We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #36 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level Contributor
211 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Comedy of Errors”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stay in hotels so often that I have learned to overlook most small problems and just chalk it up to the “that’s life on the road.” If you’ve read my other reviews you’ll notice that I even try to look for the humor in most situations. This stay at the IC Tampa had so many things wrong with it that I actually started wondering if I was on one of those prank TV shows or something.

Let me preface this review with the fact that I am a Platinum Royal Ambassador. This means that I stay with the IHG brand a lot. It also means that I know how things are *supposed* to work. This hotel didn't work for me. It didn't work at all.

First.
When I checked into the hotel I was told that I was "upgraded" to a junior suite. It was a very nice little corner suite on the second floor. It sounded like it was situated right on top of the Daytona Raceway. Not conducive to a good night’s sleep. Not at all.

Second.
During the first night I woke up and realized that the mattress pad/cover was broken I was sleeping on a bare mattress covered with only a thin sheet. The next morning I stopped by the front desk and asked that they notify housekeeping to have the mattress cover replaced. When I returned I discovered that it had been replaced with a queen-size mattress cover. My bed was a king. What that means is that I was expected to sleep on a bed at with mostly bare mattress. Yuck. I asked again to have it replaced. Finally, after three tries it was replaced with a brand new mattress cover. I am sure they finally went out and bought it to appease me - but fully covered mattresses should be the norm - not the exception.

Third.
I could barely pull out the shower handle. It was so difficult to pull it out that I almost gave up and sat in the sink.

Fourth.
I was given a given a fruit tray as a welcome gift. A very nice gesture, but it featured tiny cooking bananas that were so green they were inedible.

Fifth.
When I checked in I requested to have the mini-bar restocked during my stay. It was never refilled until I called and asked. The last day I was told that the person in charge had gone home. During a stay like that, one really needs the mini-bar.

As for the rest of the hotel? I didn't try the restaurant or bar so I can't report on them. I went across the street and had one meal at Panera Bread and another at a restaurant in the mall. The best part of this hotel is its location. I will recommend the location.

Meanwhile, back at the hotel I had several other service issues, but one young man at the desk (I believe his name was Tom) was pleasant and professional. I know he dreaded seeing me back at the desk, but he addressed my concerns and tried to help. Eventually one of the managers did meet me personally. He was also very nice, but by then I’d already formed my general opinion of the property. When so many things are wrong it is very difficult to make it right.

So what do I think about my overall experience with IC Tampa? I think the hotel needs to get its act together. I doubt I'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnotherNiteOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear AnotherNiteOnTheRoad,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    504
    245
    91
    77
See reviews for
253
427
108
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I'd been planning my destination wedding in the Tampa area for almost a year and was very excited to have my family & friends stay on this property. At first sight, it's luxurious & I was approached by some very knowledgeable & pleasant sales and catering staff to handle my needs. However, it seems once they secured my business & passed me on to another team of people, great service was no longer needed (red flag #1).

A couple of weeks before my wedding, I was in contact with the hotel's Group's Coordinator. I asked some very basic questions regarding having my dress steamed & transportation. After days of no answer (red flag #2), I finally received a response from a Concierge associate.

Next, I spent a great deal of time assembling welcome bags for my guests & paid good money to have them shipped to the hotel prior to my guests' arrival with clear email communication only to find out that the bags weren't being distributed. My Matron-of-Honor spent hours with their night manager to figure out who had checked in & who hadn't at that point.

There were two mandatory evacuations (one during the late evening) apparently due to someone pulling the fire alarm & my elderly guests had to take several flights of stairs "to safety".

Housekeeping was very slow to respond to requests, most of my wedding day morning was spent begging for service before my wedding vendors arrived. The air conditioner needs repairing & makes humming sounds all day & night. Other guests complained about noise from the ice machine & elevators that weren't even a part of my group.

Lastly, a couple that were apart of my group was treated unfairly & spoken to unprofessionally due to the hotel's mistake at check-in. The hotel did not charge the guests for a half of a day of their four night stay & they were locked out of their room without proper notification. When asking for further clarification & to speak with a higher manager, security was called?!?!

A common response from this hotel is "their standards". Their standards/brand reputation aren't being reinforced by their employees at this particular location. I booked a large amount of this hotel's inventory & the hotel hasn't even responded to my email regarding this.

My advice is to avoid large parties & groups, stay away from ice machines, and check your bills clearly! Furthermore, consider The Westin, Renaissance or Hyatt! Intercontinental also charges $75 per night (not stay) for incidentals & they don't offer free shuttle in the area, only to the airport. Internet is $13 in your room per day, water is $7, breakfast buffet is $18++, and so on...they charge for everything!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halljoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear halljoc,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiram, Georgia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hi i would like to start by saying i was there for a total of 3Days. For a wedding they rude,unpleasant, not willing to accomidate you on any thing. There was a charge for every thing thats ridiculous. The bill was outrageous it should have not cost that much. Also i had more than 2 trips to talk with guest services about my bill they kept adding and not taking away. Also wanted to charge for an old outdated microwave to use for reheating our food. Overall they are Rip Off Artists I will never Stay there again I Dont Reccomend This Hotel to Anyone. Please Read RevIew . Very Dissatisfied.

Room Tip: Ask has any one visit recently so you can get a feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Julie C,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret you were not satisfied with the level of service you received.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the quality and service we offer to our guests. I certainly hope that you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

First off, I am a member of the IHG travel club, so I stay at IHG properties (including InterContinental Hotels) frequently. The InterContinental Tampa's STAFF is amazingly customer oriented and professional, even when compared to their peer hotels. Not everything was perfect during my stay this past weekend, but EVERY issue was professionally and immediately addressed by the various staff members I addressed it with. Of particular note, Front Desk agent Andrea G. went out of her way to relocate us to another room/floor due to the amazingly disrespectful and ignorant wedding party that was in the process of "ramping up" to full strength on the 10th floor in the Ambassador suite. Her actions, performed without attitude or hesitation, preserved my confidence in not only this particular hotel and their leadership, but in the overall customer service focus of IHG. Also, noteworthy, there was a billing error due to the sensitivity of the automated mini-bar billing system, and the front desk personnel were able to resolve it without any muss or fuss. Again, kudos to them.

Sincerely, thanks to all of the staff of the InterContinental Hotel Tampa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warftr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for the great review, we are very proud of the associates here and it means a lot to have you recognize their efforts. Thank you for staying with us.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
88 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hey, it's an InterContinental Hotel... no surprises here.
Rooms are super clean and well furnished... staff is fabulous... lobby bar with a late night menu...... airport shuttle... and mall across the street.
Just about perfect to me!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed everything Molly… Thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stay at the chain world-wide, my first disappointment never again. Terrible customer service, requested help with room and I was put on eternal hold...I called back twice and no help. I was actually hung up on. For the money paid, I very, very, very, big mistake.

Room Tip: Bay view does not exist,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diannaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dianna,
I sincerely apologize for not providing a better experience and want you to know this is not typical for our property. We take pride in exceptional customer service and it is very disappointing to hear we failed you.
Thank you for taking the time to share this with me, I will investigate this issue and work to improve our service.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Pros -
Great property - Shula's steak house on site. Great courtyard for relaxing and enjoying a cigar.
Great location, lots of amenities nearby. Directly across the street from a good mall and a Walgreens.
Very pretty and unique hotel with glass elevators that view the central lobby which is also very pretty.
Roof top pool, although it's small, it's still cool.
FREE PARKING in an attached, covered parking garage.
24 hour room service with a decent sized menu for late night dining.

Cons -
YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR WIFI!! Really? Who still does that? Walgreens has free wifi for gods sake.........
Bad shower heads.
Clogged drains.
Doors have big gaps so you can hear people in the hall (we threw our extra pillows against the door)
Can be expensive. I'd say it's overpriced overall.

Room Tip: Get a king sized bed. The queen beds are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Eric,
Thanks for all the great feedback on your stay. We do have a great location and some wonderful amenities for our guests that we are very proud of. Thanks for taking the time to share them with future guests. I will also be sure to address the issues you experienced and take your other suggestions into consideration. Thanks again for sharing.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.0 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#38 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing