We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Tampa North”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Hampton Inn Tampa North”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked this hotel for our group's stay. We usually stay @ The Embassy Suites, but wanted to cut our hotel costs. From the first contact with Towanda, who set me up with 7 rooms, to Nikole who let us know that she would be making lasagna the next evening for her reception! Our group finished work @ 7pm, arrived at the hotel and found that Nikole had saved a big dish of lasagna for our group, with salad and bread and hot homemade peanut butter cookies. I would definitely book this hotel again. Our room is a suite with a full kitchen...it's super!

Room Tip: The suites with full kitchen are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    253
    80
    34
    22
See reviews for
532
220
38
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night and the manager/customer service here was amazing. The person to be called out is Nicole. She was great, hospitable, and great at what she does. The hotel hosted a "meet the manager night" with food, drinks, etc. Me and my wife enjoyed the service provided by Nicole. We actually stayed at a Hampton Inn in Orlando and initially had a 5 day stay. We checked out after the first night because of the terrible room and customer service. Right after orlando, we came to Tampa worried that our experience would be similar. However, it was pleasantly exactly the opposite. Location is only 10 minutes from Busche Gardens (less than 5 miles) and they have a free shuttle. There is also a lot of food options in the area. Finally, there is good free coffee and breakfast. Total worth the stay and if you stayed at another Hampton and had a bad experience, staying that this hotel will completely change your mind about Hampton Inn. It really is about the people that are running/managing the hotel that makes the world of a difference. Needless to say, clean rooms, comfy bed, etc etc that you would expect from any hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RipalS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel is under renovation but I can't see how they will fix the small rooms and general functional issues. The hotel smells bad and is dated in every way. The hotel was filthy in both public and private areas and the bedding was awful as well. I travel frequently for business and pleasure and this is the worst hampton inn i've ever see....Would never stay here again. There are many newer and better options for less money within 5 min drive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaintAugTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you were less than impressed with our property and amenities and for the misstep made by our housekeeping staff. We try to be consistent and courteous in this area because we know how important a clean and comfortable space is for our guests. We have shared your review with our housekeeping staff in the hopes of preventing a similar situation in the future. We are in the process of an amazing lobby enhancement. We hope the next time you are in the area you will stay with us again so we can show you our renovations.

Thank you,

Heather Fogle, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I'm a Hilton Honors Diamond member staying at Hampton Inns almost every week. When in Tampa, I used to stay at other Hilton Hotels closer to downtown until 5 or 6 months ago when I happened on the Tampa North facility. I came in during the Manager’s Hospitality event, Nikole greeted me upon check-in and invited me to have snacks and drinks. Nikole conversed with every guest and served them like they were at a fine restaurant. Because of Nikole and the great hospitality I stay at the Hampton North exclusively 2 or 3 times monthly. People like Nikole and the staff at Hampton North make a huge difference to business travelers and vacationers alike.
Thanks Nikole and Tampa North – by far my favorite hotel!
Keep up the great work, Rick P

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for a whole week for a training course for BICSI. Excellent location easy to get to BICSI training site as well as some restaurants. Hotel has a good customer service very personable and friendly, they also offered customers a manager's reception where food and beverage was served FREE of cost which made it very convenient if your traveling under budget. I attended one of the manager's reception ran by Towanda Moody, who ran an excellent and very relaxing reception. Stayed in room 329 which was convenient, it was very quiet, comfortable and was always kept clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisb05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here on September 25th 2012 for one night as we were attending a concert at the USF Sun Dome that evening. The hotel’s location is excellent for I-75 access and for getting to the Sun Dome. The hotel was remodeling the lobby area while we were there so things weren’t exactly normal. The construction workers actually curtailed their work during breakfast as not to disturb the guests, what an excellent, well-mannered crew. The hotel staff was very friendly and professional. Our room (227) was well warn but very functional, everything worked but you didn’t want to walk barefooted across the carpet. The facility offered a manager’s reception at night with some food and beverages on the house. We had planned our food before arrival so we did not partake in the reception. Breakfast had the usual continental fare with scrambled eggs prepared in a Mexican style. If you went away from the breakfast hungry it was your own fault not the hotels. The fresh coffee was very good. I’m pretty sure that this hotel will be completely refurbished and refreshed before the year is over if not sooner. Next time we need lodging for a Sun Dome event; this property will be on our list. The good news is there are several hotels in this neighborhood so we will also be price shopping as always.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GvilleTraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed at this Hampton inn for a week while working in Tampa and while I've been here before my experience (even with some remodeling construction going on) was wonderful -- the best of all my stays here over the past several years. Even with construction on the entry, in the lobby and in the "host" area it was clean and the construction crews were curtious and helpful (opening doors and making way as guests would come and go.

The breakfasts and evening hospitality (dinner really) were very nice - not over-the-top but offered healthy options and was quite tasty. And Nicole in the evening is so welcoming, bublly and fun! She made me feel like I was "home".

My room -- clean, spacious and most of all QUIET -- even with the construction. And the fitness room and equipment, while a small area were very nice and adequate. It was CLEAN too!

Room Tip: I had a suite and loved the extra space for the week of stay. Having a refridgerator and microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
12.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
7.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Address: 8210 Hidden River Pkwy, Tampa, FL 33637-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#5 Family Hotel in Tampa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#8 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get in touch with nature and get to know the rich cultural heritage of Tampa, the heart and pulse of the Tampa Bay area including St. Petersburg and Clearwater. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-North offers a free local shuttle service to area attractions and corporate businesses in and around the area. Our award-winning hotel provides excellent service and accommodations; we are located just off I-75 in a quiet, natural preserve business district called Hidden River Corporate Park.Step out your door and prepare for adventure, because our hotel in Tampa is only about a mile from the Wilderness Park reserve, and less than five minutes from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. Find more family activities in the nearby Channelside District, an entertainment-dining multiplex just east of downtown that is home to the Florida Aquarium, a glass-domed marine wonderland. Our hotel in Tampa also makes it easy to delve into history at Tampa Bay History Center; get a taste of the local Cuban culture in Ybor City; and enjoy the nightlife in the SoHo district. Stop by the front desk, and our Tampa hotel team will offer insightful tips on the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tampa - North
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing