We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Sebring, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I felt very welcome since I got to the hotel. Staff was very friendly and attentive and bilingual (yes!). I requested a room with some specifications and they were willing to accomodate me to it without hesitation. There is no smoking and no pet policy, which fits my family needs. Room was great, really clean and the beds are a dream come true. You can really sleep through the night on those beds. They have a small micro and fridge, which comes handy to have in a room AT NO ADDITIONAL COST. Pool area is medium size, but comfortable. They have a fitness area beside the jacuzzi, which is open 24/7. Breakfast is great, including scrambled eggs, sausage and just made waffles in addition to the usual continental breakfast. Location is perfect and I felt really safe in the area despite of other comments about being unsafe. Busch Gardens, USF Sun Dome, MOSI are some attractions you can find around the block. Next time I go to Tampa, definitely I will stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ileana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Tampa. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our amenities that we offer here at our hotel. Our brand is built for business and pleasure and that's what we try to uphold. We are very greatful for our staff and we make sure that every employee here is well-trained to provide the best customer service and to sustain a comfortable atmosphere. Thanks again for the review. Every review helps us to better ourselves. We hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    347
    137
    55
    34
See reviews for
555
224
64
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Wingate by Wyndham was a very nice, very clean, family oriented place to stay. It is just down the street from Busch Gardens and it is close to restaurants and a supermarket as well. The "hot" breakfast was delicious and the eating area was very clean. The area this hotel is located at is a very good one, unlike other hotels that may adverstise "being close to Busch Gardens" but they fail to mention that they are in a very "unsafe" area of town. We made that mistake, that is why I am mentioning it here. I would also like to say that this hotel does have a washer and a dryer on the thrid floor.

I am definitely bringing my family back to this Wingate!
V. Vargas

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vija0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Hello and thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Your comments are very helpful. We are glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary 40 item hot breakfast buffet while staying with us. We like to keep a clean enviroment for our guest from check in to check out. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I was attending an AMS conference at SFU campus, and the hotel satisfied all my needs. Great location, very helpful staff, clean rooms, good breakfast, free wi-fi everywhere, shuttle to nearby locations (including the campus). Will stay again in the future if visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We've stayed at several hotels in this area in the past 2 years that our daughter's been a student at USF and this one is the best hotel we've stayed at based on the value of the price we paid. It is conveniently located to the University of South Florida, major roads & highways, local restaurants and Busch Gardens which we plan to visit on our next weekend trip to the area).
Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable! It was great to have a mini refrigerator in the room to store cold drinks, fruit, etc. & also a mini microwave (though we didn't use it this trip). The complimentary breakfast was convenient and the staff very helpful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NY2FLGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with TripAdvisor. Every comment helps us and future guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team works very hard to make sure each and every guest has a nice and comfortable stay. Thank you for choosing our hotel for this stay in Tampa. Make sure to take advantage of our free shuttle to Busch Gardens during your next stay. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairieville
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Wingate by Wyndham while visiting Tampa's Busch Gardens. Manny and all of his staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great. The shuttle was a great way to get around. The drivers, especially Connie, were prompt and accommodating. We definitely will stay here again when we visit Tampa.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRL70769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Here, at the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa, we value each and every review posted on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary shuttle, as well as the complimentary 40 item hot breakfast buffet. Our staff knows how important it is to keep our guest happy and satisfied. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel and its staff, rooms and services are simply amazing. Diego was working the front desk and made us feel right at home. We were booked at a hotel down the street to save a couple bucks upon our arrival, there were homeless begging at the lobby, drug dealers making deals in the hallways and less than average guests. We quickly moved to Wingate by Wyndham. Although it was 20 dollars more a night, it was well worth the experience. The breakfast and transportation was well worth the extra 20. Diego was very knowledgeable of the area, he offered us different options to save a buck or two and was very friendly. If you are coming to the area for anything, I highly and strongly suggest you stay here. Dont be fooled by the other hotels in the area, they are not anywhere near as safe as this one. Although it is not a five star, its a 5 star with the price you pay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
We appreciate your comment. Every review helps future guests and the hotel. Thank you for choosing out hotel during your visit to Tampa. We are pleased to know that we were able to make your stay just as comfortable as your home. We are also glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary shuttle and breakfast. Thank you again for your comment and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I stayed at the Wingate by Wyndham for 5 nights, last week. This was my second time staying there, having stayed there 4 years ago. I cannot say enough great things about this hotel! It is the perfect place to stay, if you are visiting Busch Gardens. The Wingate has a free Shuttle which will take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius of the hotel, and Busch Gardens is only about a mile away, so it's definitely the best way to get there and back. Even if you have a car there, you still have to pay for parking at Busch, which I think is about $14 a day and then take a tram back and forth to the parking lot. The Wingate van, drops you off and picks you up right in front of the entrance. The drivers are prompt, knowledgeable and courteous. The hotel rooms and common areas are immaculate. I've never stayed in such a clean hotel. The rooms are very quiet and the beds are comfortable. The Manager and staff at the Wingate are the best. The group I was with, stays there every year while attending shows at Busch Gardens, and the staff there has become like family to us. They even had signs made to welcome us back! We would never think of staying anywhere else! The breakfast buffet is very good. There are lots of options to satisfy every appetite, whether you want a light meal or a large breakfast. Items were continuously refilled to make sure everyone got what they wanted. Connie is one of the hardest working employees at the Wingate! She does everything from getting breakfast ready by 6am to driving the shuttle! Thanks for all you do Connie. There was a newspaper left at our door every morning, which was a nice touch also. There are other hotels near Busch, but The Wingate by Wyndham on Fowler Avenue is the only one I would even consider staying at. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaLynnMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thanks for taking the time out of your schedule to post your review. We hope you enjoyed all of our complimentary amenities while you were here. We are very proud of our well-rounded staff members that we have on our team. We try to ensure that we can provide the best customer service possible. We really enjoyed having you all with us and can't wait for your return. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa North - Busch Gardens
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Address: 3751 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing