We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Complete Success” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Ranked #30 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    360
    147
    58
    34
See reviews for
572
231
66
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

It was very clean and the staff was really nice and friendly. I did not have previous reservation and spotted this hotel on my way to Orlando but due to the bad weather I didn't want to take the chance and drive with my family. They gave us a Great rate and a chance to view the room. The Best front desk staff ever. Bonus was the Hot breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a great time. Found this hotel by chance. Hotel was spotless. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They shuttled us to and from Busch Gardens.
Manny, was a wonderful host (manager) at the hotel, informing us about the area and telling us stories of Tampa's history. The room was very comfortable and spacious. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We greatly appreciate your comments about our staff and hotel cleanliness. We strive to bring excellent customer satisfaction and a lasting experience. We especially want to thank you for your comments about Manny our general manager. He loves to share his knowledge and experience with guests to make their experience in Tampa unforgettable. Again, thank you for choosing Wingate by Wyndham and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I enjoyed my stay again at this facility. The location was perfect across from the university. The staff was wonderful especially at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
It is always so wonderful to see repeat guests. Thank you so much for your candid comments about our staff. We greatly appreciate your time. Thank you for choosing Wingate by Wyndham we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I think all of us who are doing a review for this hotel better be careful because word is getting out about how great it is. If we keep spreading the word, we might find them all booked up when we come back with we KNOW we will. I had a recent business trip where I stayed for 14 nights. I TRIED to come up with just one negative during my stay and finally I did. They USED to carry grapefruit juice for breakfast but they now only carry orange and apple. So that's my complaint. There you have it. After 2 weeks it's all I could say negative. The desk staff, Adrian, Beatriz, Crystal and Genesis always went above and beyond. Manuel the manager obviously knows how to run a hotel! And then there is Cosmito. Talk about going above and beyond! He would do ANYTHING for you. In the dining area is Maggie and Connie were always so pleasant and helpful every morning at breakfast. My job will most likely be bringing me back to this area and I will absolutely be staying here again. That is if we all haven't ruined a good thing for ourselves by telling everyone what a terrific hotel this is.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant in the hotel but there is a wine and beer bar in the lobby.
See more room tips
Green Features: They do have a green program where you can opt out of having your towels and sheets changed every day.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
It was such a pleasure to read your review. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. It was wonderful to read your comments about Manny and Cosmito. Beyond their duties as employees, it is part of their nature to go above and beyond for the wellbeing of others. We are so glad the only issue you could find was the grapefruit juice; I have to admit I am grapefruit juice drinker myself. Again, it was a pleasure having you here at our property and we look forward to seeing you on many more trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a room on the second floor which we found very acceptable with a large double bed, sofa area, microwave, fridge, and en-suite. A large room which we thought was great. We found the hotel clean and tidy, though eating off polystyrene plates and using plastic knives & forks for breakfast took a bit of getting used to. Breakfast though was good with a range of choices of things to eat. I would stay at this hotel again and would use the chain in other areas based on my experience here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank najones10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
It was a pleasure reading your comments. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad you were satisfied with your stay and are interested in our hotel chain. We definitely hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa North - Busch Gardens
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Address: 3751 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing