We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Choice for a cruise package or otherwise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Ranked #49 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice for a cruise package or otherwise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Overview: Purchased the king bed suite for two Sept 18th, 19th Cruise Package. Not sure why this hotel only has two and a half stars it deserves much much more. The value can`t be beat; literally its a steal.

Value: 109 usd. + tax for the cruise package gives a total of one nights stay pre cruise, clean rooms, a shuttle to/from the airpot and a shuttle anywhere within 4 miles, continental breakfast (with a server), a gym, free wifi, pool.

Room/accomodations: Originally we were given a handicapped king suite that was readily available and it was immacualte with a bonus extra large walk in shower and huge bathroom- unfortuantely there wasan issue withthe lock on the door a few hrs but this was resolved quickly and we moved to a king study which was also immaculately clean. The air and heat controls were good. The bed is amazzzzzzinnnggggly comfortable. The room came with a couch set, large desk, flat screen tv and a mini fridge with lots of storage. No issues with noise and we were on the first floor near the main back door.

Location: Rocky Point is a little secluded; beautiful but not much around in terms of shopping but the shuttle makes itpossible if you are not driving to get around to malls etc and restaurants - i.e, bahama breeze is located two parking lots behind the hotel and is soooooo good....must try if your staying there.

Continental Breakfast: very good - bagels, toast, all kinds of coffee, tea, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal bars, waffle station - the eggs and sausages were questionable but not horrible. There isalso a nice lady who will set your table and basically there to assist etc. To the server on the morning of sept 19th (im sorry i dont remember your name) thanks for being so cheerful and accomodating; we both appreciated your help.

Shuttle Service: The shuttle can be a little swamped at times but the drivers were very accomodating, we weredropped off at the west shore mall and picked back up promptly, wereable to stop off at wallgreens and pick up our wine etc and hewaited, on our return from the cruise we waited 20 min top(but we didnt call either) - we were also able to leave our luggage in the front desk room and go out on our own due to a late flight and we were still given a shuttle to theairport later on in the day.

Front Desk service:

The girls at the front were very nice and professional; however they seemed quite swammed at times as only oneperson was working at a time - there is clearly lots of paper work etc plus answering the phones but overall they do a great job - thanks for all your hard work .

All in all a great choice; hope the reviews go up for this great stay!

Room Tip: the king suite handicapped room on the 1st floor - if you happen to get this room just by chance bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, December 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future when you are traveling in the Tampa Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    181
    96
    60
    21
See reviews for
136
186
31
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

My family and I stayed here in 2010 on the park and stay cruise package. You get to leave your car here and they take you to and from the port and it costs the same as just parking at the port so really good value. The rooms are excellent. Very clean and beautiful decoration. Massive comfortable beds - best I have slept in abroad in 30 years of travelling.
Hotel very nice and the complimentary breakfast is good too.There is a bar opposite where you can get a drink and food although we were there on a Friday and it was busy.

Our only complaint was the port transfers - going from the hotel to the port was great but the collection was awful - we waited 1 1/2 hours for the minibus. We called many times but was told they were busy - if I went here again, which I would, I would get a taxi for the return from port journey.

Room Tip: The whole area appears ok and quiet at night. Soi I think all rooms would probably be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline270965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, December 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future when you are traveling in the Tampa Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We chose this hotel for our 1 night stay before our cruise. Great hotel.... We got the cruise package which included a one night stay, parking for the whole week, and shuttle service to and from the port.... Would highly recommend this place.... Very clean and great service!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samantharaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, December 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future when you are traveling in the Tampa Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Let me begin by giving you a heads up that this hotel is not exactly on the water. In fact, even the "pool" is more or less a bird bath, so for those looking to enjoy a quick swim or a sunset on the bay or Gulf, you could be disappointed. That said, I liked the location and especially the price. Rocky point is pretty much as close to the airport as you can be without staying in an "airport hotel." You have a few options on the island, but this is the one I stayed in, so I cannot vouch for the others. Actually, I could see the bay from my room and since it's on 60, you just take 60 west and you'll be in beautiful Clearwater Beach; no GPS required - it is 15 miles to the beaches, but a straight shot and a beautiful drive. It's sort of a compromise, right in between the airport and the water. The staff was friendly, and I enjoyed the breakfast. Also the Bahama Breeze restaurant is literally just across the rear parking lot, and I liked Crabby Bill's across the highway too. It's all of those little things that boosted my review from 3 to 4 stars. I recommend it if you want proximity to the airport, but want to be a little closer to the beaches. I've read other reviews where travelers were using it for a pre-cruise stay, and that seems like a no-brainer, great value to me.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, December 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future when you are traveling in the Tampa Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We came to Tampa for a cruise. We stayed at this hotel because of the great service we received in March 2011. We also had our daughter, soon to be husband and his parents stay at this hotel prior to their cruise on September 1. The clerk on duty when we arrived remembered me from March when we were here. I would Highly recommend this hotel and anytime I'm in Tampa this is the place to stay>

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clydesdale229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, December 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future when you are traveling in the Tampa Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolph, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We did a pre-cruise stay in March 2011. Complimentary shuttle service from Tampa airport to the hotel. Continental breakfast was the usual fare, cereal, waffles, toast/bagels, juice, coffee, yogurt. Very clean hotel; staff extremely friendly and accommodating. This is definitely the hotel for pre-cruisers; so much activity the morning of the cruise! Rooms were comfortable and clean. We got in late on Saturday night, so there was no time to see the pool or any other activities. Kid friendly hotel--lots of families, yet it wasn't noisy. The hotel does have a shuttle service to the port of Tampa--which I would definitely recommend because it's really wild at the port on cruising day!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanlover1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, December 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future when you are traveling in the Tampa Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We used the cruise package for a one night stay and transportation to/from the airport and cruise port. The hotel was clean and the employees were friendly. It's not especially near anything, so unless you have a car, it's not practical for actually visiting Tampa, but it was good for our one night pre-cruise stay. Our only complaint would be that the hotel lists "Complimentary transportation within a four mile radius of the Hampton Inn" as one of the services... but it was clearly very difficult for them to manage this along with airport pickups with just one van driver. Our group of four had to wait quite a while to get taken to a local store to purchase supplies for our cruise, and didn't have any trouble getting picked back up, but we're aware that other groups were stranded at their shopping location for an hour or more. The poor driver was run ragged going back and forth between various local stores and the airport. Our pickup from the cruise port was seamless, and they had several vans running to get the various groups to their locations.

Room Tip: Use your Hilton HHonors membership number to make your reservation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LRSLAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, December 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future when you are traveling in the Tampa Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.2 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#109 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#38 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#71 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Address: 3035 North Rocky Point Drive E., Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing