We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed and no complaints!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Ranked #42 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel bills itself for 'Busch Gardens convenience' and it really delivers on this promise by providing a complimentary minibus service to the attraction, with a drive there of just a few minutes. A phone call from the park means the bus will be waiting again right next the exit at the end of a fun filled day.
The hotel scores highly in every other way as well. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the rooms are spacious, with every comfort and free wi fi thrown in as well. The beds are more than averagely comfortable and bathrooms and toiletries are great too. For a moderately priced hotel the provision was first rate. The complimentary breakfast was really good, and much better than we've had in lots of other places. It made a nice change to see lots of healthy alternatives on offer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripstaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are so happy to see satisfied guests. We are glad the complimentary shuttle to Busch Gardens was convenient and helpful. It was also so nice to see that you found the breakfast satisfying and healthy. We appreciate your comments about our staff and room cleanliness. Thank you for choosing Wingate by Wyndham and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was very pleased with our stay here. They are very customer satisfaction driven. Our room was very nice and clean. They have complimentary shuttle transportation (drop-off and pick-up) within a 3 mile radius of the hotel, which we used to go to Busch Gardens and saved on parking. It is nice that their jacuzzi is open the 24 hours and they also have complimentary toothbrushes, toothpaste, razors, shaving cream, sewing kits, deodorant, etc available upon request if you forgot to pack anything. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your thoughts. We greatly appreciate your candid comments and are glad the complimentary shuttle was of service to you. It is always so wonderful to see satisfied guests. We are glad you enjoyed the 24 hr. Jacuzzi. Also we understand that no matter how many times we go over and make sure we have all our language we always forget little things like toothpaste and toiletries and we are more than happy here to provide them here for your continence. Again, thank you and we hope to see you on your next visit to Tampa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in 2009 and 2012 while attending family events in St. Petersburg/Tampa. Our first experience was wonderful and therefore it has become our location of choice. My second visit I traveled alone therefore safety, cleanliness and security were key. This location offered all of that plus a free hot breakfast, pool, jacuzzi, gym and bar. The front desk staff were very helpful on the phone and with directions and suggestions. The rooms are large and very well kept. Slept like a baby on the very comfortable King size bed!

Room Tip: King size rooms are generous. Coffee pot, hair dryer, iron, fridge and microwave in the rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthEast T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

It is so wonderful to see repeat guests. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share you experience with us. We are glad you found the rooms clean, spacious, and comfortable. Security and customer service are a top priority here at our location. We are glad everyone was helpful and were able to assist you. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and our 24 hour jacuzzi. Thank you for making Wingate by Wyndham your hotel in Tampa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

spend 2 nights for business in that area
if you're looking for something to do in tampa - this place is really far from all tampa's action places (and there aren't so much there anyway...)
it's really near a high-traffic road (fowler) but the rooms are eventually quite
the room was nice but could be cleaner (the carpets felt really not clear or too old)
the staff was very helpful and nice
breakfast was very basic (not that you'd expect for more than that in this kind of hotels)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regevaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was our second trip to Tampa. Both times we went to Busch Gardens and both times we chose Wingate by Windham USF because of the good price and the unbeatable location. The complimentary breakfast is nothing to rave about, but it is free and includes basics (like fruit, milk, spreads and bread) and even a subpar juice and waffle (which you can make fresh, but does not taste particularly good). The fact that the gym and the hot tub stay open all night is also great, specially if you are traveling with friends and hope to unwind. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but travelers should be aware of the low quality of the toilet paper and the fact that you are not sleeping in 400 count linen - it is all comfortable enough, though. All in all, a solid choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nassara_Thome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

It is always so wonderful to see repeat guests. Thank you for taking the time to review us online. We really appreciate all your comments and like to learn from each guest experience. We are glad you found us conveniently located to Busch Gardens and were able to enjoy the 24 hour jacuzzi and fitness center. We are sorry the complimentary breakfast was not everything that you expected. We try to offer a wide range of items to fit all guest needs while still abiding to brand standards. Thank you for choosing Wingate by Wyndham and are glad you were satisfied with your overall stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excptionally clean hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hot breakfast each morning was a special treat. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. We stayed 4 nights and hated to leave. Like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
1  Thank PHIL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

We appreciate your candid comments and review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our facility clean and comfortable. Our staff tries their best to accommodate all guests and fulfill their needs to the best of our ability. Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you on your next visit to Tampa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF

Address: 3751 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $102 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing