We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks are Deceiving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #36 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
“Looks are Deceiving”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Yes, this is a beautiful hotel with its fancy furniture and high end restaurant. But don't let it's looks fool you. The hotel did not live up to my expectations for a 3 star hotel. The hotel is very noisy with the doors of the suites always slamming. They did not provide a do not disturb sign, so I called room service for one along with batteries for the remote and the employee who answered seemed very annoyed that I called. The sign was slipped under our door in the middle of night the batteries never came. This doesn't seem like a family friendly or even customer friendly. I do not recommend anyone to book here if you intend on having a relaxing get a way. It's no wonder the hotel was barely filled.

Room Tip: Don' waste you money on this hotel. You would be better off at the Hampton hotel. They are not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Thi N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience with us.

While I am pleased with your compliments about the hotel and our furnitures, I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you had with the noise from other rooms and for any dissatisfaction you had with our level of service.

I regret that you found these aspects of your stay displeasing, rest assured that your comments will be certainly looked into. We hope you give us another chance to redeem your faith in our hotel should your travel plans bring you back to Tampa.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    504
    246
    91
    77
See reviews for
253
428
108
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

A little hesitant to book this due to some of the reviews and ranking on TA, I was surprised and pleased to find that this property deserves a much higher ranking that it has been given. We were recognized for our Ambassador status well in advance of our arrival with an upgrade and a delicious amenity waiting for us. The room was roomy and well appointed. The bed was comfortable. We ate a nice meal at PF Changs and wandered through Saks afterward. The bellman provided us with an umbrella for the rain. There are rooms that are on the street and you will hear street noise--after all, this is the city. You may get a room facing the office space: just close the curtain. If you don't want to pay for the extras, then walk down to Walgreens and buy them yourself. After all, you are in a luxury hotel and there are many frequent travelers happy to pay for a late night snack in the room that the mini bar will provide. We had a wonderful experience here and would stay again AND highly recommend the Intercontinental Tampa!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suze_shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John`s, NL
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our travel arrangement provided us the opportunity to spend a weekend in Tampa before jetting back to the great white north!We found this hotel on Hotwire at less than $100.00 per night before all the add ons,such as in room Internet,or valet parking!The Hotel is in a great location,on West Kennedy Boulevard,easy access to the airport,and most importantly just across the street from a cluster of great restaurants such as PF Chang's,Maggiones Liitle Italy,and The Palms.The room we were assigned had a great king bed,large flat screen TV with all the channels you could possibly want to watch.No mini fridge unless you wanted to take your chances with messing with that mini-bar.The hotel has a great rooftop pool,although small.Overall we like this Hotel and recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camby, Indiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

First time staying at this location (for work), and I liked it very much. They had everything that you would need in the lobby (coffee shop, Shula's, gift shop, etc.). Plus, it was nice to have Starbucks and Panera in walking distance too. The gym is top-notch here, I used it every night I was there. Rooms were quite comfortable, I would stay here again for certain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thanks Melissa,
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit, thanks for choosing InterContinental Tampa!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have to start by saying that I love the InterContinental Hotel Brand and stay with them often when I travel. Each of their hotels are unique but they all have wonderful service, amenities, beautiful rooms and are fantastically clean. I have family in the area and stay here often but have finally chosen to share with the trip advisor community why we continue to return. You can't really get a much better deal at an upscale hotel in the Tampa area. This hotel features a beautiful sun drenched rooftop pool, large rooms, a great restaurant bar, easy to access PC's in their business center and a very convenient location to many things including the airport and being right across from a great shopping mall. This hotel is upgraded frequently and the beds are VERY comfortable. The only downside is the air-conditioning in the rooms is hard to control sometimes and I get chilly, (admittedly I chill easily), however their are very nice robes to keep you warm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonnenshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We really appreciate your loyalty to us when choosing a hotel in Tampa. We look forward to your next visit!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a family get-away. We were not dissapointed. Staff was helpful, friendly and we took advantage of the valet services. Hotel was spotless and the room was comfortable and had convenient amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay View room on the top floor...beautiful view of Tampa Bay through floor to ceiling wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thanks FN,
I am very proud of our associates that provide great service to our guests and work so hard to keep the hotel clean and comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to recognize them.
Thanks for choosing InterContinental Tampa!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Only spent one night on a stop over to another city. The room was nice, very clean. Beds were wonderful!

Only draw backs were .... Taylor swift was in town! Hotel was mobbed with crazy Tweens and their saints of mothers. So the hotel was very busy. I also was a little freaked out opening the curtain to see offices on the other side of the rotunda. Thankfully I was fully clothed.... Also their was a light to the shower out so it made it a bit dark in the bathroom while showering.

But really can't complain after getting this hotel for a steal via Priceline

Room Tip: Chose away from the ice machine and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.0 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#37 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing