We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #36 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“I'll Be Back”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was my first stay at an Intercontinental, but it won't be my last. First, they had a convenient shuttle that picked me up at the airport. Next, the check-in process was smooth, friendly, and efficient. And my room was definitely 4+ stars. I've stayed in 5-star places that were not as nice as this hotel. How many hotels have a light that automatically turns on when the closet doors are opened?

The regular room rate was less than $100, but I got a better deal on Priceline for the Friday after Thanksgiving. Room service was prompt and delivered great food after the onsite and nearby restaurants closed. A 24-hour business center is off the lobby, and free internet access is available at these computers (compared to an expensive daily cost in the room).

Although I spent just one night, I'll definitely make this hotel at the top of my list on my next trip to Tampa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redink46142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the great amenities and friendly associates at our hotel. It is wonderful to see you enjoyed everything so much. Thanks for choosing to stay with us.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    523
    254
    96
    78
See reviews for
263
447
113
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lehi, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

One night stay waiting to board a cruise. The room was a very reasonable price (close to the "too good to be true" level). The hotel is very close to a mall and across the street from a very good little Indian restaurant. Definitely highly recommended -felt like this was an incredible price for a hotel of this quality in Tampa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sengsouriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your pre-cruise visit to our hotel. Thanks for sharing your experience!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is only the second InterContinental I've stayed at, but won't be the last. I stayed at this hotel four nights. They have a shuttle to/from the airport. The hotel restaurant is Shula's Steakhouse, and the connecting bar is the No Name Lounge. The drinks were pricey for Tampa, but I live in DC and am quite used to inflated prices. There is a small rooftop pool with partial views of the bay in the distance, but not of Tampa skyline. This used to be another hotel and InterContinental took it over.

Pros: The suites were roomy. I appreciate the little extras such as: I like the larger bar of soap they provide better than the smaller ones normally put out for guests at other hotels. I like the turndown service in the evenings with the chocolates, the robe waiting, the room bar popped out with the ice bucket filled, and the next day's forecast written on a piece of paper. I like being greeted and helped by the staff when I needed something. I like the 3x mirror in the bathroom to assist in a nice and close shave.
The elevators seemed to be working at a good pace most of the time. The business center had most of the computers working at all times I was there.
Shula's is okay, but if you are looking for less expensive to eat, you can walk across the street. There are other places like PF Chang's and a seafood restaurant attached to the mall. I thought I saw a Taco Bell sign nearby, and there also seemed to be some sort of restaurant formed out of a gas station's old car wash across the street.

A con: I was afraid to touch any of the stuff in the mini fridge because it automatically detects movement and charges you for the item; so I couldn't tell everything they offered in there because some of the items weren't facing me.

A con: not a great location unless you are a Yankees fan or a mall shopper because it's close to the spring training facilities and a mall there. Tampa is a fairly spread out sprawling city. You are still a good 15-20 minute car ride to downtown or channelside or those types of places. So cab rides can get expensive.

A con: they didn't have a steam bath here like the one in Cologne Germany.

I would stay here again, and/or other InterContinentals now that they are expanding into the States, and look forward to it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strongbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
I appreciate all of the wonderful feedback regarding our rooms, associates and outlets, as well as the helpful critique of the minibar, location and facilities. Thanks for choosing to stay with us.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the rooms. The pictures on the hotel websites are much worse than the hotel. I was worried the hotel was one of these tauted 4 star hotels that have a nice lobby but 3 star rooms. The rooms were very nice. Definitely 4 star and not 3.5. No problems encountered at all. Nice furniture and bed. The desk and table lamps had plugins which is normally overlooked. Also contained a entrance way table with light and mirrror.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewAlbanianTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience… It is great to hear you enjoyed your visit and we suprised you a bit!. Thanks
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascoutah, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had a terrible stay at Intercontinental Tampa. On Day 2, I informed the front desk that I didn't have any hot water.... they said they sent someone to fix it Day 4 I ask again and that afternoon had a barely lukewarm bath - needless to say, for my entire 6 day stay I didn't have a hot shower. There were NO vending machines nor any microwave or fridge without a fee. We had to go to work so early that we didn't get breakfast or even any caffeine because there was no vending machines & no fridge to keep anything cold. I will never stay at this hotel again. Also, it took me 3 days, 2 calls and an email to get a copy of my receipt which had a bottled water charge on there that I didn't use.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TYoungster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear TYoungster,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am deeply sorry for the over all issues you had during your stay. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details regarding your experience. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very Nice Hotel. Great, cheap, location, services.
10 minutes from Tampa Airport.
Great for conventions. Nice Shula restaurant.
The only thing I can say is missing, they don't have a 24 hours cafeteria just in case.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salomon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for the great review Salomon and I appreciate the feedback regarding a 24 hour cafeteria. We do have room service available overnight for some late night sandwiches. Thanks for staying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Intercontinental Tampa. Friendly staff through out the hotel. The hotel is close to the airport, 2 different shopping malls and several restaurants. The rooms are great. Large and spacious. Good sized bathroom. As an Gold Ambassador of Intercontinental I did miss some of the privileges that we normally get at Intercontinental Hotels and many other IHG Brands. No free internet, only a free bottle of water as amenity. The hotel has a bar and restaurant, both are nice and serves good food and drinks. The hotel did not have a club lounge either, which is standard at all other Intercontinental hotels I have stayed at. I am not sure that I would return to this property next time in Tampa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Andreas,
Thanks for taking the time to write about your visit. I am glad to see you enjoyed so much of our property from our friendly staff, clean comfortable guest rooms, great Shula’s Steakhouse and convenient location to the airport, shopping and other restaurants. I also thank you for sharing your experience as an InterContinental Ambassador; this feedback will certainly help us improve our service and offerings.
Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and InterContinental Hotels.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 163 in Tampa
429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.0 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#44 of 163 in Tampa
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing