We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed here many times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Ranked #52 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stayed here many times”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is what you would expect from a standard Hampton. Parking is easy and there is more behind the hotel if needed. There also is a Bahama Breeze restaurant that also has an outside bar you can walk to from the hotel. I have been here maybe 3 times in the last few months.
The first time I went to use the ironing board and it was one of those tiny little ones that go on the top of the bed which I thought was odd. The other two times I have full size ironing boards so not sure what was up with that. I will stay here again and they are usually the cheapest option in this area near the airport. I come for work every couple of weeks. The other thing I like is you are not that far from the beach and places to go hang out and eat because you are right off of one of the roads that go to clear water. The free breakfast has always been what I needed for a free breakfast. You should be fine staying here for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TurboRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    183
    98
    61
    22
See reviews for
138
186
31
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aruba
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked the Hampton Inn for a Pre-cruise, booked on hotels.com, $65 a night plus tax, i feel that we got way beyond the value, the hotel is updated, personable, clean and they offer lots of service for cruise passengers....our room was 2 double beds, i cloud beds, new, and fabulous linens....we all slept good, rested and ready for our cruise....the breakfast was way beyond just any hotel breakfast, there was something for everyone, and lots of it, i really don't understand how anyone can really dislike and complain about this hotel, unfort. my rental car got hit in the parking lot, and they (manager and assnt. manager) were very accomdating about calling the police for a report and making sure that the situation was handled...would def. stay here again for a night or two if i was in the area.....

Room Tip: room 415 was new, updated and smelled soooo clean inside when we entered!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caribbeancrazy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Hampton Inn provided us a great service by allowing us to leave our car while we went on a five day cruise. We stayed overnight then a shuttle (private contractor) took us to the Port of Tampa for our cruise. Our car was perfectly safe in the hotel parking lot for 5 days.
The breakfast was scrumptious. The staff (from the Front Desk to the breakfast attendants) are very courteous and helpful.
Rocky Point is a little isolated from large grocery stores - there is a tiny convenience store in the nearby housing complex. You have to get on the highway to visit attractions or stores.
This hotel is a very good deal for cruisers - can't beat the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinHazelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A Hampton Inn is a Hampton Inn as we all know. This was a Hampton Inn. It had the usual comfy beds and curved shower rail and the usual breakfast. To be honest, having flown in from the UK it was all we needed. However, across the car park was a Bahama Breeze where we enjoyed a really good dinner and live music in the outdoor bar area. We kind of forgot that we were four hours adrift timewise and stayed up till 11 p.m. (trust me, that was late for us on the first night). An added bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manytravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Ok for my needs, though out of 5 families we all got different Pre-cruise rates! Room was good, Food was typical Hotel Fair. We felt very comfortable leaving our vehicles parked for the week and the staff was helpful when asked though did not go out of their way to offer expertise. Would probably go closer to port if cruised again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 901LisaC901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here in mid-March for 3 nights to attend a conference in Tampa.

Likes
* Very inexpensive ($85 / night, 1/3 cost of conference hotel)
* Room was clean
* Free Wi-Fi, reasonable speed
* Free parking
* Free breakfast which was typical of Hampton Inns
* Reasonably comfortable bed, mediocre pillows
* Guest laundry available (did not use)
* In room single serving coffee maker

Dislikes
* Room and décor a little dated but not a big deal
* Trim (door, tiles) in bathroom a little beat up
* Noisy A/C unit and thin walls
* Low water pressure
* Middle of business park, not near any stores (Bahama Breeze restaurant nearby)
* No in-room safe
* Smallest toilet seat I have ever used (and I am not even overweight)

Summary
As I was in conference all day, only used hotel for breakfast, Wi-Fi to catch up on work in the evenings and to sleep. Shortcomings are reasonable for the price. Need a car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KermitNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank You for your feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I'm the type of person that doesn't have unreasonable expectations for a hotel -- a place to lay my head for the night. The fancy things are nice to have but aren't a requirement. However, the front desk clerk at this hotel didn't understand when Expedia requested that we be allowed to keep our car in the parking lot during the cruise. The request was on the reservation we presented to the front desk, but the manager insisted we pay $80 extra. We were already in Tampa, and my traveling companion didn't want to look for another hotel. So, we paid the extra $80 to the hotel. Expedia took responsibility for the hotel employee's error and agreed to reimburse us the $80. The breakfast buffet was food and the swimming pool was wet. But, I don't understand why a hotel who lives and dies by customer service could be so ignorant and unprofessional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBugNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We pride ourselves in warm friendly service and I apologize for initial miscomunication that took place with our front office manager. We're working with our third-party services and staff to ensure offerings are clear and that we're doing all we can to accommodate our guests. Thank you for sharing your comments with us so we can ensure such issues do not continue in the future. We hope that you'll give us another chance to show you the Hamptonality we typically exude.

Kind regards,
Dennis B. Fortier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.2 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#109 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#36 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#75 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Address: 3035 N Rocky Point Dr E, Tampa, FL 33607-5802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing