We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Ranked #5 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“all good!”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our family of 5 arrived Friday evening and was checked in within minutes of walking in the front doors. We had originally asked for the king with sofa room but went into a 2 double bed room. So we asked for a role away and on was delivered soon there after. We enjoyed the complimentary bag of popcorn so much and wanted to purchase an additonal one but they gave it to us instead! We found everything clean and comfortable. The breakfast was perfect. On our check out Monday morning my husband tried his had at the waffle maker and had a little difficulty, unfortunately we overheard Lori the hostess grumbling about people not cleaning up their own mess. He simply hadn't been able to get some leftover cooked waffle off the top half because it was hot! We were there to visit Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. We had originally planned to take the shuttle but drove ourselves instead because it seemed to run a bit behind scheduled pick up times. Not a deal breaker for us though. This was part of a vacation package purchased through Busch Gardens and the value was very good. Overall we would stay at Hampton Inn and Suites again and recommend it to others as well!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandabekasaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thanks so much for staying with us during your recent trip to Tampa and Busch Gardens! We appreciate the comments you have shared!

We look forward to seeing you again at the Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa-North!

Best Regards,

Heather Fogle, General Manager, Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa-North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    264
    82
    35
    24
See reviews for
574
229
42
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite with our two teenage daughters. We were pleasantly surprised by the size and layout of the suite. It had a small kitchenette with a full-sized refrigerator/freezer (with an icemaker), dishwasher, stove. There was a very limited amount of dishes & glassware, but we didn't cook or eat in, so it was sufficient for us. The bathroom was outside the master bedroom, convenient to everyone without disrupting anyone.

The hotel has a "reception" at 5:30 during the week with enough food to make it a light dinner. We had hamburgers wish sides one night and tacos another night. It was a pleasant "bonus". The breakfast was not cooked to order or extensive, but there was always two hot items, a waffle station, pastries, cereals, fresh fruit, etc. There is always hot coffee and fresh baked cookies in the lobby.

The biggest bonus to this hotel was the free shuttle service they offered. They had a 7-passenger van at our disposal for transportation to Busch Gardens, Adventure Island and other local attractions (Hard Rock casino). Other hotels we've stayed at while going to amusement parks offered a shuttle van with pre-scheduled times of departure and pick up. This van was available throughout the day. We used it several times a day to come and go. The hotel is probably about 15 minutes from Busch Gardens, so this was a HUGE benefit.

The pool was somewhat small and there was no spa, but we were so busy with the theme parks, we didn't really use it other than one night. It was clean with plenty of lounge chairs.

The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and efficient. We would highly recommend this hotel to families looking for a nice hotel at a great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4inFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel in Tampa, Florida. We certainly appreciate the time you took out of your day to write it!

I was glad to hear that our rooms were clean and comfortable, our team gave you great service, you had a great breakfast, and you enjoyed our evening reception and shuttle! We like hearing those kind words.

Once again we are so glad you picked the Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa-North and we hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Heather Fogle, General Manager, Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa-North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I have stayed at other Hamptons and always found them to be very nice. We are nonsmokers and had to get a smoking room (there were no nonsmoking suites available). I have stayed in smoking rooms in the past. If any odor persists after cleaning it's usually a light odor that is tolerable and typically dissipates by evening. I presume that's from the previous guest smoking in the room right before checking out and we arrive early for check in. However, this suite smelled like a night club! Rancid heavy smoke smell. We were on the 4th floor and the entire floor smelled like a smokers lounge. We arrived late evening (7ish) for check in. I notified the front desk right away, they sent up someone with a ionizing machine. We left for dinner and hoped the machine would help eliminate the smoke smell by the time we retuned. Just in case while we were out I bout some odor neutralizer one spray and one solid style. Upon returning the machine was off, my husband looked at it and found it was on a timer (which they never gave us any instruction on the machine). We turned it back on and I sprayed the neutralizer and opened the solid. I again notified the front desk. Not much they could do... Later I had to go down to the lobby for something and the clerk advised me he had been up on our floor and apologized as the whole floor did have a heavy smoking smell. He would see what else could be done tomorrow. We were off to Busch Gardens the entire next day/. If anything more had been done - it didn't help! The room still smelled like stale rancid smoke and of course we smelled like it after being in the room for any extended amount of time.
Other negatives: pool was closed (green) - glad we weren't planning on using much. The kids were disappointed. Our friends went with and had several problems with there room as well and were moved twice. First room toilet was broken, Second room was smoking (ashtrays in room) clerk said it was a nonsmoking (smelled just as bad as ours!) Third and final room bathroom door was broken and once closed wouldn't open. My friend found this out at about 3 am and had to go to the lobby to use the restroom in her pj's.
Positives: most of the staff was polite and friendly. The breakfast was good with plenty of food and choices. If you don't like to wait in line get there early seems like everyone wants breakfast around 9. The actual hotel it's self looks very nice & clean.
We will not stay at this hotel again when we go back to Bush Gardens. Will possibly consider staying at Hampton's again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TareeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I know other readers take cues from guests like you.

We appreciate the comments you have shared with us. I am sorry you had a less than pleasant experience while in Tampa.

Please give us another chance. We would love the opportunity to dazzle you and show you what a great hotel we have.

Thanks,
Heather Fogle, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deerfield beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2011

i had a wonderful time at this hotel they have great service,a wonderful continental breakfast. clean rooms and the best part a free shuttle bus that takes you to bush gardens for free.this is the only hotel that i will come to if i am anywhere in tampa.they have won over my service if your going to spend time and money this is the best place to do it at.....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volmidorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

I travel every week and stay @ different hotel. When I visit in Tampa I was so happy to find this Hampton inn. Start with the friendly check in than to the beautiful room. Clean very clean hotel. I stay @ different hotels in this area before no more! Any one on a trip around Tampa needs to check this hotel out. You need to see it to believe it
They all so serve food and drink for free every night.
This hotel will always be my home away from home regardless my work area @ Tampa.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank themeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The staff was amazing. I've never had the housekeepers greet me everytime I left my room. The staff was super nice. Room was nice and very clean. We had a very large group stay here for 3-4 days for a wedding and they were awesome and very accomodating to us. Breakfast was awesome, huge variety. Will stay here again the next time I visit.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicam89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed on Saturday, April 23rd & Sunday, 24th. We had stayed in this hotel before so we knew what to expect. The location is in a very nice setting with a county park down the street. The rooms were clean and quite. We were right across from the elevator, however, we heard no noise. We had the lowest priced room, however, it was roomy with a microwave oven with popcorn and a large refrigerator. The staff was very helpful and we were able to check in quickly, although I did have reservations. The breakfast was better than I expected and there was coffee, tea and cookies in the lobby all the time. The rates are cheaper on the weekends and higher during the week because the hotel is located in a corporate park setting. Our rates increased by $10 on Sunday night, however, they were still reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphcofl, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We strive to exceed our customers expectations each and every visit. We are glad that we did so on this visit. We look forward to surpassing your expectations on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
12.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Address: 8210 Hidden River Pkwy, Tampa, FL 33637-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#5 Family Hotel in Tampa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#8 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get in touch with nature and get to know the rich cultural heritage of Tampa, the heart and pulse of the Tampa Bay area including St. Petersburg and Clearwater. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-North offers a free local shuttle service to area attractions and corporate businesses in and around the area. Our award-winning hotel provides excellent service and accommodations; we are located just off I-75 in a quiet, natural preserve business district called Hidden River Corporate Park.Step out your door and prepare for adventure, because our hotel in Tampa is only about a mile from the Wilderness Park reserve, and less than five minutes from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. Find more family activities in the nearby Channelside District, an entertainment-dining multiplex just east of downtown that is home to the Florida Aquarium, a glass-domed marine wonderland. Our hotel in Tampa also makes it easy to delve into history at Tampa Bay History Center; get a taste of the local Cuban culture in Ybor City; and enjoy the nightlife in the SoHo district. Stop by the front desk, and our Tampa hotel team will offer insightful tips on the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tampa - North
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing