We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for the money but could have used some better amnetities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #34 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Got in late Friday night and stayed until Monday. The room smelled like smoke and was on the 2nd floor when I requested a room on a high floor. Coffee maker didn't work, no bathrobe, room generally small (mostly due to oversize furniture). Not a bad location but not terribly great for the downtown area attractions. Picked up a rental car from the Hertz located at the Marriott downtown - once we got htere, it was heartbreaking to see such a beautiful hotel that we could have stayed at. That place is BEAUTIFUL! I don't think I'd stay at the Intercontinental again - it's definitely not a 4 star.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kashismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,364 - 1,370 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2009

loved the reviews so booked a room for the end of a very hard trip. didn't find the discounts others mentioned but got a king deluxe. arrived too early, prepared to sit in the lobby and work but they had a room and let me in immediately. once I got ice and changed clothes, I used their free wireless and tackled my work. then, ready to jump into the shower before dinner when I realized I did not have the advertised bathrobe. hated to call, hated to wait, hated to tip for the robe so did without but really would have loved a robe. hallway noise pretty loud. room was wonderful, very comfy. wifi was huge help. staff great. beware of room svc. 21% charge added in addition to $3.00 delivery, plus tax on that markup. food is great there. word to the wise: only order 'sides' if you are alone. servings at shula's are oversized.
unfortunately the coffee maker did not work which I discovered at 6 in the morning. will stay again but will check room more carefully before I undress next time. great hotel in general.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

The hotel was easy to find right off of the interstate. Right away we knew the area was nice, as there was a Maggiano's, P.F. Changs and other nice restaurants right across the street. Check in was a breeze, as was parking the car (we used the free, attached garage versus the pricey valet). The parking garage had an elevator that took you straight to the lobby.

Our room was on the 9th floor, looking out into the atrium (with offices on the other side). We ever managed to have a few people at their desk wave to us as we were going up the elevator!

The room was excellent, with very comfy beds, roomy bathroom, and flat-screen HD television. After remembering a few reviews about noise and the elevator, standing beside the door, I could hear the faint noise, but it was not an issue (and we were two doors down).

The roof top pool, as mentioned on here is no resort-style pool. It's very small, and the seating is very limited. It allowed us to cool off a bit, but not one that you could lay around all day.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice, 4-star hotel in Tampa!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We booked on Hotwire for $54, which was a steal!!! We were in town for Busch Gardens one day and a Rays game the next and always stay in the Westshore area. We were impressed with everything - the design, decor, restaurant,staff, etc. We have a 7 year old who came with us and the hotel does not cater to him - but then again, this is not the KidSuites, it is the Intercontinental. We saved the Shulas diners the presence of our child, lol, and ate in the lounge. The noise was ok - there were some party people on our floor somewhere, but it isn't concrete block construction, it is a hotel with a LOT of glass in the middle of an office plaza. We would totally try to get this place again. NOTE - if you self park your car, watch for an $18 valet charge. We were hit with one but when we called, they said it should be no problem for a refund.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatorbait75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Taxis were expensive. Picked us up at the hotel promptly. Poll area needs renovated. No hgt tub.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humphrey008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The location was great and the room was amazing. We upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was the best thing we did.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank koulouraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

My husband and I recently returned from a long weekend trip to Tampa for primarily business and some relaxation. The Intercontinental in Tampa is located just minutes from the airport which made it easy coming in on an evening flight. They do offer a shuttle, but we rented a car for our stay. The hotel offers valet parking for $18.00 per day, but the self park is just around the corner with an elevator directly to the lobby. I have never used a discount hotel reservation, but did this time so the rate was terrific. Check in was easy. The hotel share the building with an office complex. Out room faced the interior of the building which was fine, but made it impossible to see what the day was like outside. The elevator is a little loud, but just ask for a room further away as we did. The hotel has a small pool and fitness center. Not the type of pool for a vacation, but a nice sunny spot for a break between business. The concierge was helpful and service in the bar was good. There is a coffee shop in the lobby for early morning breakfast. Overall I would recommend this hotel. It is clean and service is good.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
Thank cheetah72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#16 of 163 in Tampa
447 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $114 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing