We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Ranked #39 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
OnondagaHill
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved our stay”
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and I couldn't have asked for a better hotel. The room was large with 2 King beds that were extremely comfortable with beautiful bedding. You will not find 2 king beds anywhere. The room had a large closet to stow your luggage, hang your clothes, etc. There was a coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave. the bathroom was beautiful with nice tile and beautiful lighting. I travel alot and this room was perfect. The hallways are nice and large. It was quiet and you could not hear any noise from other rooms. The pool was nice and there were tables and chairs to sit around the pool. There are ice machines. There is a free continental breakfast which consisted of eggs, bacon, sausage, bagels, bread, danishs, oatmeal, waffles, coffee, tea, juices, water, fresh fruit, bananas, apples, cut up oranges and grapefruit. The dining area was comfortable and nice decor right off the main lobby. The Front Desk people were extremely friendly and helpful. They can guide you to the many restaurants, etc. all nearby. There is a shuttle that will take you back and forth to Busch Gardens, and the shuttle drivers are a pleasure to talk too. They are always cleaning and working around the hotel. I will definitely return to this Wingate on my next visit to Tampa area. Well worth it 100%.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnondagaHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a positive experience here at the Wingate. We hope to see you again in the near future. -The Staff at Wingate By Wyndham Tampa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    394
    182
    78
    48
See reviews for
656
250
70
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Storrs, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I've stayed at a few other hotels since I stayed at this one and honestly, nothing great is coming to mind about. It was simply and average hotel. The staff was friendly, the location was convenient, and the free breakfast was good. The room was average looking though decently large. I've stayed at other Wyndams and was expecting a little more out of this one, but over all it was a good stay. I'm a Wyndham reward member and never got my free drink and snack, like I usually do. If in the area again, I might try out a new hotel, though would have no problems staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

The staff at hotel was fantastic. They took the time to talk to you and always made sure we were happy. Manuel the manager was very accommodating and helpful. Connie, Marie, Jessica were wonderful ladies who took care of all our transportation, ensured the complimentary breakfast (great selection) was always stocked and always welcomed us with a smile. The pool is small but big enough if your plan is to visit Busch Gardens. the whirlpool hot tub was welcoming in the evening after a busy day. The business center is convienent and open 24hrs. Hotel has all the amenities a family or couple would need. The location was also fantastic. Close to Busch Gardens, restaurants and shopping. Our entire family including grandparents loved this hotel. We felt we were at home at Wingate.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
We at the Wingate appreciate your taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Reviews like yours makes us strive to continue to offer exemplary service to all of our guests, and we certainly hope the experience at Wingate Tampa met and exceeded your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2010

After finding bugs in our OTHER hotel, this hotel graciously made accomodations for us. It was late and I was not expecting much. This hotel was extremely clean, the staff very professional and nice. I have already booked my next stay in September with them for parents weekend at USF. The shuttle service was great, complimentary to campus and to Busch Gardens, on time and courteous. Breakfast was nice, coffee hot and beds were the most comfy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisad3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
We were happy to be able to accomodate you and are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. We will certainly do our best to make your future stays just as pleasant as your first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2010

This is my third stay at the Wingate Inn at Tampa. I have had pleasant memories of my every stay at the hotel. It may not be the fancy 5 star hotel you are looking for, but it packs a punch all the same. The title to my review says it all. The manager and his staff are doing a great job at keeping the guests happy. Wingate is ranked 5th out of 158 properties in Tampa by Trip Advisor. Deserves every bit to be right up there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JawaharV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oviedo, florida, USA
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Our Little League baseball team and their families spent the weekend at the Wingate and had a great experience. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. There's a hot breakfast each morning, a decent work out room and pool and the rooms were nice and clean. My family will definitely stay here again when we are in the Tampa area.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Having set out from home in Naples, Fl, headed for Blue Ridge, Ga ahead of Tropical Storm Bonnie, the last thing we expected was car trouble. However, in the pouring rain, our brakes decided to quit working. We limped to Kaufmann Tire & were referred to the wingate by Wyndham in Tampa, Fl. Now that may see like a very logical maneuver, however, our travel party consisted of my wife, my self, my 87 year -old demented mother-in-law and the dog. What hotel on earth is going to accept that combo?? The Wingate manager & staff could not have been more accommodating in allowing us to "camp" until our truck had entire braking system replaced! We were stranded in a town w/no friends or acquaintenances to call upon & the Wingate fill the bill. I would all highly recommend the Wingate & their staff to any & all that inquire. They did not push us out of the room at required check-out time rather allowing my mother-in-law & wife to stay in the room until repairs completed. Kudos & accolades the the Wingate manager & his entire staff - he undoubtedly exemplifies the "innkeeper image" and definitely exceeded my customer expectation. I will absolutely include the Wingate in my future travel plans. Please feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skip49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Address: 3751 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing