We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A good restful stay after our cruise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Tampa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Ranked #56 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A good restful stay after our cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We did arrive before check in time, they were great getting our room early knowing we were tired. I did mention I was a marriott member-they usually try to upgrade if they can. I got a balcony at the front of the building overlooking the parking lot. Would of liked something better if their was but I didnt ask as we were tired. The room was clean, they had free continental breakfast which was nice and the room was reasonably priced. The pool was great and the kids enjoyed it alot. They must share amenties with their other marriott hotel beside them because when we mentioned if the hot tub was broken they said yes but we could use next doors which was nice. The staff seemed very nice and attentive some of the best I have seen. We would come back if next in Tampa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Tracy,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on our property. One of our specialties are the pre-cruise and post cruise experience. Several times a week we are busy transporting people to the port in our complimentary shuttle. We hope to see you again in the near future for your next cruise vacation out of Tampa! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    157
    72
    19
    10
See reviews for
76
88
24
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We booked this through Marriott.com for one night before our cruise. They have several special rates on their site, including one for cruise passengers which negated the cost of our transportation from the airport and to the port.

The staff was always super-friendly and helpful, and very accommodating. We arrived well before check-in time, but our room was ready. On Sunday my mom wanted to attend mass so they allowed us to have a late check-out.

The room was very clean and spacious with newly updated decor. Beds were nice, pillows not bad. There was a sink/vanity in the hallway outside of the bathroom (tub/shower and toilet). There was no safe in the room.

The hotel offered a breakfast buffet for a reasonable price, but we did not go (since we were getting on a cruise ship with tons of food!). Instead we bought a snack from their small "store" which had some packaged snacks, refrigerated and frozen items, toiletries, and a microwave. Of course the items were a bit pricy, but to be expected in a hotel.

They are renovating the lobby and interior by the pool so there were some strong adhesive odors. Our room also had a faint odor, though we couldn't figure out what it was and it was not a concern. Also the have (what I assume is) a newly renovated lobby with a bar, as well as another separate gathering space with comfortable seating and a large TV. There are two computer stations with a printer, too. It said Wi-Fi has a fee, but I was able to use my iPad to connect without charge, although the signal was very weak.

There is a mid-size pool, grill, picnic area, and small basketball court to the rear of the hotel. It was well-used, but did not appear crowded. There is another hotel (Residence Inn) connected to the pool area, so guests from both the Courtyard and Residence Inn utilize the spaces.

There are lots of restaurants within walking distance, as well as several museums. There was the Tampa Theatre which looked cool but we did not go--it's a vintage theater with new and classic movies as well as other events. The historic Ybor community was about 5 minutes away via the free shuttle. They dropped us off and picked us up when we called. The only problem was had was that when we called the shuttle phone number it went directly to voicemail. I was not expecting that, but when we called the hotel the man was able to transfer me to the shuttle driver so all was well.

Room Tip: The hotel is not that large, so there really would not be any views. I believe our room was on the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InternetBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night on business. The rooms at this hotel in the downtown area are spacious and nicely decorated and the front desk staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripperToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montverde, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I recently booked two nights while on a mini-vacation. I had concerns due to other reviews I had read, but booked anyway due to the location. I was very pleased with our stay. The room was neat and clean, the location was perfect, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We decided to stay an additional night!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights while working in the area. The hotel is adequate and the staff are friendly,

The rooms typical US hotel-chain style, which means they appear slightly dated and the bathroom was rather dingy and small.

The hotel is conveniently located however the area does not have much going on after hours and is completely deserted. Noted that the tram which goes through to Ybor City looks like it will be operational in the near future which will be a bonus.

The swimming pool and spa in the courtyard were a nice bonus.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joma71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Joma71,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your 4 night stay. I know that your last stay was "adequate" but I think we will have the "WOW" with your next stay. The hotel just completed a room renovation and public space renovation updating our lounge, lobby, and new restaurant! Also, next time please take advantage of our free hotel shuttle that can take you anywhere within a two mile radius of the hotel. This includes all of downtown and Ybor City which has some of the best nitelife in Tampa! Thanks again for your input and while your last stay was good... I know we will do better given all of our improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Clean and tidy, with good service. The hotel has a great location in downtown Tampa, near everything you need, convention centre, cruise terminal, river walk etc. The free shuttle bus within a two mile radius was great, you just hop on when you need and call the hotel when you need picking up - really handy gets you to most of the major things close by! The hotel had recently been upgraded and looked better for it and our room according to the receptionist had been refurbished and it was clean, nicely decorated and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lazy_beach_days88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed here four nights in the beginning of May. The hotel is conveniently located in the downtown Tampa within walking distance of several major attractions including the Convention center, aquarium, and, University of Tampa. The hotel also provides a free on demand shuttle within two mile radius. All you do is call them and they will pick-up/drop-off from 7 AM till 10 pm at night. Rooms are specious, bedding was very comfortable. Hotel staff was helpful & courteous. The first night I stayed in a room in the front of the hotel. I could hear street noise throughout night even though it was on the fourth floor. The following morning I spoke to the front desk (sorry, I can not remember name of the nice lady) & requested to move to the back of the hotel & was promptly offered another room. The only negative here was that the breakfast was not included in the room rate. If one must have breakfast, staying at the adjoining Residence Inn is a good option.

Room Tip: Please ask for rooms in the back of the hotel since they are away from street, less noisy & bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DivyangUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#53 of 161 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Floridan Palace Hotel
Floridan Palace Hotel
#95 of 161 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#16 of 161 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tampa Downtown

Property: Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Address: 102 E Cass St, Tampa, FL 33602-3707
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Tampa
#41 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#44 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Marriott
Tampa Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing