We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel!! good breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Ranked #42 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed November 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for three days as part of our florida holiday. The location is good near to Busch Gardens and the hotel offers good value.
Nice breakfast buffet included (which is not the norm for the usa!) and free internet access which is good. The room was lovely and large and clean. Customer service was also good!
Dont be put off by dated decor in reception breakfast areas as doesnt reflect the quality of the rooms or food! -Overall a good value hotel to stay in for a few days whilst in Tampa

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jennifer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,416 - 1,422 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2008

We had a great stay here for 3 nights at the end of July. We had no trouble finding it, having driven from the airport after arriving from the UK. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and efficient. The breakfast was excellent and spoilt us for breakfasts at other hotels later on in our trip! There was a wide choice to suit most people, and we especially enjoyed the delicious strawberry compote and fresh fruits. We took advantage of the free minibus on 2 days to and from Busch Gardens - a great extra. The free internet access just off the lobby was a bonus.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and will definitely stay here again if (hopefully, when!) we return to Tampa.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sgin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst visiting Busch Gardens. Excellent place to stay. arrived five hours early and asked if we could drop our cases off, but was offered rooms which were already vacated. Lovely rooms, spacious, clean and within 20mins we were on the free shuttle bus to Busch ( approx 5mins journey ). Friendly staff who were only to willing to offer advice on were to eat etc, good breakfast and good pool. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Busch Gardens/Tampa area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Paula1968NorwichUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

My friend and I stayed at Wingate for 2 nights mainly because its proximity to Adventure Island and Busch Gardens, the shuttle service and the reviews of being a CLEAN hotel.

Check-in was a breeze and the daytime staff were great and really helpful. Our room was CLEAN and basic. The best part is the shuttle service the hotel provides. We do not drive and needed a hotel that offered this service, If we needed to return to the hotel they were a phone call away. We would call in advance and by the time we arrived at the entrance of the park the shuttle would be there. The shuttle will drive you anywhere within a 10 mile radius from the hotel. The only problem it stops at 8pm. Every morning they would offer a continental breakfast which was more than adequate.

Besides the amusement parks there really isn't much to do around the area. Everything closes at 10pm and you defintely need a car to get anywhere especially after the shuttle service ends. I would definitely stay here again on a short visit. This is not a 5 star hotel. So please do not go there with this expectation.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RosiNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

I went to the Wingate by Wyndham on Fowler Street on March 2008 and had a very pleasant stay. The staff is friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was perfect. The only little problem is the lack of restaurants nearby. Fortunately, the hotel offers a shuttle service which is very efficient. The driver will take you to a restaurant (or to Busch Gardens, for example) and bring you back to the hotel. Since I was traveling alone, I felt this was a very safe alternative.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Khalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We stayed at the Wingate by Wyndham in Tampa for 4 nights in March. We choose that hotel because of it's close proximity to Busch Gardens, and were not disappointed since it is only about a mile away. The hotel has a wonderful shuttle service that will take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius of the hotel and then pick you up when you are ready to come back. We did not have a rental car and were very pleased with the service. The drivers were very friendly and helpful, as well as being prompt. There are a lot of restaurants nearby, but not many were close enough to walk to, so the shuttle worked out great for us. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. There was a large variety of items that would satisfy any appetite, whether you wanted something light or a full breakfast. The food was delicious and very convienient not to have to go out and find some place to eat. Connie, the hostess, could not have been nicer. They have a business center there with free computer access, so we were able to print out our boarding passes, the night before we checked out. Our room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. There is a coffee maker, microwave and small refridgerator in the room also. We would highly reccommend the Wingate to anyone going to Tampa, especially if you are going to Busch Gardens. You can't beat the price for what you get. Some of the cheaper hotels, closer to Busch Gardens are a must to avoid. They look run down and scary. You won't be disappointed with the Wingate!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DonnaLynnMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Our room was very dirty. Bathroom shower was filthy. Mirrors looked like they used an oily rag to wipe them. Under cushions of couch there were candy wrappers and food.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathylanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF

Address: 3751 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $102 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing