We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business travel hotel, no resort amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #34 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Business travel hotel, no resort amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times. It is great for the business traveler. This occasion I was with my wife, the weekend before Halloween and it was boring, so while the rooms are very nice and service was fine, I realized when coming to town for fun, this may not be the spot. It was a friday night and the bar was dead, pool was small on roof, with huge handicap equipment required by our current government I assume, no hot tub, and not close enough to anyplace we could walk to for dinner or drinks, other than hotel restaurant which is pricey. So, if looking for close to airport (5mins), this is a nice hotel, but if looking for nice place to relax outside of room with office building (and they literally look straight at your windows across the lobby area), then I would look further as there really is not much to offer here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rodney m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are a great hotel for business travelers but we are also in a nice location for weekend getaways and vacations. There is great shopping, dining and lots of entertainment within a few minutes of the hotel. If you are also looking to be close to both the Gulf beaches and the downtown Tampa areas we are centrally located to both as well.
I hope you have another opportunity to visit so one of our wonderful Concierge associates will be delighted to share their knowledge of the area.
Thanks for writing.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    502
    240
    89
    76
See reviews for
248
424
107
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We needed a hotel for a 1 night pre cruise stay. This hotel filled the bill quite well. The front desk staff were very friendly and looked after every one of our questions. The room was a good size and was complete in every way, being clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Watch out as every room looks out across a short distance to offices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Greg,
It is great to hear we were a good choice for you prior to your cruise from the Port of Tampa, and that you enjoyed our rooms and friendly associates. I hope you enjoyed the cruise as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is awesome! The beds are amazing! I stay here any time I'm in the area. The place is clean, staff is polite and overall nice and relaxing. I recommend this hotel to anyone! The restaurant there is very pricey so if you want food, you may want leave the hotel for a more reasonable meal.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpiofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the great review of your stay. Our associates really make the difference at InterContinental Tampa; they are genuinely friendly and such a dedicated, hard working team. We are very proud to see great comments such as this!
Thanks for taking the time to share.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had to fly last minute to Tampa for a funeral--and I was sort of a basket case. I chose a package deal from Southwest Airlines. I refuse to stay in Holiday Inn Express, etc, etc. because I must have room service and a nice gym. I was very surprised by the experience. Friends met in the bar/restaurant and the service was so attentive and food very good. The location is close to airport (a free shuttle takes you back and forth). And, as for taking care of a me.....I locked my wallet/jewerly into the safe and couldn't open it, they sent security right away, they stocked the mini bar with the vodka and tonic bottle that I really needed, and I left in such a harried rush, I left my phone charger....which the housekeeping department Fed Exed to me along with various other items left in the room (that I had not missed). With the Southwest Airlines package the rate was only slightly more than the 'Express" "Courtyards" etc. etc. And so much nicer. I think you could throw anything to this staff and they would handle it. And,oh yeah, awesome pillows.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz77006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Liz,
I am sorry to hear the purpose of your trip was not a happy one but I am glad we could make it a comfortable and pleasant. Thanks for staying with us.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteno, IL
Level Contributor
95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I like this hotel as it has a nice location, clean rooms and can generally get a very good rate on some of the discount sites. The negative is they are still charging $13 a day for the internet and they have the room thermostats to never allow it to get cooler than 71 in the room. It was a hot 71 to me. I had it set on 65, but it never was lower than 71 when I checked. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the pool ask for a room on the 9th floor. Warning they will be louder as mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manteno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our room was quiet even though it faced the street. The newly refurbished and decorated room had an incredibly comfortable bed with plush bedding, a coffee maker and flat screen TV.
There is a mall with various eating establishments directly across the street as well as a nice steak house ajoining the hotel. The price was much lower than I would have expected for a room as nice as this.
If there was a negative it would be the stroll to the undercover parking garage but even that would not keep me from returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dklu48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
That is great that you enjoyed our wonderful location in Tampa and comfy rooms. Thank You for sharing your experience with future travelers.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was so happy to check in to this hotel after fleeing a different hotel in Clearwater. The room was comfortable, clean, excellent bedding and furniture. Nice modern bathroom. The hotel bar served a delicious quick dinner and provided a comfortable place to sit and decompress after the day. I slept like a rock. A convenient free airport shuttle as well. I did book this place name unknown on Hotwire and was so pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fish19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Great Feedback! We are delighted you enjoyed your visit.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
3.0 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#33 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing