We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Tampa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Ranked #46 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a tournament that I was attending. Great location. The hotel is right on the water and across the street from the convention center. The hotel is very modern looking. When we checked in the the staff was very friendly. The only problem our keys did not work not only on the first day but the second day as well. The resturant was very good. It was a buffet with chicken fingers, hamburgers, salad and other things. The staff in the resturant were great even though we got there late. It is great for kids and I was traveling with a lot of them. The hotel is a little pricey but you are paying for convenience. The hotel comes with a safe wihich is great. My only complaint I did not care for the beds. They were very small to sleep with two people. The only other negative thing I can say is that you have to pay for parking.

Room Tip: try out the resturant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for the good review! Hope the team had great tournament and we look forward to your return. As for the fee for parking, we are in downtown in a major US city so parking is tight. With that said, we are on the cheaper end of all the other hotels located downtown. Again, it sounds like you had a good hotel experience and we hope to see you in the near future! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    150
    68
    18
    7
See reviews for
74
82
23
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed there one night before taking a cruise and this was an excellent short stay hotel. The bed was comfortable and very little road noise, but I am also a sound sleeper and I was tired after a long flight.

The staff at the reception were very friendly and got me a cab late night when I wanted to grab something to eat! My room had free wifi, which worked and I had no issues.

This place is also $20 cab ride away from the airport and they have a free shuttle to the cruise terminals. The shuttles book up fast, so book ahead. I was lucky & got the last spot.

Not a lot close to this hotel, but if you walk a few blocks, there are lots of food options and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrabhuTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the great review. As you can see from the other reviews we are a great choice for people going out to the cruise ship port! I am glad that you found the staff and the hotel to your liking. I will pass along your comments to the team. We hope to see you back for a cruise or travel in the future. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here while we brought our daughter to see UT. Close to school and shuttle around town was excellent features however not much else to do around this area of town and bed was not comfortable. Room had a musty smell almost like an old cigarette smell on the bedding otherwise everything else was fine.

Room Tip: found a great restaurant named "bavarro" or something like that. I think that was the na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyofsixNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Ok is good but we are striving for a great experience! As mentioned, we are extremely close to the University of Tampa campus at less than a 5 minute walk. I do apologize that you found that our location was only ok. We are only three blocks from the center of downtown and have a lot within walking distance not to mention our shuttle that can services the rest of downtown. Please give us another shot when you came to town and give us another chance to change your perception of about our great location to the university, restaurants, and attractions near the hotel. Safe travels and we hope to see you when you come back to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff at this location was amazing. They were all friendly and outgoing. The room was outstanding. It was clean and quite large. The bed was extremely comfortable (a rare find at most chain hotels.)

There is a small bar and bistro-type restaurant in the main lobby, but we did not use either - although they were quite busy.

A free shuttle is offered for guests, which we took to the Tampa Bay Times Forum to see a hockey game. Having someone else navigate the busy city streets made for a relaxing trip.

We paid $95 on hotels.com and will gladly be back when we go see the Lightning play.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FL_Adrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the great comments about the staff and your stay. As you mentioned we are very close to the Times Forum for the hockey games as well as concerts. I am glad that you had a great experience and we look forward to your return. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, QC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed there on our way back from a cruise. They picked us up at the cruise ship terminal. Their shuttle is pretty recent and kept clean. They taxied us to Ybor City and back. Nice place.

The hotel has a nice modern look. The rooms are comfortable and inviting. The wifi coverage is not good though.

The restaurant in the hotel is basic: OK for a breakfast but go elsewhere for lunch or dinner. We went to a nearby pizza place and it was really good.

They arranged a late check out for us since our flight back home was late afternoon. The service was pretty good.

We would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for the good review. We host so many people going out on the cruises. As you mentioned, being located downtown with the cruise ship port our hotel shuttle can drop you off at the cruise terminal in the matter of a couple of minutes. It reaaly saves on the cost of a cab especially with all the luggage! Glad you got a chance to eat at our Bistro. We have some great options for both breakfast and dinner not to mention Starbucks coffee! Thanks again and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed in this hotel last week for a NHL hockey game. About a 20 minute walk to the arena. If you are a family - do not stay here! They promise you extra towels, a cot, anything you want and do not deliver! They cater to couples or business travellers. They are not really interested in accomodating families!

Room Tip: Good for couples or business! Not for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadarocks905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
CanadaRocks,

I do apologize that you were disappointed that you did not receieve a roll-away bed. I can asure you though we are made for not only business travelers but families as well. Families are most of our business on weekends due to our proximity to the cruise ship port. As you can see from previous reviews we do a grea job in that area. Unfortunately, we have only a limited number of roll-away beds for use. All our King rooms have hide-away beds in the sofa and our other rooms have two double beds. So there is not a big need nor a lot of extra space to place the few roll-aways that we have on property that are esentially a request not a gaurantee. Again, sorry that we could not meet your request for the roll-way bed and hope to see you again in the future. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a nice hotel, but I was a little freaked out by the cleaning of the room. First my child found a cell phone that had been lost on New Years weekend and there was a dirty pair of underwear under our bed. Gross

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for the nice hotel comment but I am extremely sorry and embarrased due to the cleaniliness issue you have brought to our attention. As you can see from most of our previous reviews this is issue is extremely rare. I do apologize and will follow-up with our houekeeping management and team so that this issue will be resolved. Again, I am grateful that it seems that this issue did not affect the areas of the hotel we excelled in but will address the issue of concern. Thank you and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#13 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#68 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tampa Downtown

Property: Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Address: 102 E Cass St, Tampa, FL 33602-3707
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Tampa
#41 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#44 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Marriott
Tampa Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing