We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #35 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent place for business travelers. Room was spotless, climate control was perfect, bath was clean and well taken care of. Close to the office. Building has conference rooms for building tenants. Restaurant choices are wide nearby. Mall across the street. Recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

940 - 946 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pleasant stay at this hotel for a short trip to Tampa. Very convenient location, clean facility and friendly staff. I did not look at reviews prior to staying here, as I've stayed here for business purposes in the past. Thought the bottled water in the room was a little pricey, and for the price of the room, complimentary water should be provided - does not have to be top end brand.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clkbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend while visiting family. Rooms are clean and beds comfortable. Would give 3.5 stars b/c there is nothing that really sets this hotel apart from others that are close by (and I think are better). The pool is sub-par, the $12.95 / day internet charge is annoying, the onsite food/drink options are nice but expensive. I don't mind paying top dollar for good food at Shula's but don't like feeling ripped off buying coffee / food at the lobby area coffee stand for 2X or 3X the price of the major coffee chains (You can go one block down the street and go to starbucks).

Parking was convenient and free in the garage backing the property. We probably wouldn't stay here again with all of the better choices close by.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ffxstation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Yes, this is a beautiful hotel with its fancy furniture and high end restaurant. But don't let it's looks fool you. The hotel did not live up to my expectations for a 3 star hotel. The hotel is very noisy with the doors of the suites always slamming. They did not provide a do not disturb sign, so I called room service for one along with batteries for the remote and the employee who answered seemed very annoyed that I called. The sign was slipped under our door in the middle of night the batteries never came. This doesn't seem like a family friendly or even customer friendly. I do not recommend anyone to book here if you intend on having a relaxing get a way. It's no wonder the hotel was barely filled.

Room Tip: Don' waste you money on this hotel. You would be better off at the Hampton hotel. They are not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Thi N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience with us.

While I am pleased with your compliments about the hotel and our furnitures, I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you had with the noise from other rooms and for any dissatisfaction you had with our level of service.

I regret that you found these aspects of your stay displeasing, rest assured that your comments will be certainly looked into. We hope you give us another chance to redeem your faith in our hotel should your travel plans bring you back to Tampa.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A little hesitant to book this due to some of the reviews and ranking on TA, I was surprised and pleased to find that this property deserves a much higher ranking that it has been given. We were recognized for our Ambassador status well in advance of our arrival with an upgrade and a delicious amenity waiting for us. The room was roomy and well appointed. The bed was comfortable. We ate a nice meal at PF Changs and wandered through Saks afterward. The bellman provided us with an umbrella for the rain. There are rooms that are on the street and you will hear street noise--after all, this is the city. You may get a room facing the office space: just close the curtain. If you don't want to pay for the extras, then walk down to Walgreens and buy them yourself. After all, you are in a luxury hotel and there are many frequent travelers happy to pay for a late night snack in the room that the mini bar will provide. We had a wonderful experience here and would stay again AND highly recommend the Intercontinental Tampa!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suze_shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our travel arrangement provided us the opportunity to spend a weekend in Tampa before jetting back to the great white north!We found this hotel on Hotwire at less than $100.00 per night before all the add ons,such as in room Internet,or valet parking!The Hotel is in a great location,on West Kennedy Boulevard,easy access to the airport,and most importantly just across the street from a cluster of great restaurants such as PF Chang's,Maggiones Liitle Italy,and The Palms.The room we were assigned had a great king bed,large flat screen TV with all the channels you could possibly want to watch.No mini fridge unless you wanted to take your chances with messing with that mini-bar.The hotel has a great rooftop pool,although small.Overall we like this Hotel and recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

First time staying at this location (for work), and I liked it very much. They had everything that you would need in the lobby (coffee shop, Shula's, gift shop, etc.). Plus, it was nice to have Starbucks and Panera in walking distance too. The gym is top-notch here, I used it every night I was there. Rooms were quite comfortable, I would stay here again for certain.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thanks Melissa,
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit, thanks for choosing InterContinental Tampa!
-John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 163 in Tampa
456 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
4.3 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $101 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing