We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular pricing, no. Hotwire, yes.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #35 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The location was brilliant. We were able to explore many different shops, restaurants and even got a taste of SoHo (a bar district south of Howard). The room was average. The T.V. had a strange fuzz that interrupts viewing. The bedding was not particularly comfortable and even kind of itchy. The temperature was awkwardly warm and we could not seem to get it any colder. We did not complain or fuss because we didn't spend so much time in the room that it was truly an issue, but if we had to stay more than one night it would have been. We felt so rushed upon check out! Housekeeping actually let themselves into our rooms at 11am while we were waking up and knocked once more afterwards. Oh, the pool was also strange. Great view of the parking garage though! I probably wouldn't stay here again unless it was randomly through Hotwire.

Room Tip: It seems that most of them have a nice view into other people's rooms/offices. Peeking Toms this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0_K8lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed our location which is near entertainment districts such as South Howard (SOHO). I am sorry about the issues you did experience here with us. I let our engineering department know that way we can improve in these areas.

-Jeff R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Good service spotless room, and most important, a Great Bed!!!! The neighborhood has all the charm of any airport strip, but at least you can walk to Starbucks and all the essential better fast food joints

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marksw s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

We loved hearing that you valued the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms here at the InterContinental Tampa! Thank you for the review, and we hope you choose to stay here again!

-Jeff R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My room was nice, bed comfortable but as I checked out there was a charge from the minibar for a Redbull that I did not have. I had looked in the fridge when I checked in and saw that it was there and when I received the check out bill, I looked again and indeed it was gone. As I was the only one in the room, it was obvious that someone in the cleaning crew took it. I went to the front desk to explain and they immediately removed the charge, which was fine, but I really wanted her to relay to the manager that someone took it. I hope she did, and I intend to as well.
Not a big deal overall, but they should be aware their cleaning crew stole something that was charged to me and anyone staying there should check their bill.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

I apologize for the issue you experienced, but I am glad it was taken care of without hesitation! I have shared the issue with our housekeeping manager to prevent any further mishaps. Thank you so much for the feedback! We wish you safe travels in the future.

-Jeff R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had a very nice stay while in Tampa at the InterContinental. Convenient for anyone going on a cruise but also in the center of activities. Very friendly and helpful staff and a lovely room. Their restaurants were also really good and not overpriced. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itscarolyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

I am happy to hear you had a wonderful stay here at the InterContinental Tampa! Thank you for your kind comments about our location and our friendly staff. We hope to see you back soon!

-Jeff R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We came to Tampa for our 25th wedding anniversary and stayed here. We reserved the Jr. King suite, and it was amazing, the views form the massive windows were just as beautiful as the room was. Jackie who helped us with our reservation, went above and beyond to make sure the room was perfect. When we opened the door, we were both speechless, there were rose petals, hearts, champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and truffles. WOW is all we can say. We stayed the weekend and really never wanted to leave. It was quite magical.

Room Tip: The Jr. King suites are very nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WMW0166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

We are extremely excited to hear you loved the InterContinental Tampa and all the amenities we have to offer! We are please you enjoyed our spacious Junior Suites, as well as, our team member Jackie who takes pride in her customer service. We hope to have you stay with us again!

-Jeff R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Having recently stayed at this intercontinental for 2 nights I can honestly say its not one of the more pleasurable stays I have experienced. As a royal ambassador member the hotel forgot all the benefits and the room was not available till almost 4.45pm.I was upgraded and the upgrade was to room 917 which if you stay in this room you will be kept awake by the continuous noise of the elevator switchgear clicking in and out all night. It was the worst nights sleep ever in an Intercontinental and as I was on my holidays it made the stay very dissatisfying.

I got none of the ambassador benefits and the room was only cleaned once only the bedroom not the suite, the maid left empty glasses cups and bottles. No service whatsoever.No water or fresh fruit. I have been a very loyal member of IHG and this service is not what I expect. I did complain at checkout but it seems there is a communication problem as the comments were not passed on to the Front of house manage as I left my details.

Recognising loyalty amongst the guests should be priority for the hotel and in this case there is a clear case of staff training needed in respect of the front of house staff and housekeeping.



Sadly this is one property I would not recommend or indeed return to

Room Tip: Make sure you are no where near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ethixman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

I greatly apologize for the inconveniences you faced while staying here with us! I have made sure to review with our Front Office Manager the concerns you addressed. I really appreciate your feedback, and wish you safe travels in the future!

-Jeff R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I hadn't ever stayed at an Intercontinental, so the night before my wife and I left Tampa, we decided to treat ourselves to a one night stay. We got an excellent rate via Hotwire, so it really didn't even cost much.

We wish we'd stayed there for a couple more nights. The bed was quite possibly one of the most comfy beds I'd ever experienced. It also was an impeccably clean room and overlooked a large atrium which while not an outside view was kind of neat since everything was decorated for Christmas. We didn't get the chance to go into the pool but did go up to see it, looked real nice. Every employee we encountered was friendly. Shuttle service to the airport was prompt. And it was walking distance to Chipotle - what could be better!

I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjnovak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

We are overjoyed that you valued our rooms here at the InterContinental Tampa, and glad you had a great night sleep in our comfortable beds! It is great to know you took advantage of our convenient shuttle service to the airport, and that it made your vacation travels a breeze! We hope you choose to be our guest again.

-Jeff R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 164 in Tampa
460 reviews
3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#52 of 164 in Tampa
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $108 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing