We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Nearby Hotels
$194
$179
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$188
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$151
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$206
$175
Westin.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$202
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$148
$127
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$163
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sailport Waterfront Suites(Tampa)
$158
$140
SailportSuites.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,585)
Filter reviews
1,585 results
Traveler rating
756
446
220
102
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
756
446
220
102
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusch gardensfront deskhot tubbush gardensmoffitt cancer centershuttle servicethe general manageradventure islandbreakfast barhot breakfastfree breakfastbusiness centeroutdoor poolfree shuttlepleasant stayexcellent stayenjoyed my stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,335 - 1,340 of 1,585 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We tried this hotel because of the tripadvisor ranking. The front desk and housekeeping staff were very helpful and should be employed at a high-end hotel. The Wingate is conveniently located across the street from USF. The quality of the buffet breakfast was average. Florida's Natural orange juice was a plus! The pastries were either old or of poor quality.

The furniture was stained and needs to be replaced. The a/c unit in our room was/is in need of a filter cleaning or replacement. Perhaps a mitigation service should be enlisted to properly rid the rooms of the mold that obviously exists. After 1 or 2 sinus rinses, I should be back to normal.

No offense to anyone who submitted a more favorable review of this hotel. To each his own...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about your stay with us. All comments are welcome and appreciated. We try to learn from all situations and take all comments very seriously. We would like to apologize that you found your stay less than satisfying. We have spoken with both our executive housekeeper and our staff in order to educate them on what to look for when cleaning the ac vents as well as proper reporting channels. It is always a goal here at Wingate by Wyndham to make every guest feel comfortable and welcome. Next time if an issue like this occurs do not hesitate for one moment to let the front desk know so they can immediately accommodate you. We thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff and our location. We strive for excellent customer service and satisfaction. Again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Closet and carpet smell moldy. Myself and wife had swollen eyes and sinuses upon awakening.
The staff are superb.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank NORMAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. All comments are welcome and appreciated. We try to learn from all situations and take all comments very seriously. We would like to apologize that you found your stay less than satisfying. We appreciate your assistance in helping investigate the matter and resolve the issue. We have spoken with both our executive housekeeper and our staff in order to educate them on what to look for when cleaning the tubs and grout, as well as proper reporting channels. It is always a goal here at Wingate by Wyndham to make every guest feel comfortable and welcome. Next time if an issue like this occurs do not hesitate for one moment to let the front desk know so they can immediately accommodate you. On a positive note we thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our staff and the upkeep of our property. It is our hope that you will give us another chance and do not hesitate to contact us direct if you have any further issues or concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great Staff! All were friendly and helpful. Convenient location to a varitey of shopping, theme parks and downtown. We had a great time and the weather was great during our stay. We would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

It is so wonderful to see satisfied guests. It is our goal to make guests happy and comfortable. We are glad you found the location convenient and were able to enjoy nearby attractions. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Next time you are in town make sure to stop by and visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Travel to Tampa USF frequently over the past three years and every single time this hotel exceeds my expectations. The hotel is very very clean. Rooms are well equipped, roomy and make extended stays very easy. The staff members are ALWAYS helpful and friendly. Complimentary breakfast is very good and provides an exceptional choice of options to start your day. Coffee is available throughout the day and the catering staff go beyond to help guests. I have been given great references for services in the Tampa USF area and each and every reference has been exceptional. The staff know the area and are able to help you locate restaurants, stores, car services, etc. This is our go to hotel for our visits to USF.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel and for taking the time to share your thoughts. It is so nice to see repeat customers. We take pride in providing a staff that is hand selected and friendly. We thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our complimentary breakfast and the upkeep of our facility. It is our goal to insure the guest not only stay at our hotel but that the guest take away an experience. Again thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Excellent Hotel and Service. We loved the breakfast. Very quite room. Pillows were very comfortable. Bathroom was very roomy. Loved the bath light fixture. I did not like the way the tv guide was set up. It did not show what shows or movies were showing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are so happy to see you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate all the wonderful comments about our rooms and service. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. We will also take a closer look at the TV guide to see if format changes can be made. Again thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews