We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel for Cruise/Park/Stay Package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #38 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel for Cruise/Park/Stay Package”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We chose this hotel as part of a very reasonable Cruise/Park/Stay package as we were leaving on the Carnival Legend the next day. All went perfectly. The room was quiet, very clean, the bed was comfortable, coffee maker available in the room, and the location was fantastic! It was kind of cool sleeping in the middle of office buildings, we are not business people so I thought this was pretty unique! Best of all, there is a mall across the street as well as a drug store for anything you might have forgot while packing for your cruise. Also there are many restaurants nearby all within walking distance.
I had originally wanted to use points to book this hotel but wasn't really sure how that would work with the parking and the shuttle, and the reservation clerk wasn't very helpful with this, so I just paid and saved the points. However, in the future, I would probably use my points, park in the garage (just don't park in the spots that say "reserved") and book my own shuttle through Blue One (the company the hotel used). They charge $20 per person round trip to the cruiseport and were really great, on time, and professional. We were one of the first people off the ship, and there they were waiting and took us back to the hotel for our car. Very easy and stress free!
I would defintely reccomend this hotel and would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tammlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    507
    250
    93
    78
See reviews for
255
433
110
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitmore Lake, MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I made a last-minute decision to travel to Tampa for a 4-day weekend. We are so glad we did! Using a travel site, we got a great deal on this hotel and found it to be perfect for our needs.

Pro's:
-Roof top pool with large loungers and plenty of towels
-Workout room was well-equipped
-Room was clean and updated
-Close to the aiport.

Con's:
-This hotel is located in a business building, with an atrium separating it from offices. If you have a room off of the atrium, you must be sure to keep blinds closed (of someone sitting at their desk will be staring at you) and it can be echo-y during the day.
-No continental breakfast
-Rooms were somewhat small
-If relaxing by the pool, you WILL see and hear planes closely overhead coming/going from airport.

Overall a great experience, if you don't mind being 10 minute drive from downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing outward, as the atrium can get noisy during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night to go to the Tampa Bay baseball game, we were surprised about the service and the hotel it is very nice and the employees are very friendly, I left my make up in the car at valet and they kindly got them for me and brought them to my room...that was great thanks..the pool is small but very cool, its on the 9th floor and it has a very nice view.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suelizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

PROS: Great location, accross the street from a large mall, Panera and Starbucks.
Comfortable beds, lots of pillows.
Very good room cleaning (5th Floor)
Free self-parking
CONS: No free WiFi, not even in the lobby. The business center computers were slow and had
wornout keyboards. Printers are good, though.
Small pool with small towels.
Overall I was happy with the hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingPuck27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Waste of money.. 4 star rated but you get horrible service worst than 1star. William at front desk really rude.. black gentleman bold head with glasses works at night. dont ever go there.
I suppose to check in at 3pm but they didn't have the room ready until 11pm. waste of time and money... no customer service at all

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Naga S,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Robert, Missouri
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed here for almost a week for business. The staff was very professional and helpful, and the room was nicely appointed. The bed was comfortable and there was good shower pressure. The breakfast buffet was a little pricey but had very good quality. There were a few minor things that bugged me. The outlets on the work desk were inoperable, and there were no others in the area, making it far less functional. There were no lights in the foyer of the room, so it was always dark until you stumbled into the main area to find an individual switch on a lamp.
Despite my reservation, the only room available was a handicapped-accessible room. While normally not an issue, the accessible rooms are all on the central pillar near the elevators. The counterweight shaft for the elevators was next to the room, so all night long you could hear the swooshing of the machanism as the elevators operated.

Room Tip: Avoid the handicapped rooms if possible due to the elevator noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treavor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Sapperlight,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad you had a positive experience with our Front Desk staff and our breakfast during your stay. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what felll below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced with the room accommodations. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27698109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
218 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in Feb for 4 days and I really was pleased with everything.
The room was very nicely decorated but most of all clean.Beds were just what we like and I found the inside room situation nice.Being on a very busy street there was no road or outside noise at all.The windows had a curtain that allowed light in but gave you privacy with a room darkening one over the top.
The mall across the street had a movie theater and lots of store and eateries.
We did eat in the bar one nite. The mac and crab was really good.and a reasonable price.
They did have free parking which is rare but you do have to pay for WiFi
We had no problem finding the hotel and would stay here again.We did notice one evening that there were alot of people staying the nite before leaving on a cruise so that is also a plus for cruisers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitten50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.0 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#37 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing