We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Ranked #57 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located, clean, efficient, comfortable, and staffed with friendly people. There is a Star Bucks coffee shop inside with different food stuffs (we ordered a chicken cesar wrap that was delicious and huge- two people can easily make a meal if it).
What else do you need in a hotel?
I have no problem in recommending this very nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for your great comments and score. All reviews are appreciated but when you get a review from an individual that has travelled and reviewed so many other properties you know that our property must stand out as a positive guest stay experience! Hopefully we will see you in the near future. Thank you and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 441 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Good pool, spa and enclosed basketball net are behind a decent lobby/bar staffed by very friendly people. Rooms weren't anything too fancy but nice and clean. It was a short walk to a few good restaurants. They have a courtesy shuttle to take you within 2 miles of the hotel but it won't take you to the airport which is a $25 flat fee cab ride.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for the positive review. I am so glad that you were able to check out so many of the hotel amenities. We do have a great pool, bar and BBQ area with a basketball court. We hope to see you again in the near future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with a small group for business. The hotel was very convenient to get to. We chose the valet parking and they were very prompt in getting our car each morning. They provided a free shuttle to anywhere within a 2 mile radius. We took the shuttle each evening and Larry the driver was awesome! He was very friendly and even recommended restaurants for us that were wonderful. My room was very nice and the bed was so comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, our shuttle is great to use and can take you anywhere in a 2- mile radius of the hotel. This comes close to covering all of downtown area! Again, thank you for your kind comments and I will let Larry know what a great job he is doing. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

the front desk workers were awesome! they helped out find transportation between our car rental, cruise terminal and finally back the airport. The room was very nice and we enjoyed the view. The hot tub closed sooner than we would've like and the hours are posted differently than listed in the amenities book. We enjoyed the big screen search feature and the internet access helped us keep our trip manageable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeidiMarie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you so much for the great comments on the staff. I will pass them along to the team especially the front desk staff! I am glad that you had a great experience at the hotel and we hope to see you again when you are back in Tampa. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The staff was amazing and the hotel was in a great location. The staff was very attentive and always willing to help, one of the best stays i have ever had ! I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to downtown tampa.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyC_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review. I will share your comments with the team and we hope to see you again in the near future! Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I had a business meeting in Tampa at the same time that a huge convention was going on so the choice of hotels was slim. We chose to stay at this hotel because of the Marriott brand, which is our favorite but we were not impressed. The staff was really friendly but the hotel itself leaves a lot to be desired, it was ***very** loud in our room, we could hear the traffic, and the extremely loud train that beeped the horn numerous times while going by at 3am, even the toilet was noisy. The mattress in our room was extremely firm, it seriously needed a pillow top, both of our necks and shoulders were sore for days; between the uncomfortable bed and the immense noise neither of us got any rest. The internet is slow for a business hotel, the parking situation is less than ideal, the cars are parked a block away, there is valet service but it can get pretty busy during certain times of day. The hotel does provide complimentary shuttle services for the 2 miles around the property which is really convenient. The hotel has a bar and a "restaurant" which I think was the most disappointing part of the stay, the lady tending the bar was eating (sneaking food) while patrons were present. The food quality was poor, my husband had the Caesar salad and it had old, soggy leaves in it that should not have been served, the hummus (only vegan option on the menu) seemed to still be frozen and the veggies that accompanied it, were not fresh. There is a breakfast bar/area but it closes by 10 am (I believe) and there is no way place to order coffee or tea in the hotel (the room has a coffeemaker).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrokerPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you found the staff to be friendly. I am sorry that we fell short in a couple of areas that you mentioned. Even though we are downtown we normally do not have a "noise" issue. It makes me wonder that maybe your widow was not fully closed and allowed in some of the outside noise. That is speculation but is not something that we normally hear from our guest. As far as the meal you recieved at our Bistro I do apologize. Our food options and the quality are generally very good. I hope that you mentioned that to your server or one of our staff members so that and adjustment could be made. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to improving on the areas that you mentioned. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The staff (front desk, bell staff, Bistro, cleaning) were all friendly, warm and competent. All areas (including staircase and fitness center) were clean and attractive. Good sound insulation (our room was next to the elevator but we heard no noise at all). Location is great, and the free shuttle bus services took us quickly to destination points such as a law office (the purpose of the trip to Tampa) and Waterfront. Breakfast offered many healthy choices. I would definitely stay here again if I go back to Tampa. Because of the nature of this trip (business), I didn't get to go to the museum, children's museum, library or performing arts center that are so close by.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk on check-in what you want. For example, they found two rooms next to each other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for sharing your positive experience. As mentioned in your review, our location and proximity has great access to all of downtown! We hope to see you back in the near future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#22 of 164 in Tampa
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 164 in Tampa
1,503 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tampa Downtown

Address: 102 E Cass St, Tampa, FL 33602-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Tampa
#41 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#44 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $139 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Courtyard Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Courtyard
Tampa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing