We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so quite a 5* hotel expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #35 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 12, 2014

So we stayed here Jan 2-5th. On the 3rd of January, we left the hotel at 11am and didn't get back to it until after midnight. Only to find that our room was not made up (YES, we DID NOT have the DND sign out on the door). To make matter worse, not only did they NOT clean up the room they managed to flood under my door all the stupid pizzas, chinese food flyers !!!! ... I don't always stay at a 5 stars hotel, I often also stay at La Quinta chains. Even at La Quinta, they NEVER flood the room with all those stupid flyers !!! AND, they never forget to make up the room.

For a hotel that claims itself a 5 stars rating, it sure didn't deliver what it promises.

The next day, I called down stairs before I leave the room to ask them not to forget to clean the room. When I got down stairs, I stopped by the front desk and asked the same thing, again... RUDELY, they replied ," YES, WE KNOW...WE HEARD YOU!" ... what kind of employees did they hire at this particular property ???

DO NOT STAY HERE !!! They are RUDE & LAZY!! .... Save your money, stay at another place.!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spotmenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear spotmenow,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Tampa.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

792 - 798 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a pretty good hotel overall. It is close to the airport. Convenient access to major arteries. Downtown isn't at your doorstep. The gym is really small and poorly equipped. The pool on the roof is nice. Overpriced restaurant.

Room Tip: Join IHG and get free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were scheduled to fly from Tampa to Brussels via NY but were stranded in Tampa for two nights due to the big freeze in NY. The Intercontinental was a good choice for us.

The hotel offers a shuttle service to and from the airport but no shuttle to the International Mall.

Our room was excellent on the top floor. The hotel has an upmarket restaurant that is expensive; but there are excellent restaurants in the shopping center across the street. The hotel has a very good outdoor pool.

The staff were helpful but there should be a concierge to give specific tourist advice. There is quite a lot to see in and around Tampa. We strongly recommend Yobi City.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Bay although it is quite far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed for one night before our cruise departed from Tampa. The hotel was conveniently located between the airport and the cruise terminal, with a shuttle service from the airport and plenty of (free) parking in the hotel garage. The location was good and easy to find and being across the road from Westshore Plaza was a bonus - we had dinner there. The room was good - nothing special, though, but as I say, nothing to complain about. Wifi was slow and expensive - but included on my room rate so not too bothered by this. The pool area on the roof was small but an extra which many will enjoy. We did not use the bar or restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed about a week before Christmas for one night. It was a pleasant stay- we requested a room change and they accomodated us without fuss. The breakfast in the morning was also quite good, especially for a hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YASD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Pros: Great staff, very friendly and good service all the way round; comfortable rooms; a room plan that includes breakfast each day; free parking in the hotel garage; convenient location near I-275 to St. Pete, Sarasota and I-75 north. Shuttle service was also provided for a small fee to the Outback Bowl when we there for the game, really convenient.

Cons: Hardly any, there was just a bit of a problem with getting hot water our first night, not sure why, but we arrived at peak time when the hotel was absolutely full so we figured the high demand caused it perhaps. Other than that, no probs.

Highly recommend this place and would stay again.

Room Tip: Try to book your room away from the elevators, it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonic555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were in town for the bowl game. The staff was very accommodating and kind. Pamela, one of the women at the front desk, was especially helpful, and went above and beyond to ensure our party had a positive experience.

The only drawback for us was that most of the other fans in town for the game were in the channelside or ybor city area which is about a $20 cab ride. Also, as others have indicated, wifi was expensive but there are three computers (and printers) for guests to use by the front desk area.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 164 in Tampa
460 reviews
3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#47 of 164 in Tampa
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $108 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing