We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back for the next Bucs / Fins game hopefully.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Ranked #44 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed here 27th August for the Bucs/Dolphins game. Check in was good, they had a new guy Ed, who was very thorough, explained where everything was and times they opened.
Room was clean, had all we needed for a one-nighter. The hotel had vending machines by the lifts where you could get snacks and drinks. Breakfast was the usual buffet style but had plenty of variety to fill you up for the day. Pool and jacuzzi were a welcome addition after a day at Busch Gardens.
Cost was only $90 so all good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unforgiven2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

We thank you for your review and we are honored to have been able to serve you. Thank you for choosing us for your stay and we hope you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle to Busch Gardens. Hope to see you when the next game comes around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,400 - 1,406 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

Awesome breakfast, friendly staff, nice rooms.
Wish there was a little more dining and shopping within walking distance, but that isn't the hotels fault.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky4036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We went to this hotel for a quick weekend getaway for our 10th anniversary, as my husband just took a new job, so he could not take time off work. We chose to stay here for two reasons, one there was a free shuttle to Busch Gardens, which we have annual passes for, and two there is an indoor hot tub open 24 hours.

We arrived Friday evening after driving down after work, and decided to go to Busch Gardens for summer nights when they are open until 10 pm. We promptly found out the shuttle only ran until 8 pm, so we would have to drive- strike number 1. Also found out that other local hotels, like the one across the street Embassy Suites, extended shuttle hours to accommodate later summer park hours. After the park Friday night, we drove back to hotel, and tried to get into hot tub, when we met with strike number 2- they must have just dumped an obnoxious amount of chlorine in there. When we walked into the hot tub room my eyes started watering, and my lungs actually starting burning. Went back to room, and decided we would try again the second day. Saturday evening more of the same, there was no going in the hot tub.

Inquired at the front desk, but was just kind of blown off. Really upset about this, but hotel staff just didn’t seem to have an answer, or maybe just really didn’t care. The following week, I ended up with bronchitis and husband with upper respiratory infection…hmmm, wonder why? Next time we go down, which is more than a couple times a year. We will go back to staying at Embassy Suites!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya32709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

We are sorry that we do not run the shuttle service beyond 8:30pm on weekdays and Saturdays, as we have extended the service in the past and it seemed to be little utilized so we discontinued. Regardless, we will certainly take a look at this matter again. Luckily, our normal shuttle hours (from 7AM-8:30PM M-Sat & 8AM-5:30PM Sun) are more than adequate to cover the regular hours of Busch Gardens and Adventure Island, giving our guests plenty of time to enjoy the parks without worrying about parking fees! We also appreciate that you informed us about the chlorine in the hottub-our maintenence examined the jacuzzi and has already corrected the issue. We train our staff to respond appropriately to any guest issue, and are disappointed you did not experience this during your stay. We assure you the matter is being dealt with as this is not the norm for our hotel or our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

A great pick for those going to the Busch Gardens. Only a 3-minute drive away. Huge rooms, complete with king size bed, business desk, small couch and coffee table. Rooms very clean and comfortable bed. Floors are carpeted.

Bathroom is clean and roomy enough. The hotel has free internet and is kind enough to offer free access to its business center with some computers and printers for the use of the guests. The indoor jacuzzi stays open all night! Breakfast is complimentary and pretty fulfilling, with cereal, bread, waffle/pancake and fruit options.

Do not expect any luxuries, but Wingate hotel offers the best a tourist class hotel in Florida can give you. I am a picky traveler and would most definitely stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TurismoRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Wingate By Wyndham and appreciate what we have to offer. We continue to strive daily to make our hotel number one in Tampa, improving our free breakfast, continuing to offer free shuttle service to our most popular destinations, and keeping our rooms clean and comfortable for our guests. Above all, we pride ourselves on our customer service, providing an exceptional quality to make our guests feel like part of the Wingate family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Want value for your money and a great hotel?? Well this is it. This is our 4th stay at the Wingate over the years and all of our stays have been great. The complimentary breakfast is very good and is served until 10am! The rooms/bathrooms are nice and clean - my only complaint was the pillows were too small (short). The shuttle service is great even though you have to pay a small fee for adults pax for some places (mostly shops and restaurants) its still not as expensive as taking a taxi. The staff from the Manager right down are great!!!! I always recommened this hotel to my family and friends who are travelling to Tampa. Will definately be staying there again!!!!

Room Tip: The hotel staff are so helpful and accomodating!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caribbeangirl1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor-we sincerely appreciate any comments on our hotel as it helps us to continue to do right what we are doing right and to fix any issues so that every stay is an exceptional one! Our shuttle service has been noted to be one of our favored features of the guests, and is still free to our most popular destinations such as Busch Gardens and USF. We are also glad you enjoyed our 40-item hot buffet breakfast, with many hot and cold items for our guests to choose from, including making their own waffles and topping them off with their choice of fresh fruit. We certainly look forward to being your "home away from home" while you visit Tampa, and will continue to strive to make your stay perfect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here once before, about five years ago. The beds are still very comfortable, bathroom clean, and room smelled good. It's is close to Busch Gardens and across the street from the University. Not in the best of neighborhoods. Good for the price, and breakfast was more than enough and delicious. Wouldn't pay more than 130 a night for two queens. Still a good place to rest your head for short term usage.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Wingate By Wyndham this second time around, and found it to be as well as before. We actually had the entire interior renovated in 2009, adding new sealy posture-pedic mattresses to the rooms for even more comfort, and everything from the rooms to the halls to the public spaces were redone in detail. Though some areas of Tampa are not the best, we think that with as many corporate business surrounding our hotel (as well as Busch Gardens and Adventure Island being less than a mile away) the neighborhood keeps a decent standard, which is fortunate. We hope you took advantage of our free shuttle service to Busch Gardens and USF campas while here, and certainly hope you think of us again when you are back in Tampa. Don't forget to call us direct to get the best rates and reservation flexibility!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel approximately three times per year for the last three years. It is consistently outstanding.... and, it pricing is very reasonable! A Queen Double is only $69 booked through Wyndham; 5% less if booked through AARP and Expedia!

This include free wifi and wired Internet access, a nicely outfitted fitness center, and free breakfast every morning with a diverse selection of breakfast foods and beverages to eat. Additionally, it is very clean, attentive, and has a friendly and helpful staff.

If you have any reason to stay in northern Tampa, we know of no better place to stay. That would include if we were visiting Busch Gardens which is only about a mile and a half away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylorjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

We are glad your stay at our hotel has met your expectations each time you've stayed with us!
I'm not familiar with the rate you mentioned on the double Queens-perhaps there was a special running the day you booked with us. But regardless, our 40-item hot buffet breakfast, free Wi-Fi, jacuzzi, fitness center and business center all remain the same, as well as our free shuttle service to Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Tampa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Busch Gardens Area
0.8 mi away
West Wing Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF

Address: 3751 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $112 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing