We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I am a Hampton Fan....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Ranked #56 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“I am a Hampton Fan....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Here are the pros and cons of our stay. I would actually rate this hotel at 3 1/2 out of 5.
Pros: Price point, location to airport, comfortable beds, outside pool, breakfast included. To elaborate a bit more, compare prices and see what you get. There is good value here. Close to the airport, we could see the planes arriving and departing in the distance through our window, but we didn't hear any planes and did not bother us sleeping. Breakfast had a variety of choices. Cold cereals, oranges, apples, pears, bananas, fruit salad, yogurt, waffle maker, scrambled eggs, ham/bacon, and of course your hot drinks as well as milk, apple, and orange juice.

Cons: One of the elevators was broken the week we were there. Wouldn't have mentioned it except after it was supposed to be fixed, my wife tried it only to have the door remain half open as it went up to the 4th. We took the stairs the remainder of our stay. Pool was small. One entrance to the pool area had yellow caution tape which was never fixed during our 8 day stay. Our entrance cards lost their charge, which we had to get recharged at the front desk.

There you have it- pros and cons of what to expect. I would stay there again due to the value in what we did receive, rather than focusing on the few negatives.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itching2Travel_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    150
    87
    56
    19
See reviews for
121
161
26
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salida
Level Contributor
543 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived late at night and were pleased to find that the hotel pays for the hotel from the airport. Although the taxi driver was less than pleased. No problems. We only stayed a few hours so it is difficult to provide a thorough evaluation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hampton Inn Rocky Point for one night prior to a cruise. They provided a shuttle from the airport to the hotel for free (although we left a tip) and to the cruise dock for $10/each. They do have some sort of cruise package which we did not use.

The hotel was reasonably clean and the room was spacious. The beds are comfortable and there was no ambient noise at night. The A/C worked well. The bathroom was about an 80% as there was the typical buildup of grime in a corner, although minor and a caulk job that was not done by a professional, also minor. Still, the bathroom was clean otherwise and we had no qualms about using it. Our view faced the road as opposed to the bay (the hotel is on a peninsula of sorts) but that was fine as we weren't there for any duration.

They have a continental breakfast which is pretty good with very good coffee. In fact, they have a “coffee bar” going 24 hours a day, so if you had a craving for coffee at 3AM, this would be the place for you!

The people behind the desk were all very friendly and did whatever they could do to help. The shuttle they have subcontracted was also good. There is a restaurant almost next door that specializes in Jamaican food. It was very loud and we did not like it.

So, although this is not a fancy hotel one would write home about, it was convenient, clean and comfortable and that was all I expected. As a stopover place prior to a cruise, it worked out perfectly. One note: although I grew up with Boston driving, the ride to the airport was through a densely populated city and even a GPS would have been difficult to follow. Hire a shuttle or get a cab.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Recon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hotel offers no-charge/courtesy pick up at Tampa airport - main reason we booked. NO signage on van other than unreadable paper hotel name on windshield. We were told we should have looked harder for signage.

Also, had stayed here in the past - they provided van service to local shopping center (again, another reason we booked at this hotel). No longer is this service provided

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We know that friendly service and convenient accommodations are very important to our guests. It's disheartening to hear this was not your experience. Your feedback lets us know we can have better signage visibility and that we need to reexamine our transportation services. I've also addressed the poor service experience you encountered when sharing your concerns. This is not typical nor acceptable and I sincerely apologize. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will come back to see us again.

Kind regards,
Dennis B. Fortier
dennis.fortier@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a copy of the feedback survey we filled out through the Hampton Inn/Hilton website (formatting may not work)....
Parking: After 10:00, only one spot left for us to park, and it was a tight fit. Others were sent to the Holiday Inn for parking.
Check-in: No fridge/micro as requested. Offered delivery that day or next day, "if available", per "Tina"(Augustina). Was delivered, eventually. Expected some priority service for room preference, being a Hilton Honors Silver member. Tina became somewhat argumentative and gave us the impression that were were unreasonablly demanding when we made a request for a fridge/micro room. Missing lightbulb between beds. Phone cord was tied and knotted around the base of the phone, apparently not observed by maid service to prepare the room for new guests. Hotel does not provide hair conditioner and we had to get it from the front desk when we needed some during our 6 night stay. Later during our stay, could not use phone to make an outside call. Needed maintenance. Asked the maid to attend to the room while we went to the guest laundry to do wash. Was gone about an hour and when we came back, room was still not done. Had to find a maid to take care of it while we waited in the lobby.
We were pleased with the helpfulness of Shawn, Ernst, and Stephanie (front desk), maintenance (who had to come to our room about a half dozen times). We were EXTREMELY disatisfied with the employee "Tina" (Augistina) at the front desk. During the many problems with check-in and maintenance problems, she was rude and curt with us. In one case, we were promised maintenance help and they didn't show. When we called the front desk again about 30 minutes later, Tina said there was a problem on the roof and they would respond when they were finished. When maintenance did show, we asked about the problem on the roof, but the employee said he wasn't aware of any problem on the roof. When the employee left, my husband turned to me and said, "I think we've been played". Also, we experienced hang-ups when we tried to call the front desk for maintenance help. When I went to the front desk to find out what was going on, Tina said she was having problems with the phone. Another employee told us later in our stay that the hotel had received complaints about her.

We are Choice Hotels premium members and, after a few great Hampton experiences, decided to switch to Hampton's. We gave them great reviews on Traveladvisor. (Hampton Tampa - eastside, Pendleton, Oregon - Seattle, Washington). After this experience, we may go back to the Choice Hotels. With the maintenance issues and in particular, the attitude of one employee in this hotel, we are not the loyal customers we hoped to be.

Room Tip: If it's not too far for you, the Tampa Eastside Hampton was GREAT when we stayed there about 2 y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonMaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis F, Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
At our hotel, we want each guest to expect friendly customer service and clean, comfortable surroundings, each and every time. I apologize that this was not your experience and can assure you we're taking your feedback very seriously. I've reviewed your comments with our staff on service missteps and areas of opportunity so we can improve our training processes and procedures. I've personally thanked Shawn, Ernst, and Stephanie for their commitment to hospitality and true representation of our friendly staff. Please feel free to contact me if you have any other comments or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrhead, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed for one night prior to an early morning flight. The hotel is close to the airport, check in was easy, room was clean and quiet. The pool was small and cold, but in a sheltered area so you could enjoy the sun. Shuttle runs on the hour starting at 5 am, breakfast also started at 5, night front desk staff was most helpful. The hotel looked a bit tired and dated and could use some upgrades and paint, but is clean and the price and location are a good deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CF1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis F, Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
While you're our guest, we expect you to be greeted with friendly service and surrounded by comfort. I apologize that this was not your experience and we're sharing your feedback with our staff so we can address these issues with our housekeeping, maintenance and front office teams. We hope that you'll give us a second chance for a much better stay. Please feel free to contact me if you have any additional comments.

Dennis Fortier
dennis.fortier@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHIGAN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Hampton Inn Rocky Point in Tampa is consistent with our experience with other stays at other Hampton Inns. The room was comfortable and clean. The hotel hallways and lobby shows some signs of needing upgrades. The location was convenient to the airport as advertised but a little difficult to locate when you get in the general area of the hotel. Also the pictures posted on Tripadvisor and the Hampton Inn site would make you believe that you are on Tampa Bay. Not quite. You can see the bay which is on the other side of a major 4 to 6 lane highway. The best part of the location was its proximity (a short walk across the parking lot) to the Bahama Breeze restaurant. (See review here on Tripadvisor)

Room Tip: Not all of their rooms have refrigerators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bayoumanMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank You for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
0.4 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#60 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#108 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#30 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Address: 3035 N Rocky Point Dr E, Tampa, FL 33607-5802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing