We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #37 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Recent stay was specifically for a shopping trip - mall with great choice of stores right right opposite. The staff at this hotel clearly have the right customer service training, friendly, professional and welcoming - they really try their best. I had gone a bit overboard with Amazon ordering (over 30 packages delivered to the hotel !!). That was no problem at all - no charge, safely stored, delivered to the room immediately, all with good humour. Shulas is a good steakhouse, on the expensive side though - themed on football, which they place on the table - it distracts to the dining experince rather than adds - also not sure I like a grubby ball next to me when eating.
Bar staff knowledgable and pleasant. Rooms are adequate for what you pay, toiletries replaced and good quality. Room cleaning service good, am a late riser but was never hassled by overly keen cleaners trying to get in to the room. Airport shuttle service a bonus, pleasant driver. The one thing that really lets this hotel down is the rooftop pool area - it needs major improvement, a rethink on the size of the pool and perhaps a roof top bar / snack area. All in all a great stay and I would go back there.

Room Tip: Wouldn't stay on 9th floor, there is a lot of traffic to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoisin1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    519
    254
    96
    78
See reviews for
262
444
111
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel repeatedly since February and it's always been great. The location near the airport is wonderful for business travelers. the hotel is across from a mall area with lots of dining options. Which is really good becasue at the hotel the only option is Shula's which is extremely expensive.

The bar staff are wonderful!!! Specially Stephanie, Star and Leona. They remember me every time i am in town; they know my drink preference and take good care of me. The rooms are ok...nothing amazing but clean and comfortable and always in good working order. The valet parking seems to be a bit expensive (18 bucks a night) but the garage is attached to the hotel so not too inconvenient.

Everyone is always efficient from the valet guys to front desk to serving staff. I would not want to stay here if I was on vacation; the hotel location is a bit distant from downtown and in a congested area; but overall excellent for my needs.

Room Tip: ask for a high room facing the water; it's a nice view over the bay; somewhat obstructed by nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rochelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went to Tampa for our anniversary 4th of July weekend and had a nice time. The Manager James Hellman was amazing to us even prior to us arriving and made our experience an even better stay. He bumped us up to a 1 bedroom suite for our anniversary which was really nice of him. The room was nice with floor to ceiling windows and we were on the curve portion of the hotel which was nice. The room was clean for the most part with an exception of a French Fry hidden under the couch and the lamp shade next to the couch was lopsided and tilted.

The best part about the room (Room 328) was that we wanted to go some place to see fireworks and you actually don't have to go anywhere you can see them right from the hotel room, how lucky were we!!!. Just try to get into a suite higher then the 3rd floor for a better view of them but we were still able to see them very well.

The hotel lobby was really nice and all of the areas in the hotel were nice and kept up. This hotel does not have many amenities that is the only downside. The pool area looks like a public pool that children would go to vs. a 4-5 star hotel pool. They do allow you to call room service and have them bring you up food or cocktails however you have to wait until 11:30am if you would like a cocktail brought up to you by the pool. They don't have a place for massages and will refer you across the street to a small massage place or they have a outside vendor that will come to your room and give you a massage. The mall is right across the street which has many restaurants and shopping if that is your thing. Walgreens is conveniently across the street, and if you are a traveler on a budget so is Taco Bell, Burger King, and the Waffle House if you are looking for a breakfast spot. We tried a few restaurants such as Mitchell's Seafood and The Fox Jazz Cafe which I will have separate reviews for. Overall the hotel was nice and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 328 a suite is good and any room right above that same room you can see the fireworks from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Everything about this stay at the Intercontinental was perfect. The front desk was very nice and professional. The lobby and other common areas were clean, fresh smelling and decorated very modern. Our room couldn't have been better. The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get out of bed in the morning - even though we were going to be spending time on the beach!! I read some reviews from other patrons that stated the elevator was noisy but I didn't notice it at all. I definitely would recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room was nice I must admit. The staff on the other hand was another story. They were rude whenever you called them for anything. Also check your bill because they will add on additional charges. I paid for something in cash and they also charged it to my room and tried to argue with me when it was time to check out. The matter is still not resolved. Seriously look at the bill. So many extra charges and fees.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RN_2009ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear RN_2009ga,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Tampa.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The stay here was adequate and the bed was comfortable enough, pillows ok as well. The bathroom was clean enough but tissues and TP not of a good quality. You have to call and request if you want the sheets changed outside of the sheets being changed every 3 days. Housekeeping is adequate for the most part, but expect a wait if you request something (we asked and said we would be gone for 4-5 hours, came back and no one had been there yet).
Be deligent on looking at the room service charges if you place an order. I was overcharged on an order by $10 but didn't have the receipt and my fault for not catching before tipping and signing. I double checked the menu price, added the delivery fee and tip and that is how I know I was overcharged. Front desk said contact accounting etc...
The pool area was disappointing as well. I don't recommend going to this hotel if you want to spend anytime at the pool.
Internet is expensive at 13 a day! I signed in with my rewards account number thinking (from the web site) that I would receive free Internet and a few other benefits but sadly mistaken.
They have a mini bar that of course is expensive. We usually buy water and juice etc and prefer a mini fridge to put it in so if this what you also like to do, make sure you bring a cooler.
The AC worked great, not a noisy system so it doesn't disturb you at all.
They do have a lighted closet with plenty of hangers, ironing board and iron. Lighting in the bathroom was good, a small warming light and a regular light. Plenty of light in the room as well.
The TV is a little old but they have plenty of channel options. The cable they use
however doesn't offerer a program guide.
You can walk across the street to Walgreens and a gas station, Panera (I don't recommend this one though), and multiple places are essentially close by. This is helpful because you will end up parked in a parking garage at the hotel and walking is much easier than having to retrieve your car and driving somewhere just to grab something quickly.

Green Features: They do have 2 trash cans - 1 for recycle and 1 for regular and they practice the standard 'hang your towel or on floor for replacement'.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bydragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear bydragonfly,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We would like to apologize for the over-all issues you had during your stay and any inconvenience you may have experienced. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pt st lucie, florida
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've stayed at the Grand Hyatt and wanted to see how the InterContinental compared. The hotel is geared towards business clients so the rooms are very nice. The staff at the front counter to the maids were friendly, kind and always willing to help. The location across from the mall makes it convenient to just walk over to choose from many nice places to eat. The hotel was clean and I would come back. The pool area is small but the location of the hotel is a plus. Parking was free and no problem. We had a family get-together and everyone was happy with their rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idealden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
4.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
415 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing