We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic wi-fi for a business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #34 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I generally think IHG hotels are the best value for any business or leisure money, but I was quite disappointed with his hotel when I recently booked a stay during a business trip to Tampa.

The hotel seemed to have a tired and gloomy ambience, rug in the lobby was worn looking unless they were aspiring for the grunge look. The room I was in was quite decent enough with the usual amenities but when you opened the window curtains - you have an expansive view of the offices in the building across. All these are tolerable, but one thing I could not tolerate was the unreliable internet wi-fi connection which failed several times during the night as I was trying to catch up on some very important work. After the same thing occured during the 2nd night, I vowed that I would not make the same mistake of staying in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ethernet cable if you plan to use the internet. Least reliable wi-fi I have ever encount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,240 - 1,246 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

This hotel is nice but it is located on a 4 lane highway. If you want to sleep later than 5:30am when rush hour starts, book elsewhere!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCcruisechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConTampa, Director of Sales at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. Should travel bring you back to Tampa, we hope that you might allow us another opportunity to showcase our hospitality. The majority of our accommodations face away from the street and traffic and provide an environment for a peaceful rest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We booked the hotel over Hotwire and had a special rate of 60$ per room/night, which is a great deal for this hotel and for every 4 star (normal rate is 110$). The location is close to the airport (but that's not an issue, we didn't hear any planes during the night) and not to far from city center (about 10 minutes by car), but it could be closer. It's more a business hotel, that's probably why our group of 6 friends looked a bit strange in here, but staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and pretty big, bathroom is very clean and of 4 star standard, the flat screen tv also offers on-demand and view over the city is nice. Internet connection in the room was good, even if you had to switch antenna like 5 times from the reception to the room. On the 9th floor there's a rooftop swimming pool, which is also open in the evening and offers amazing views! We were there during sunset and enjoyed the cool orange light with the planes landing in front of it..a pretty cool image!
As we asked if we could book another night for the same cheap rate, they told us we had to book it over the website again and see if we get it again; otherwise we'd had to pay the standard price.
Breakfast was not included and pretty expensive. We did not check out the piano bar or the fitness center.
The only negative thing that we experienced is the shuttle service to the airport. We were told that it runs hourly, and that's what it does, but just in one direction, from the Hotel to the Airport. We had to bring back a car to the airport and the get the shuttle back to the hotel my friend had to wait about 1 hour (for a 15 minute ride).
Over all, a good hotel, make sure you get discounted rates if available!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

when they saw us arrive with two kids in tow, they gave us an upgrade to a suite. the room was amazing! the kids slept on a pullout in the living area and we were in a queen bedroom. the pool area was really nice with nice chaises and papasan-type chairs that were very comfy to lie in. the room was clean, the staff very attentive. we walked across the street to the mall for dinner and to pass out a big storm. the next morning, check out was easy and the ride to the airport was 5 minutes!

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rkd246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband and i stayed at the hotel for leisure. From the time that we stepped out of the car, we were greeted warmly. The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly. We ate at the Shula Restaurant located there. The food was very good, the the price that you pay is not worth what they give you. Nevertheless, the staff there were very friendly and made our dinner pleasant! I would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone who would like to have a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brownkaren1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConTampa, Director of Sales at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit and for your recommendation to future guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Great hotel and wonderful customer service. The beds were nice and the room decor was splendid. The only "but" for us was the swimming pool, which was a bit small with no hot tub available. Other than that, the hotel is a pleasant one at that, with awesome amenities and "more awesome" guest service. Worth the price and more.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoCool7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConTampa, Director of Sales at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

We love AWESOME! Thank you for sharing thoughts of your recent stay with us. I will be certain to pass along your kind words to our associates. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We got 2 rooms over 2 nights for a family of 5. We were taking a trip to Busch Gardens and couldn't find any good hotels close by. We got a really good price for this hotel so decided to try it. We really liked the place and don't really have anything negative to stay. I always rate a hotels cleanliness on whether I am willing to take a bath, shower, or even venture into the tub (stayed at one place once that I wouldn't touch). InterContinental was super clean and I had a lovely soak in the tub.

The staff were all very friendly and accomodating and the decor was gorgeous. Beds were very comfy too. This hotel is definately more of a business hotel rather than a family style, but my youngest (age 5) still loved it. Especially the elevators and roof top pool. Even the guests staying there all seemed happy and said hello in the elevators.

I would definately recommend this.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mirrasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConTampa, Director of Sales at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

What a great photo of your son in the glass elevator, he sure looks like he's having a good time. Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased that you (and the kids) enjoyed your visit. Please think of us as future travel plans call for the Tampa Bay area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 164 in Tampa
460 reviews
3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#48 of 164 in Tampa
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $112 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing