We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean in/out hotel...great for pre-post cruise...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Ranked #57 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here one night prior to our cruise and would recommend it to others...it's a friendly and clean hotel with the basic amenities and service, and a nice bargain for the price. Free shuttle to the cruise port and within a 2 mile radius. Has a small pool, two nice hot tubs and a basic gym. Because hotel is small with limited amenities, I wouldn't recommend for longer stays but overall nice value close to some of Tampa's attractions.

Room Tip: Courtyard-facing room recommended as front of hotel is on busy, downtown street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margozinha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments on your hotel experience. We love our cruise passengers here at the hotel and as you noted we are one of only a few hotels that offer free transportation to the cruise ship port. Thanks for the helpful tips to our future guests. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 440 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for New Year's Eve. Rate was far better than any of the other hotels in the area. The entire staff went out of their way to offer friendly, gracious service. (Towels arrived in less than 5 min, front desk arranged van service pronto, etc). Rooms have all been recently renovated--however, stains on carpeting in room, furniture already looking worn. Rooms located away from elevators & vending are also located closer to either 1 of 2 roadways that have heavy traffic. Our room overlooked pool, & the traffic was to our left. The water from the pool seemed to increase the sounds of traffic---all night long.
Housekeeping needs a few lessons in basic cleaning. Furniture surfaces were dusty, top of tub (corners where tub meets wall tile) were dusty. Wiped across the top of the shower curtain rod (wanted to drape my towel across it) & the towel picked up a bunch of black residue. Wiped it 5 or 6 more times until towel no longer picked up any black stuff. The front of A.C. Vent had thick dust balls poking through. We could only imagine what it looked like on the inside....we didn't turn our A.C. on at all. Sink area really needed a shelf or a few hooks for hanging/holding necessities.
Probably won't return. Too noisy for us and not very clean

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your input on your stay. We pride ourselves on our customer service and our cleanliness here at the hotel. I am sorry that you felt we fell short in one of those areas. We appreciate any comments that can make us better and we will make sure that we have that addressed for our future guests. As you can see from other reviews this truly is the exception and have a strong history of positive reviews. Thank you and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My employer General RV was taking part in the Greater Tampa RV show and we all camped out for 5-7 nights at the Courtyard. It was clean and comfortable the staff friendly and the daily breakfast buffet ample and tasty.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank machspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you so much for the positive comments on your recent stay. I have passed along your comments to the staff and I have to agree that it is the people that make the hotel experience! As you mentioned, the hotel shuttle can take you anywhere in the downtown area especially if you don't feel like walking and exploring the city in that manor. Thanks for the helpful tips. Safe travels and we hope to have you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here during our visit to Tampa for the Children's Gasparilla Parade weekend. Great hotel. Standard double-double rooms have enough space for a rollaway bed. Complimentary refrigerators are available as well. Our sons appreciated the basketball court in the back. As other reviewers have said, the only parking is valet, but the staff is friendly and efficient. We left our car parked most of our visit and used the complimentary shuttle to navigate the city. The hotel is located near the performing arts center, the children's art museum and the riverwalk. The staff was the best aspect of the hotel. Kudos!

Room Tip: The sleeper sofa in a king room only folds out to a twin bed, not a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyTravelsOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you so much for the positive comments. I am biased, but I would agree with you that our staff is what seperates us from the rest! I am glad that you had a positive experience and were able to get out and see some of the special offerings that our downtown provides. Thank you and safe travels to you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent two nights here during a visit to Tampa. The hotel location is just outside downtown but it was perfect for us. It is a newer Courtyard design and the lobby/entry was nice. The only choice for parking was valet but that's not surprising for a city hotel. The charge was $12 a day and the valets were quick and friendly. Our room was on the top floor in a corner so it was quiet but for the "typical" city sounds. I thought the common areas appeared always in need of vacuuming - but it wasn't too bad. Our room was very spacious and nice. We did have to request shampoo from the desk as ours wasn't replenished during normal cleaning. I would stay here agin. But note the location - it is NOT in the center of downtown! But if you're going to the theater or don't mind a little walk to save some $$ - this is a good choice.

Room Tip: I'd select a room on the backside of the hotel - facing the Residence Inn. The front side is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Phil,

Thank you so much for the positive comments on your recent stay. I will follow-up on why you wre not replenshed on shampoo and conditioner and that should be an easy fix. I will have to take exception with you on your comments about not being "downtown". We are only 4 blocks from the center of downtown Tampa which is much closer than your review would indicate. But you are correct we are an excellent place to stay if going to the Performing Arts Center. Again, thank you for your comments and helpful tips. i hope to see you again in the near future. Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here with my sister over New Years and the Outback Bowl and it was a great experience! The staff was super friendly and helpful with questions of where to eat and transportation. There is a free shuttle that runs until 11pm and will pick you up and drop you off within 5 miles of the hotel, which was perfect for getting to different parts of town. Valet parking is $12 per 24 hours, but there's other parking in front of the building or across the street if you want to pay less (they do not have security though). The lobby was very very nice and they have a starbucks bar. No continental breakfast though. The whole public space is newly renovated and comfortable. The rooms are nice, but the bathrooms could use an update. Overall very good experience!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fletchco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you so much for all your positive comments on your recent stay. New Years and the Outback Bowl are an exciting time here in Tampa. I appreciate the positive feedback on the staff and our newly renovated property. Our hotel shuttle within the 2 mile radius covers all of downtown and is a great asset to our hotel. We hope to see you back in the future and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I've stayed regularly at the Courtyard in Tampa over the past seven or eight years. For much of the time it remained unchanged. A good basic hotel, convenient for downtown Tampa, but a little tired. It's been a while since I last stayed so time for changes to be implemented...

On my arrival I noticed a lot has changed. The reception, dining, and communal areas have all been given the "Courtyard" attention and are now bright and welcoming. The breakfast menu and style caters for both those that want to dine in and for those that want to grab and go.

The fitness room is very small, but now has newer equipment and functions fine - provided there are no more than 3-4 people wanting use of it at the same time. It's much improved over the old set up from several years ago.

The rooms are pretty much as they were but there's a more comfortable couch in the room. As ever, free internet access is welcomed.

In terms of value for money, I'd say the Courtyard does a great job. The staff are friendly and supportive. I'd stay again, no problem.

Room Tip: The hotel shares a pool with the Residence Inn at the back, so ask for a high floor, poolside room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you for noticing our renovation! returning guest have all been pleased. We are very excited about the new public space and the renovated guest rooms. It is great that you continue to use us as you travel to Tampa. We know you have many choices and are glad that you have always had a positive experience and even more so with our renovations. We hope to see you on your return trip and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#22 of 164 in Tampa
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 164 in Tampa
1,503 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tampa Downtown

Address: 102 E Cass St, Tampa, FL 33602-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Tampa
#41 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#44 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $139 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Courtyard
Tampa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing