We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traffic noise at front ....but still good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Traffic noise at front ....but still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This was our 4th stay in 4 years to visit Busch Gardens as a family and from past experience we know it is always a nice hotel, but that traffic noise can be audible if using rooms at the front. So when we booked via Expedia, we requested a room at the rear (which was clearly recorded on my copy invoice). On arrival though we were told there was 'no such request on file' and by now only front rooms were available. (Hmmm disappointing... because several Expedia requests to other hotels on our road trip worked fine?). Anyway it was still a good stay and they looked after us with friendly advice, discounted tickets for BG (thanks Merina) and shuttles to and from the Park. The elderly shuttle chauffeur even very kindly stayed beyond his shift to collect us after the fireworks ended - now that's top service! Yes, as expected, we could hear traffic above the a/c - but only from around 0730-0800am... so not too bad. Enjoyed the deeper than average pool again too.

Room Tip: Choose room at rear to avoid traffic noise especially early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishlakedistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zamiraR92, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you Englishlakedistrict for your kind words. I am terribly sorry that your request for a room on the backside of the building was not met. I will be checking with our representative from Expedia on why this request was not communicated. Did you know that most of the time the rates received through third parties are the same rates we have available through the hotel. By booking through us directly guests are able eliminate the middle man and we are better able to guarantee requests. We accept reservation via telephone (1-813-979-2828), email (wingateusf@gmail.com) and even fax (1-813-977-1818). Through these channels guests are also able to receive 10 reward points for every dollar they spend in the hotel. The points can then be redeemed for free nights through wyndhamrewards.com.

I am thrilled that the staff was able to make up for this with great customer service. Marina will be thrilled to see her name on yet another great review and I know your acknowledgement of Comsito's top-notch service will bring a smile to his face. They are both prime examples of how our does everything they can to put the guest first.

Thank you for your kind word and we hope to see you again next time you are in the Tampa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    348
    138
    55
    34
See reviews for
557
224
64
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I'm a wheelchair-bound veteran & student at USF, & live at ON50 (worst place ever). The elevator went out again (17AUG2014), & a friend convinced me to stay here. I was given a wheelchair-designed room, & my service dog was welcome. Very clean room & microwave/fridge combo. Breakfast was good, & started early. All the staff were very friendly. There was plenty of parking, a pool, hot tub, gym, & laundry service. None of the doors were really heavy, & the front door to the hotel is automatic. It was a stress-free, quiet two nights, which is exactly what I needed. I didn't want to leave. I will certainly stay there again.

Green Features: All the plates/cups/bowls are Styrofoam. In this day and age, I think a hotel needs to do more than just not wash your sheets and towels, before they call themselves 'environmentally friendly'.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frieden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zamiraR92, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you Frieden for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. Also, on behalf of the entire staff, thank you for your service. I am over joyed that you had a great stay with us. We take ADA regulation very seriously here. It is a pleasure to read a review that we met the mark. We hope to see you again if your elevator goes out or if you just need a night away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We've been here before and we will go back again. Front desk is very friendly and helpful with our questions. Pizza recommendation was fabulous and front desk had a huge assortment of night snacks. Easy to find, two minutes from Busch Gardens and also offers shuttle service should you need it. Rooms have always been very clean and comfortable. See you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moogie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zamiraR92, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you Moogie for your review of your most recent stay with us. We are very lucky here to be so close to so many great restaurants. I am thrilled to read that our front desk staff was able to suggest one of them to you. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The hotel was very clean, good variety of breakfast food. The staff very pleasant and helpful. Very glad they had a shuttle to take us to the attractions, saved us $ 18.00 dollar parking fee. Always very pleased with the Wyndham Group of Hotels.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zamiraR92, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you Pattie F for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am thrilled to read that you enjoy your stays at Wyndham hotels. Our staff works tirelessly to provide a Wyndham quality stay. We hope to see you again soon. Our shuttle will be waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa North - Busch Gardens
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Address: 3751 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing