We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #36 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed at this property only one night as I was traveling through Florida. The hotel is modern and well decorated, absolutely loved the room (King Suite) which was spacious and well equipped including the bathroom. What I found very convenient that caught me by surprise, after a night out returning to my room there was a ‘breakfast menu checklist’ door hanger on the knob. It allowed me to order and choose the time for breakfast to be delivered. Breakfast arrived hot and on time with the accurate order for two people, a little disappointed in the coffee and croissant which did not seem fresh. Upon check out there was a little discrepancy about the bill but guest services handled it without clamor. Overall, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nipiotrowska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,260 - 1,266 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

I had a lovely 1-night stay in the hotel. It is well-located next to main road, offering free airport shuttle and mall is across the street. Plentiful free parking for car also available.

While it took a bit time for check-in as my room was not ready, I got a nice upgrade to Junior Suite as Ambassador member, also free fruit and Fiji water were provided. It was a lovely room, enough space, comfortable bed, good movie selection, nicely tuned alarm-clock/radio, which played also 8 pre-programmed background sounds.

I also had breakfast, which had a nice choice of good-quality offers, very nice start of t he day.

Check-out was smooth as silk.

Would return again, once in Tampa.

Room Tip: West-side rooms for seeing evening sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tango-Xpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a bfew days on a business trip. We had a nice sized room with a king bed. For the quality of the hotel, the bathroom was a bit small, but it was adequate. We asked for an out facing room after reading other reviews about over-looking the offices over the atrium. Actually, after seeing that view from the elevator, I think I would have prefered that over the veiw of Walgreens and traffic! All the staff we encountered was very helpful and pleasant. They truely seemed to be enjoying working there, not just putting on the corrporate smile. I appreciate that!
The fridge full of mini bar items was disappointing. We bought a cheap coolier at Walgreens and kept some beverages of our own in there. A staff person even filled it with ice for us as we were leaving. I guess we shouldn't have paid for our own ice initially, but we didn't know if the hotel would charge us for ice, since the minibar was so pricey. There are ice machines at the end of each floor. There was no microwave in our room, unfortunately.
I didn't make it to the pool, but my husband did. He agreed with the other reviews, it's pretty sparce.
The stay was prefect for what we needed, a no hassle, quiet, comfortable room. We didn't bring our own pillows as we usually do. We both struggled to make the thick king sized pillows work. The bed was comfortable, especially after I found the spare blanket in the closet.
We didn't eat at the steak place in the very nice lobby. I can't defend paying $40 for a steak!
We booked through hotwire and paid less than the cheaper hotels down the street. It was well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crcderfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConTampa, Director of Sales at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

We are pleased that you found your stay to be comfortable and our staff helpful and authentic. Our associates take great pride in assisting our guests to ensure a pleasant and memorable visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel and do not understand how it qualifies as a 4 star hotel. The staff is very unfriendly (with the exception of the staff at Shula's restaurant). The room we stayed in on Aug 25th had air conditioning problems and the temperature in the room was in the 80's. When we tried to address this problem with the staff we were told that they were aware that the 11th floor had problems with the air conditioning. We were told that the hotel was booked to capacity and that is why they couldn't assign us a different room but when we checked in we inquired about upgrades and they were available (for a fee) so it was very obvious the hotel was not at capacity. We left several messages for the manager (Erin M.) and still have not received a call from her. We booked this room through Priceline and also booked one for Aug 28th. After having such a bad experience the first night we stayed we contacted Priceline to attempt to change hotels and were told that changing hotels was not an option unless we checked in first and found the room unacceptable. So on the 28th we checked in and stayed on the 3rd floor. The air conditioning was working fine and the room was comfortable. The bathroom however was very dirty. The sink and tub did not drain properly so there was soap scum and residual hair, etc that remained in the sink and tub. We have never experienced this type of stay in any other 4 star hotel and were very disappointed. We attended functions at the nearby Grand Hyatt and the staff was very friendly and the service and food were excellent. That is where we will stay in the future when we are in Tampa and recommend the same to anyone else staying in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bvinacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. The hotel is attached to an office complex and is directly across from a mini-mall that has an AMC movie theater, several clothing stores and upper-scale chain restaurants. There is also a nearby Walgreens drugstore.

The room was a decent size and quite clean. The pool was just down the hall from me and although it wasn't huge, it was a nice size with plenty of lounge chairs and tables. I ate at Shula's Steak house for brekfast and the buffet was excellent and reasonably priced. I also had dinner from room service one snight and there was a good selection and the food was very good. All of the staff were pleasant and helpful.

The only thing that I did not like was that the hotel was farther from downtown than I anticipated, so the cab ride was about $20.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubanow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConTampa, Director of Sales at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. It's always a pleasure to share such positive feedback with our associates. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Tampa Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is a nice hotel, but if you're just an average middle class person like me, stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

I don't have any complaints about the room, it's just little things for example, there is a pre-stocked fridge in the room, but the juice was $4. So we went to the store and bought our own. Well, the hotel attempted to charge us because we moved the orange juice to make room for our soda. We asked for a fridge (which is free in most places I stay) and they charged us $5/day. Things like that.

If you like upper end, high priced, pay for everything you touch, you'll like the Intercontinental. If you don't, like I said, stay at the HIE.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottinkga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had a great meal last night at the Donatello and realized we were not able to drive back home (50 miles) without falling asleep at the wheel. I've learned not to try anymore as it will get you dead. We can't stay at anything that's not upper class (yes, I'm a prude) so we checked on availability at the InterContinental. AAA rate was $87!!! WHAT????? Yes, $87.

The place is what you expect for this chain: nice, safe, clean and upper class. I don't think you could go wrong here, so if it's near where you need to be then stay here!

One note: If you take anything out of the room refrigerator (even if you don't drink/eat it) the computer puts it on your tab. We moved some things out to put our leftovers in it and sure enough those items were itemized on our bill. The front desk girl laughed and said it happened all the time and promptly took them off.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelswell4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 163 in Tampa
457 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
4.3 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $100 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing