We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra costs deminish perception.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #36 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Nice hotel, friendly staff, beautiful clean, albeit small rooms.

Everything seems to be charged extra. i understand their need to make money but i suggest a luxury hotel including things like snacks, breakfast, microwave, fridge in the pricetag. i got deal on the hotelroom, but room regularly costs about 300 dollars.

I hope next time i stay at this hotel this policy of nickel and diming is addressed.


David

Room Tip: some rooms face inside the building, and we found it attactive. Windows are big and beautiful. Other...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConTampa, Director of Sales at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and will be certain to share your thoughts and suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,495)
There are newer reviews for The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,208 - 1,214 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

Everething is excellent in this hotel, as usually is in a Intercontinental, but we think the focus is your personal staff. Very, very kind, helpful and they really want help us in everithing you need!

Room Tip: All rooms are well, We guess...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rigato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConTampa, Director of Sales at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for your kind words regarding our associates. I will be certain to pass along your comments. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The hotel is quite pretty and built into an lovely glass atrium as part of a small but busy business complex. The entire lobby and bar are open concept, bright and airy. There is a Shulas steakhouse and in the morning there is a big Italian coffee cart near the l bar with great cappuccino, bagels, croissants, fruit, and more. The hotel room was not good . It was dark, cramped, and faced a courtyard of offices (that could see right into my room) They moved me across the hall to a larger room but it was still dingy =, loud and had no frills - NOTHING~ The bed was not comfortable and the cable TV was not updated. The Hotel had a nice gym and pool. The room service menu was expensive by any standards. I suggest calling the front desk for delivery menus.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible. Avoid rooms facing the courtyard. Bring snacks because there is n...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jpresskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

If you are into overly aggressive maid service and over priced drinks this is your place.

The maid service is so good that I could not keep them out of my room. They completely ignored the "Do Not Disturb" sign. Over a weeks stay they bypassed the sign 4 times.

The complimentary bottle of water on the desk was $6 and the cans of sodas in the mini-fridge were $4. The kicker was the note that explained that if I wanted to use the refrigerator for my personal items I would be charged a $45 restocking fee.

There is a difference between being able to afford a $6 bottle of water and being dumb enough to pay $6 for a bottle of water.

Also during my stay they were sand blasting the parking garage. In less than a day my car was completely covered in concrete dust. Luckily it was a rental. In fairness, this says less about the hotel and more about bad timing. Although the staff was very unsympathetic about the situation.

Now on the upside of things, the staff was very nice (even about the sandblasting) and it is an attractive hotel.

I will not be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The room was ultra clean and smelled fresh. Service from front desk to restaurant staff was superb. I enjoyed the complimentary paper each morning and the breakfast buffet was an awesome deal. The employees I talked with all had an excellent attitude from Lilly at the front desk to the housekeepers cleaning my room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConTampa, Director of Sales at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I will be sure to pass them along to our associates who are always pleased to hear such positive feedback. We apprecaite your business and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I generally think IHG hotels are the best value for any business or leisure money, but I was quite disappointed with his hotel when I recently booked a stay during a business trip to Tampa.

The hotel seemed to have a tired and gloomy ambience, rug in the lobby was worn looking unless they were aspiring for the grunge look. The room I was in was quite decent enough with the usual amenities but when you opened the window curtains - you have an expansive view of the offices in the building across. All these are tolerable, but one thing I could not tolerate was the unreliable internet wi-fi connection which failed several times during the night as I was trying to catch up on some very important work. After the same thing occured during the 2nd night, I vowed that I would not make the same mistake of staying in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ethernet cable if you plan to use the internet. Least reliable wi-fi I have ever encount...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This hotel is nice but it is located on a 4 lane highway. If you want to sleep later than 5:30am when rush hour starts, book elsewhere!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCcruisechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConTampa, Director of Sales at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. Should travel bring you back to Tampa, we hope that you might allow us another opportunity to showcase our hospitality. The majority of our accommodations face away from the street and traffic and provide an environment for a peaceful rest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#16 of 163 in Tampa
439 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.0 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#45 of 163 in Tampa
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $116 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing