We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Ranked #50 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

It's an airport hotel. It was clean, a bit of a musty smell in the room, but bed and bath were clean. Be sure to put the "do not disturb" sign in the key slot. Housekeeping knocked on the door at 8 a.m.. The pool is very small and sits in the middle of the parking lot, so not somewhere you'd sit to relax. The bed was very comfortable and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippiechickinsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate you staying with us and we hope you will come back to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    186
    100
    63
    22
See reviews for
142
189
32
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Convenient location to the airport and University of Tampa, friendly staff, and a good price. I would recomment it, and I would stay here again when in the area. Glad they take Hilton points as well, that helps. I did not use the gym or pool, so I can't speak to those facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank BFGDIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your input we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Good location to airport, after a long haul flight, comfy bed and pillows. Reception staff very helpful and friendly, continential breakfast adequate - well stocked, we would stay here again for overnight visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrymcsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here for one night before our cruise out of Tampa. The information desk at the airport rang to arrange a shuttle. The shuttle arrived within 10 minutes and it was only about a 5 minutes drive or so to the hotel from there. We checked in quickly and we were given information about the free wifi and somewhere to eat. The only place nearby is Bahama Breeze. We tried to eat there but it was a Saturday night and it was extremely busy. The wait time was about 90 minutes for a table and after a long flight from the UK we did not want to wait. We took the take out option which we waited about 30 minutes for. The food was delicious when we ate it back in our room. Bahama Breeze is about a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

The room itself was ok. One of the beds was not very clean but the other was and we only needed one bed so that was ok and we didn't report it. Unfortunately the allocated room was on the ground floor near to the exit which I did not like but it was ok as we were only there for 1 night.

Breakfast the next morning was good and I enjoyed learning how to use the waffle machine and they tasted good.

The pool was small but ok for a brief visit to sit outside in the sun before check out.

We booked a shuttle to the cruise port on check in for 11am. We were still waiting for them to return about 40 minutes later as they were very busy taking people at 11am but it was ok and probably better timing to arrive later anyway as there was a huge line at the terminal just to get inside the terminal to try and check in.

Staff were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, guest input helps us improve future customer experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have to say i, checked in with Greg at the front desk and he was so nice he was on the phone with the customer trying to cancel there reservation for that night and the customer was yelling on the phone and greg was just as nice as can be. He had a great disposition about he and handled himself wonderful. I have stayed at this hotel several times and the people here are great. I have to give this hotel a pat on the back cause you can tell the management has changed and it has changed for the better. Also the last time i was here Geno at the front desk was so helpful and so was masrina i think that is how you spell her name Thank you guys can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Hampton Inn at Rocky Point is situated in a nice, quiet location being convenient for the airport and quick access to the main road leading to St Petersburg/Clearwater.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and breakfast was adequate but as others have attested on this site, the hotel in general is starting to look fairly tatty with worn carpets and dowdy furnishings. A complete refurbishment is apparently due and it cannot come soon enough to bring this hotel up to the usual Hampton standards.

This hotel does offer the bonus of a welcome complimentary shuttle service between the airport and the hotel. However, bear in mind that the hotel does not appear on the hotel contact board in the airport so you will either have to ring them yourself when you arrive or ask the helpful Information Desk at the airport to ring on your behalf. Also, be aware that there are several Hampton Inns in Tampa and they use different shuttle buses so don't assume that the one that arrives will actually be going to your hotel - be sure to check with the driver first.

If you are considering a stay of one or two nights, perhaps prior to or after a cruise, then this would be ideal but for a longer stay then I would consider elsewhere until refurbishment has been completed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
I appreciate that you took the time to post a review, we have started renovations in all public area and will be started the rooms next. This will be a full renovation, we hope you come back and stay with us and enjoy the new and improved Hampton Inn Rocky Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were traveling with a group of 13 on the NCL Dawn. leaving from Tampa on 4/13/2014. We have stayed here 2 previous times and told everyone in our group this is the place to stay!
We purchased the stay and park option, it included our overnight accomodations, transfers to and from the cruise port and parking for 7 days. The price is reasonable, and the rooms and the rest of the hotel is top-notch! I can't say enough about the staff...from my many phone calls before we arrived (to keep adding rooms to our reservations) to the front desk staff that welcomed us so professional and helpful...and the upgrades to the lobby and breakfast areas were great. (the breakfast buffet was hot and plentiful!)

If you are looking for a great place to stay during your travels to Tampa, don't hesitate to book your room at this Hampton Inn! You can bet when we come back to Tampa, we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioGirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Google Translation
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.2 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#111 of 163 in Tampa
733 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#40 of 163 in Tampa
711 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Address: 3035 N Rocky Point Dr E, Tampa, FL 33607-5802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing