We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Around Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Ranked #46 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Clean, friendly staff, great location in close proximity to several area attractions. Shuttle service too and from Busch Gardens was a nice surprise. Staff helped us acquire discounted tickets and personally escorted us thru the gates of the park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LollyH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time to visit Tampa, FL. We didn't know what to expect of Wingate because it was our first time too to stay in this hotel. Well, it didn't disappoint. The Hotel was clean, and the staff was very friendly. We got a double queen beds on the top floor. The room was huge. We have a small fridge and a microwave. We have a nice view of the pool, and overlooking the Bush Garden rides. The Wingate also provide a free breakfast. Not just a bagel or donuts, they offer hot breakfast too like.. eggs, sausage, and waffles. The Hotel is very conveniently located near Bush Gardens. It's only a block away. The Hotel also provide a shuttle that will take you to and from Bush Gardens. It runs every 30 minutes, and it goes until the attractions closed. It was really nice because you didn't have to worry about driving and paying for parking. Since it was really close to the attraction, when you are ready to head back to the hotel, we only waited 5 minutes for the shuttle to pick us up. If you're craving or hungry for food....no problem there too because there's a lot of restaurant to pick from. Overall, our experienced at Wingate Hotel in Tampa was great. We will definitely stay at Wingate again when we go back to Tampa.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Everything about this mid price hotel was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Average rooms, but they spacious, modern, clean, with toiletries, and the beds were comfortable. The king room with a sofa bed came with a fridge, microwave, kettle for tea and coffee, and a nice hair dryer. Nice big closets to tuck your stuff out of the way!

The breakfast was sufficient for the 2 days we stayed -make your own waffles were a hit with the big and little ones.

You can easily walk to USF literally across the street. They have a shuttle that runs every half hour I believe to Busch Gardens, and it was perfect for our stay. We pre arranged a early morning departure, and they gave us a number to call for pickup. We called the hotel for pickup on our first day at BG around 5pm (they said 15 min) at 5:30 they had not picked us up, and I was contemplating calling, when a hotel employee picked us up in her own personal car because the shuttle was stuck in traffic. I was very impressed.

Small Inconveniences
We had one small problem with the safe not working, but they offered to fix it for us, but we declined as we were checking out the next day.

WiFi was spotty in our room on the 4th floor, and we ended up sitting in the hall or downstairs to access all those social media sites we can't live without and our mail.

The pool is outside, the hot tub inside (it is actually hot) and a small gym we did not use. There are many, many restaurants within driving distance. If you like Vietnamese food give Trang Viet 1524 E Fowler Ave just a few minutes from the hotel. Excellent Vegan options available.

Highly recommend a stay at this hotel if you are going to Busch Gardens or need a hotel across form USF

Stay on an upper floor the first floor is tile and noisy at breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floors the first floor is tile, and is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelwithnise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Rafael R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I just returned from a 8day/7night stay at the Wingate! The hotel staff is amazingly helpful, welcoming, kind and accommodating. The rooms/lobby/breakfast/pool/Jacuzzi/fitness/business areas were all very clean! What a welcoming staff this hotel boasts! Staff at the reception area/housekeeping/breakfast/shuttle drivers--were all so courteous. To name a few: Genessis at the reception desk, answered all our questions, and always with a smile. The hotel manager, Manuel, (who drove us a couple of times to BG and AI) was always available and very amiable. He is a seasoned traveler and would entertain us with stories from his travels. Maggie, the breakfast attendant, always greeted us with a smile and made sure we were happy with our dining experience. Cosmito, the shuttle driver, always cordial also. I can go on about the Hotel's staff as well as the excellent upkeep of this hotel. Overall, we had a great experience at this hotel, and yes it was our first time in the area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Tampa Bay area. Without a doubt, I would stay here again! Thank you to all the staff at the Wingate in Tampa for making our stay an enjoyable one, it really felt like HOME!

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor overlooking the parking lot. No noise problem at all. The floor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zorie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We greatly appreciate your comments and kind words. It is so nice to see you enjoyed your stay and found our employees helpful. A special thanks for your comments about Genesis, Manny, and Cosmito. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. Always, thank you for choosing Wingate by Wyndham and we hope to see you next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF

Address: 3751 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $94 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing