We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #35 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Overall, an enjoyable stay. Was given a room high up with a bay view, but it had an eight-person conference table in the middle of the living space?!? I seriously thought my room key had been mis-coded to a shared conference room space until I stumbled upon the beautiful bedroom. Silly me, next time I'll request a "no conference room table" room in the reservation comments section : ) That's what I get for arriving early. I did manage to swap the room out for a more proper room where I was able to conduct a more relaxed business meeting, unfortunately it turned out to be a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the hotel driveway...payback me thinks.

If you're not familiar with this property, it's a combination office building hotel, but don't be alarmed, it actually works well. The complex lobby (connected to the hotel) is white marble and very rich in appearance. For the carnivore set, there's a Shula's Steak House on-site. Free parking in the attached structure is a nice bonus as is the shopping mall across the street.

Room Tip: Request a room high up with a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFozziedoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had the misfortune to to stay one night at this hotel due to our flght from Edinburgh to Miami via London being late landing in Tampa thus we missed the connecting flight . We were given a room on the second foor I asked as all we wanted to do was sleep could we have a higher floor and was then given a room at the end of the corridor on the top floor. Excellent we thought this will be nice and quiet. How wrong can one be. We settled into the room and went to bed it was then we became aware of a noise coming from behind the headboard which was against the wall I went to investigate and discovered the noise was coming from an ice box situated on the outside wall of our room almost exactly against the position of the headboard.
In the short time we stayed, there was little sleep. we were offered another room but after 16 hours of flying and having unpacked for the night we were simply to exhausted to move

Room Tip: Do not take a room at the end of a corrider that has an Ice Box recess
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Jim,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Tampa. I deeply regret that we were unable to provide to you a more quiet location for sleep, especially as this is what you needed most from your visit. I will be certain to address the issue with the ice machine immediately and use this as a learning opportunity for our front desk associates. I appreciate you sharing this experience with me.
Sincerely,
-John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a wonderful clean room and stayed for one night journey through. The bed was very comfy and we liked the patio view. The staff was friendly. We did not have breakfast but enjoyed the bright room and the big christmas tree in the patio. Nice hotel - not too far from the airport. We did not stay to see the town but other guest told us that there is nothing interesting around but Walgreens and some fast food restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lightinacube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thanks or posting your experience with us. I am delighted to see you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and friendly associates. Sorry you did not get to explore the area but our Concierge will always be delighted to show you what is wonderful about Tampa.
Thanks!
-John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We only stayed at this hotel one evening but it was wonderful. The hotel is located very conveniently close to the interstate and St. Pete's and Clearwater beaches. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable but the bed was the best part. Lots of pillows and immaculately clean - the sheets were crisp and fresh! Concierge was very helpful in assisting us to locate the Tampa Times Forum (we were seeing a concert) and both front desk staff and parking valet were professional and efficient. My only regret was that we weren't staying longer. Would definitely recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amguest954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thanks for the great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, please come back soon!
-John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed two nights. Excellent service, comfortable bed, good work area, good lights. Room service excellent for breakfast. Starbucks and Panera Bread across the street. Easy to the airport. Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nycgeorgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review and recommendation to fellow travelers. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our service, dining options and took advantage of our great location. Thanks for staying with us!
-John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, near the Airport, access roads to Clearwater beaches, not far from Ybor city and nightlife, and nearby shopping. We didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel, just to sleep, but that was best part of staying there. Super comfortable bed and pillows, which are always my main criteria for where I stay. The shower was great too, strong water pressure is a must. As far as complaints, the hotel does not offer free wifi in the rooms and I have been to 2 star hotels that offer wifi.(even Mcdonald's has free wifi). Also in bathroom only had 3 bathtowels, a couple will take a shower at night and a shower in the morning before room service so 4 towels would be nice. All in all a great place to stay and I will definitly be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MFBATMAN57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thanks for sharing your experience; I appreciate the great comments regarding our super comfy rooms and great location, as well as the helpful feedback regarding towels and internet. Thanks for choosing to stay with us.
-John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The location is very convenient to the airport (and Buccaneers game or Yankee spring training), and the rooms were very nice. The rooms seem to have been recently redecorated. The hotel seems to be enclosed by an office building, which is a bit strange. There was also complimentary parking in a garage behind the hotel. Overall a nice hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank travelgirl1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your visit... Hope to see you again for Spring Training!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 163 in Tampa
457 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
4.3 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $99 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing