We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #37 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“24 hr noise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

As a seasoned traveler, I stay in many hotels all over the world. This hotel has to be one of the most nosiest and intrusive hotel I've ever stayed in.
If you don't mind the noise of the generator (which sounds like a drill on the other side of the wall) and you don't mind being overlooked by the workers in the offices directly across from your room - very goldfish-like! Then I guess this is the hotel for you.
There is a level of convenience as the mall is just over the road but I find a good nights sleep the most important thing in a hotel!! Oh and you need a ladder to get into the ridiculously high bed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyLove45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi Tracy,
Thank you for the review, I apologize for the issues with the noise, I am very disappointed this negatively affected your stay with us. Thanks for sharing your experience.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    490
    234
    85
    72
See reviews for
240
406
105
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed on two separate occasions at the hotel in February and we were very pleased with our choice.

It is very convenient to get to and from the airport and the mall across the street was a real bonus, as was the nearby Starbucks. If you need to spend a lot of time in the downtown area - it is a bit of a drive and you might want to choose a closer hotel.

We liked the pool on the 9th floor and the views from it give a very good perspective of Tampa.

The two guys out front were very helpful with our luggage and also allowed us to park for short periods out front, which was very helpful.

Only issue was the two people at the Front Desk that we asked Tampa specific questions to admitted that they were new to Tampa and while they tried to help - one set us off with directions that only got us near our destination and with little kids we were forced to walk for about 15 extra minutes after we parked our car - survivable, but not helpful.

Also, do not understand why hotels have showers with a shower head that is lower than 6ft - makes no sense - especially when there is another foot of space above the current shower head!

Room Tip: 9th floor for the pool was nice for our first stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denali92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience; I am delighted you enjoyed our location, the view from our rooftop pool and great service from our front door team. Thanks for your constructive feedback as well, this will definitely help us improve.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here overnight after disembarking from our New Years Eve Cruise. The location is simply perfect. Walking distance to a Mall and great chain restaurants like PF Changs, Maggianos, Seasons 52, etc.

Perfect place, if you do not want to rent a car and just decompress after taking a cruise. There is a rooftop pool. Our room was definitely a 4 Star room. The staff was excellent and catered to our needs. The Bell Desk staff was great. The breakfast buffet at Shula's restaurant was awesome!! It was better then the breakfast buffet we had on the cruise! And, it was reasonably priced! We ended up taking their complimentary shuttle over to the airport.

Perfect, perfect, perfect. This review only falls short of having an Excellent rating because our room had (and I think the majority of the rooms have) an atrium view of the office spaces adjacent to each side of the hotel. We had a weekend stay so no one was in their offices. Here is the caveat, if you like having your drapes open, your privacy is lessened during normal business hours.

Overall, great hotel. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: If there is a non-Atrium view, I would request that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunky312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Room was very nice, bed was ultra comfortable, bathroom was nice though a bit small (at 5'9" my knees hit the wall). Nicely located directly across the street from a mall full of dining options, in hotel dining had strange hours and never appeared to be open. Cigar shop in the lobby was very nice. Pool was very very small, hard to locate, and required room key to enter, which is overkill considering that its located in an adjoining buildings roof. Careful not to touch the mini fridge, I just opened to look and was charged $8 for a red bull, front desk removed charges cheerfully though. All in all very nice place

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirenia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi Sirenia,
It is great to hear you enjoyed so much about your visit. We do have a great location and wonderful amenities we are pleased to offer to our guests. Thanks for visiting, we hope to see you again soon!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the InterContinental Hotel in Tampa, FL for two nights prior to a cruise. The room was very nice with a spacious bathroom and two comfortable queen-size beds. There was a coffee shop in the lobby as well as a bar and a restaurant. The hotel is close to the airport (with free shuttle to/from the airport) and is also across the street from the Westshore Shopping Plaza which houses many stores and several restaurants. If you do decide to sightsee, the hotel is close to the highway and a short drive to Tarpon Springs, St. Petersburg and other beaches. We self-parked our car, and getting into and out of the parking garage was a bit tricky, but saved the daily fee for valet parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wlord73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your visit… Thanks for writing!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is in a convenient location, and very well appointed. We arrived on a day in which there was a "Boil Water" advisory in Tampa (apparently a rat or squirrel chewed through a power line causing a power outage at the water pumping station), but the hotel provided unlimited Fiji water to drink and I was impressed with their gracious customer service. I was expecting a bit bigger room, but it was nicely updated and clean, and the bed was comfy. Would definitely come back when in Tampa!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you Samantha.
I appreciate your understanding during Tampa’s water issues. I am glad to hear our great team handled it as best they could, they do such a great job your positive comments mean a lot. Thanks!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel was clean and comfortable.
Bed's are very high.up.
I was there for a business mtg and the food provided for breakfast was really good with a large variety to choose from.
Lunch wasn't to good.
Dinner at Shula's for a large private party was excellent.
Walking distance to Mitchell's Fish Market and Maggino's...next to a mall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ButterBee29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#12 of 161 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing