We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Ranked #37 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“nice place.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

stayed here for my son's spring break,( He's 5). the location is unbeatable to busch gardens and the complimentary shuttle was awesome. you never had to wait for it at the park(you just call them) and they were always hustling to get people to and from the park without complaint. the breakfast was good, eggs and a waffle station, OJ, coffee etc plus cereal. they were sold out the week we were there and everything was running smoothly. everything was clean everywhere. the GM is on top of things here and I will stay here next time I'm in Tampa for BG for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardCFTM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our property. We greatly appreciate all the comments and positive feedback. We are glad you found us conveniently located close to Busch Gardens and were able to use the shuttle service to and from the park. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. We like to make sure all guest start their day off right. Again thank you for the wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you next time we are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    390
    180
    77
    45
See reviews for
649
250
69
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had a good time, this hotel was a breath of fresh air. The breakfast was good, It's not a 5 star breakfast but it was adequate. 24 hour tea service was excellent for me. Everything was good and clean. I left another wretched hotel close by and Wingate was able to accomodate me the same night. I will stay here again and again!!! Pricing yes might be a little high but at least I can say the hotel did not let me down. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Kudos to David at the Front Desk!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
It was such a pleasure to read your review. We are glad your experience was a good one and you found the staff accommodating and helpful. We are glad you found the complimentary breakfast filing. It is just a way to ensure our guest start their day off right. Again, thank you for choosing Wingate by Wyndham and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Good value. Very comfortable beds, very clean room, friendly staff. Nice amenities like coffeemaker, mini fridge, in-room safe, iron, free wi-fi, desk lamp with outlets for charging portable devices. Plus: good lighting for doing makeup, which most hotels do not have. Best location if you're visiting USF!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We greatly enjoyed reading your comments. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad you found our location convenient and close to USF. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities and found the rooms clean and comfortable. Thank you for the candid comments about our staff. We try to make each guest experience a special one. Again, thank you for choosing Wingate by Wyndham and we hope to see you on your next visit to USF.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upperco, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Greeted warmly by the front desk and they saw to our needs, checking in early and providing transportation to nearby Busch Gardens.The Hotel was clean and provided an adequate buffet breakfast to get us started for the day. No nearby restaurants but the Hotel also provided van service to nearby eateries. The only complaint was that the towels could have been less scratchy. The staff at the hotel was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave5529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We greatly enjoyed reading your comments. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are glad you found the complimentary shuttle service convenient and the breakfast satisfying. A special thanks for your candid comments about our staff. We strongly believe in customer satisfaction and courtesy. Again, thank you for choosing Wingate by Wyndham and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here while at USF. Very comfortable room with usual amenities. All staff, especially the front desk where exceptional and went out of their way to provide quality service. Location is very good for visiting USF. Many nearby restaurants of great variety (quality varies from so-so to very good).

Rooms pricing is at the high end for this type of accommodation. Most nearby hotels are $20-30 less.

Room Tip: Tip: Avoid room 120 (and 220 directly above) as this room, while comfortable is plagued by intermit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing Wingate by Wyndham. We greatly appreciate your time and comments. we are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location conveniently located to USF and many restaurants. Thank you for your candid comments about our staff and facility. We hope to see you on your next visit to USF.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Address: 3751 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing