The carpet was clean and I could walk on it with bare feet. The area is quiet and felt safe. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXFlowerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lots of hotels have an evening reception or hospitality offered, but at the Hampton, Nicole is what really makes theirs special. I was welcomed (and encouraged and invited to attend), she used my name and most nights I was there received better service that I would at a sit-down restaurant when the employees work for tips on your individual bill. With no check at the end of the event she is just motivated by making the guests feel welcome and happy and she does it wonderfully!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

First let me start by saying I had a great stay here. Rooms were very clean as well as the hotel grounds. They have a shuttle service and they will take you pretty much anywhere. The front desk agents could be more friendly but that is the only downside of my stay. On another note to my surprise they have a dinner reception at this hotel which is not standard for hampton inns and in top of that they have the best host I had ever have in my life (and I travel a lot). Nikole make us fell welcome since the very first moment we step foot on the hotel. She invite us to come down for dinner even though the dinner was almost over. She talked to us for a while but never stop taking care of everyone else. I commented to her that it was my birthday the next day and when we came down for dinner she showed up with flowers (that she personally cut fresh for me), wine and balloons. It really surprise me that with small comment she remember and did so much for me. To resume Nikole is the host I have ever had. I will be coming back to this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krskconcepcion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very positive experience. Ideal for business travel. Was too busy to use the pool, but see many happy people around. Place is recently remodeled. Staff is friendly. Definitely will be back. Single Kings look the Pool. Double Queens look out. Top floor is smoking. Easy parking all around the building. If you need MW in the room, should ask in advance

Room Tip: Single Kings look the Pool. Double Queens look out. Top floor is smoking. Easy parking all around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel one evening after visiting friends in the area. The hotel rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. Hampton Inns have some of the best hotel pillows but even they could be a little larger. We had a beautiful palm tree right outside our window. Breakfast was good.

We only had one issue. When we arrived at 9:00 p.m. after a long day we just wanted to turn on TV and unwind before bed. Unfortunately, the TV was not working. Guest services sent up a technician fairly quickly and we did get the TV working, however there was a loose cord and the technician said he should come back and replace it. We waited about 20 minutes and then contacted guest services and told them not to bother as we were tired. She told us that the technician couldn't find another cord. It would have been nice if someone had contacted us to let us know he would not be returning as we were waiting to get ready for bed. That was my only complaint on an otherwise good stay. Other than this issue I would have given the overall rating of this hotel a 5 star. I would still recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
12.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Address: 8210 Hidden River Pkwy, Tampa, FL 33637-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tampa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#8 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get in touch with nature and get to know the rich cultural heritage of Tampa, the heart and pulse of the Tampa Bay area including St. Petersburg and Clearwater. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-North offers a free local shuttle service to area attractions and corporate businesses in and around the area. Our award-winning hotel provides excellent service and accommodations; we are located just off I-75 in a quiet, natural preserve business district called Hidden River Corporate Park.Step out your door and prepare for adventure, because our hotel in Tampa is only about a mile from the Wilderness Park reserve, and less than five minutes from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. Find more family activities in the nearby Channelside District, an entertainment-dining multiplex just east of downtown that is home to the Florida Aquarium, a glass-domed marine wonderland. Our hotel in Tampa also makes it easy to delve into history at Tampa Bay History Center; get a taste of the local Cuban culture in Ybor City; and enjoy the nightlife in the SoHo district. Stop by the front desk, and our Tampa hotel team will offer insightful tips on the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tampa - North
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing